We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel with super clean rooms and ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here and this time we're with our 13 week old baby.

They have a free car park with easy access to the hotel. Staff on arrival were very friendly and they had set up a travel cot in our room for our baby.

Great clean room, massive shower and an extremely comfortable bed. Our room had aircon. Had a great night's sleep. Full english breakfast in the morning was lovely and staff accommodated my lactose intolerance.

Will definitely stay again next time in Norwich.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

We only stayed here one night but it was very pleasant. The staff was helpful and cordial. Our rooms and baths were large, very clean and well stocked. We would most certainly return.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank LMH923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Rooms are very comfortable with flat screen TV and king size bed. Great shower and bathroom. The food is fabulous and I had the sea bass for main and scallops as a starter. Very tasty. The service was great as was reception. Very attentive and as I had work to do they gave me an extra large table. Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and was great. It is a short walk down the road to the City and the shops and night life. Very secure parking behind the hotel and a lift. Will certainly stay again when in Norwich.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

very disappointed with our stay in the marie antoinette room - £206 a night in total.
dirty bathroom (dust on floor, unclean bath)
noisy taps
decor shabby and confused (behind the grandour of entrance).
crap cocktails
attention to detail not satisfactory (despite stating that attention to detail was paramount)
rubbish breakfast

When i complained about above factors I was told "well we do have feedback forms in the rooms" (??????).

Room Tip: avoid marie antoinette room (unless its been cleaned since). Oh, and breakfast too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve_g186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Good sized room. Large bathroom and great shower. Very clean room, comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast. Very very central. All in all excellent with one exception - the cocktails in the bar were pretty awful. Way too much mint in the Pimms and Mojito, wrong size glasses, weird salting of the margarita glass etc.
Would strongly recommend hotel, just don't bother with the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We got a deal through tickles for a stay at the hotle which included an evening meal & bottle of wine for £70 which was amazing value. The room was lovely with plenty of space & a window that actually opened. We went for the meal & decided to pay a little extra for the steak which was delicious. The whole meal was superb. We returned tot he room but I must admit the bed was not very comfortable at all & I found I woke every time I turned over.
Other than that the stay was well worth the money & the staff were extremely helpful & allowed us to leave the car on the car park during the next day so we could go shopping even though we had checked out.
Ideal base for shopping or Theatre Royal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed in Norwich for a few days before heading to the coast. Hotel was a special treat for my partners birthday and well worth the cost. The room was nicely decorated and very large, especially the bathroom. Had a great nights sleep and the room had nice views over the skyline making it a very bright room. Norwich city centre was just a few minutes walk away which was great for shopping as not too far to return bags to the hotel. A couple of nice sitting rooms to sit in and read the papers and enjoy a coffee. Food both at breakfast and dinner was very tasty though the restaurant itself seemed a bit stark and lacking in atmosphere. Would definately go back for a special occasion, especially as Norwich is so easy to get to from Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomhal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing