We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in central location”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed for just one night but really couldn't fault it.
The staff were really helpful and friendly, our room was well decorated and clean with a very comfortable bed.
Didn't use the restaurant but nice breakfast.
Superb location in the heart of Norwich with free private car park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    178
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
69
338
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well placed, very convenient for walking around the centre of Norwich.
We stayed in the King Room ,which was a fair size bedroom with an equally sized en suite bathroom , which included a bath and a separate shower.
Only disappointment was our room overlooked the outside Bar Terrace, which was slightly noisy but this closed around 23.00-23.30.
Breakfast included - it was a good spread.
Would definitely go again but would ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights, lovely room, friendly service. Right in the centre of Norwich. Private car park so no parking problems. Service excellent in the resteraunt. Dinner menu disappointing, lacked imagination and the food quantity rather than quality. Needs a review of the menu and whether the hotel needs a better quality chef. Consequently we dined out for the other 2 nights. Overall though we rated the hotel as excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Many thanks for your recent Tripadvisor review. Your feedback is important to us in order to maintain our high standards both within the Restaurant & the Hotel. Your reservation, I understand, was for our Sunday Night, 3 Course Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Offer (£120 for 2 persons), the Menu included in this offer is our Set Sunday Menu, this Menu offers a varied choice of 4 starters, 5 Mains, 4 Desserts & Coffee, reflected in the total cost of the offer. Alongside this this offer we note that our Full Seasonal Bistro Menu (changed with Seasons every 3 months) is available at a supplement for all guests should they wish. Both Menus offer a wide range of options to each guest & a varied style of food also. Our full, current Menus are available to view online.
I am pleased to receieve positive comments on the service, we are proud of the service & experiences we offer here at St Giles House & I am pleased to see our efforts made for an enjoyable stay with us.
Many thanks for your comments, I do hope we see you back here again,
Kind Regards
Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Tasteful Art Deco styled hotel with all the trimmings, lovely cosy lounge with a pile of up-to-date magazines and newspapers to read through. Top notch food and wine. They also offer local ales by the bottle. This is a great hotel to stay in, pop in for lunch or meet up for drinks with friends.

The room we had was a little noisy (plumbing) but there was a rolltop bath and very comfy bed. The staff are a little hit and miss, you can find yourself stood at the bar waiting to be served and on more than one occasion the hotel was shut to outside guests as there was a wedding party or the bar was full. This can be disappointing if you have arranged to meet up with friends there, one way to get round this is to stay the night. An absolute gem in the centre of Norwich city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezza17june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the first night of our honeymoon before flying out from Norwich airport. The location of the hotel wasn't important to us, but it is worth knowing that the location is a good spot to head out and explore Norwich. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and well furnished, including a nice bathroom with impressive tiled floor. On the downside the room was slightly cramped, and the bed did not seem to be a full kingsize (which we had booked through lastminute.com), although by the time we got to our room we were too tired to bring up with hotel staff.

The biggest problem with the room was the temperature, which we found was stifling hot in the night even for the English winter in early February. There was no air conditioning or climate control for the room, although there was a standing fan which we deemed to noisy to use. Opening the windows brought the room to a comfortable temperature, although the obvious proximity to a police station did not make for such a peaceful night as we had hoped. We discussed the room temperature with the staff when we checked out, although we only received polite concern.

Overall this is a very attractive central hotel and if the room we had stayed in had air conditioning it would have been a much more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Was dubious about staying given the mixed reviews, I was not disappointed, the reception staff were wonderful, very accommodating and definitely a good first impression. The room was lovely, well decorated, all the facilities you could possibily need, tea/coffee/biscuits etc and a very comfortable bed. The shower room was a slight let down, as per previous guests comments, such a large room and no bath, which is a real shame. The shower room could also do with an upgrade, not sure about the black floor and corner shower, however it certainly wasn't a show stopper. All in all a very nice stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidetravel210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Many thanks for your postive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us here at St Giles. We do offer King rooms with Baths as well as the larger ensuite Shower facilities, this preference can be stated at time of booking to ensure your preferences are met. It is great to recieve your comments and I am pleased to see our staff added to your experiences with us. I do hope we welcome you back again,

Kind Regards
Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

St Giles House has always been a fabulous venue & the current owners now run it as it should be run & have made sensible improvements to the layout. It stands out for being privtately run, not just another same again corporate chain. The rooms are all unique. The food is excellent & the staff very friendly. We love it!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the modern wing are away from the road but St Giles is hardly a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countryboy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Very pleased to see you recent comment on Tripadvisor and pleased that the ammendments and changes we are making here are receiving a positive response. We are very proud of what we offer here at St Giles House and its lovely to see customers positive reactions to our unique hotel and the service we offer. I look forwad to seeing you back here!
Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#14 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing