We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed thoughts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel with family and our 3 year old. The room itself was a nice size with everything we needed and comfortable. The bathroom was far from nice the WC was very dirty didn't want our son anywhere near it so put him in a nappy, the floor tiles were broken and danger of cutting your feet, the shower was not clean not sure why for a 4 star hotel they could let standards slip so bad in the bathroom. The public areas are very nice and breakfast was great but the staff all seemed to be wearing mis match. I would stay again if assured the hygiene issues have been sorted and also everytime you use the toilet facilities get very strong drain odour.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malone44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent feedback of varied opinion. I must note that thorough room checks are made on all rooms and facilities daily, these checks of course include cleanliness of rooms & bathrooms and we have full trust in our dedicated, hardworking housekeeping team to maintain the highest standards, in all 24 guest rooms & in the public areas. The cracked bathroom tile has been caused by underfloor pipe-work & is scheduled for maintenance, many thanks for bringing this to our attention, I can assure this is matter is being looked into & rectified.

Should you wish to discuss any matter further with myself, please dont hesitate to contact me at the hotel on 01603 275 180

Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    182
    53
    25
    21
See reviews for
71
346
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at the St Giles House Hotel with our 6-year-old son for one night, as a base for exploring the castle and shops. The location is perfect for this purpose, just a very short walk (literally a minute) from the centre of the city with a free car park which is an added bonus. The room itself was spotless, nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed (if a little small for a six foot man and a pregnant woman!), but there was plenty of space for an extra z-bed without the room feeling cramped. The staff were also very helpful and the breakfast was good.

However, as noted in other reviews of this hotel, the rooms at the front of the hotel in the Georgian part of the building are very noisy as they face onto the road. Even with the window and secondary glazing closed, we could hear every word of the conversations being held on the street by people coming and going throughout the night from the YMCA opposite, which didn't stop til about 3am. Whilst this is clearly not the fault of the hotel, it is something to bear in mind when booking - if you like peace and quiet then ask for a room at the back!!

Finally we felt that the en-suite was a let-down. It smelt horrid, of stinky drains mixed with a sweet-smelling cleaner which had obviously been used to try and disguise the odour (it actually made it worse). There was nowhere to put toiletries around the sink or to hang a hand towel, and the heated towel rail next the shower didn't work so the towels remained damp. The shower itself was superb though, powerful and hot.

With just a few tweaks this could be a really lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond & provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased St Giles House was a great base for you & your family to explore the delights on Norwich City Centre!

The issue you encountered with the drainage is most certainly something we are investigating & resolving. I must note this has been fairly sparodic and it an issue we can recitfy immediatly should the issue arise given notice. We have work scheduled for this but have since found solutions to the issue immediately. Sadly, to have the wonderful features & character provided by a listed building, also brings a few challenges, but please be assured your feedback has brought this to our immediate attention & is a issue being looked into regulary

Should you wish to discuss any matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Hotel. I do hope we welcome you & family back to St Giles House

Kind Regards

Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed earlier this week for a special night with my mother. Hotel is quite pleasant and our small suite was nicely decorated and felt good.
However ... there was a strong drains smell in the bathroom. I mentioned this and the nice younger lady on reception offered to have someone take a look. She seemed to care but not much was done. We had to keep the door to the bathroom closed when we slept.
The next day on checkout he older lady on the reception desk offered a small discount, if had been on my own I would have argued, but since this was a treat for my mother, I did not. What really got to me was the receptionist saying that Norwich can smell a bit and that we should not have opened the windows to the outside.
This is the classic bad staff reaction - the customer is stupid and wrong.
Three days later I am still annoyed.

Room Tip: Not room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikko29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Guest,

As my direct response to you noted, and with previous responses, it is your comments on this issue which brought it directly to our attention so your feedback is essential in this, many thanks. The issue has undergone constant review & maintenance, we have methods of which the issue is rectified immediately when notified and must note the sparodic nature in which this matter occured. I certainly apologise for the discomfort this may have caused during your stay with us & again my thanks for your contribution from your stay. Feedback from our customers is essential in ensuring the service & standards of our hotel are met daily.

Many Thanks

Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed for just one night but really couldn't fault it.
The staff were really helpful and friendly, our room was well decorated and clean with a very comfortable bed.
Didn't use the restaurant but nice breakfast.
Superb location in the heart of Norwich with free private car park.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well placed, very convenient for walking around the centre of Norwich.
We stayed in the King Room ,which was a fair size bedroom with an equally sized en suite bathroom , which included a bath and a separate shower.
Only disappointment was our room overlooked the outside Bar Terrace, which was slightly noisy but this closed around 23.00-23.30.
Breakfast included - it was a good spread.
Would definitely go again but would ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights, lovely room, friendly service. Right in the centre of Norwich. Private car park so no parking problems. Service excellent in the resteraunt. Dinner menu disappointing, lacked imagination and the food quantity rather than quality. Needs a review of the menu and whether the hotel needs a better quality chef. Consequently we dined out for the other 2 nights. Overall though we rated the hotel as excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Many thanks for your recent Tripadvisor review. Your feedback is important to us in order to maintain our high standards both within the Restaurant & the Hotel. Your reservation, I understand, was for our Sunday Night, 3 Course Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Offer (£120 for 2 persons), the Menu included in this offer is our Set Sunday Menu, this Menu offers a varied choice of 4 starters, 5 Mains, 4 Desserts & Coffee, reflected in the total cost of the offer. Alongside this this offer we note that our Full Seasonal Bistro Menu (changed with Seasons every 3 months) is available at a supplement for all guests should they wish. Both Menus offer a wide range of options to each guest & a varied style of food also. Our full, current Menus are available to view online.
I am pleased to receieve positive comments on the service, we are proud of the service & experiences we offer here at St Giles House & I am pleased to see our efforts made for an enjoyable stay with us.
Many thanks for your comments, I do hope we see you back here again,
Kind Regards
Jenna Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Tasteful Art Deco styled hotel with all the trimmings, lovely cosy lounge with a pile of up-to-date magazines and newspapers to read through. Top notch food and wine. They also offer local ales by the bottle. This is a great hotel to stay in, pop in for lunch or meet up for drinks with friends.

The room we had was a little noisy (plumbing) but there was a rolltop bath and very comfy bed. The staff are a little hit and miss, you can find yourself stood at the bar waiting to be served and on more than one occasion the hotel was shut to outside guests as there was a wedding party or the bar was full. This can be disappointing if you have arranged to meet up with friends there, one way to get round this is to stay the night. An absolute gem in the centre of Norwich city.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezza17june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,139 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing