We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Giles House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$322
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
371
202
65
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
202
65
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst gilescar parkelemis toiletriesafternoon tearoll top bathking roomtheatre royallovely hotelcity centreeggs benedictmini barhuge bathroomcomfortable bedsconessunday nightfull englishbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Excellent food, good friendly service and good room. This was a theatre and hotel gift from our daughter - as we live only 20 miles away, we would not usually have a stay here. But it is excellent for theatre trip as only 200 yards from Theatre Royal. Ideal location for visitors to Norwich

Room Tip: All rooms individually named
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie503738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this privately owned hotel. It's very central, a short stroll to the theatre which was the purpose of my trip. I travelled with a friend and we needed a twin bedded room, which they didn't have, but they were very helpful on telephone and offered us a suite into which they put a single bed. The suite was very nice and spacious - especially the bathroom. It was quite a rabbit warren of stairs and corridors to get there, but staff brought our cases. We didn't eat in the restaurant, except breakfast which was OK, not exceptional. It did seem a little bleak but perhaps because it wasn't busy. Good staff who gave me directions to a particular area I wanted to explore the following morning. Not a cheap hotel but an interesting building with some personal touches.

Room Tip: Let them know if you don't want to, or can't walk far to your room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed for the weekend and had a very pleasant stay. The location is great but entrance easily missed from the outside. There seem to be a number of larger hotels in the area but the SGH is a hidden small gem. The reception and bar service was excellent, super breakfast with an excellent choice from menu such as poached haddock to full English, plus all the normal buffet bits. The staff all seemed very helpful and friendly and the public areas smart and well maintained,the whole place was spotlessly clean. Bedrooms were all different, quite small however very well designed and appointed to a very good standard. An excellent choice

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREENBUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Me and my recent fiance stayed here for a night on the 13th, and we were amazed at the quality of not only the room, but of the entire hotel itself. We stayed in room 27 (fairly near the front) and had the window partially open all night and did not hear a peep from the street so i have no idea what other people are complaining about. In the restaurant we were able to sit on the sofas and order whilst sipping on freshly made cocktails that the barman even changed for me as i preferred a different flavour, then when the first course was ready we were seated with soft bread and butter, which i felt was an amazing touch as it meant we didn't feel like we waited for our starters. The food overall was cooked to perfection and very well presented, there was no rush to leave and we even asked for a little while between main and desert and it was no trouble at all, we were completely catered for. Check in and out was simple and quick, we were shown up to our room and our bags were delivered, we were given a full introduction and nothing seemed to be too big or too small, they were happy to oblige. We asked after check out if we could leave our suitcases in a store room so we could walk around the town without lugging our suitcases and they were all to happy to allow that. I would recommend to ANYONE.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethC296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We were told of this hotel by a friend,we were looking for venues or our orthcoming wedding,and as an older couple we wanted something a little different,I telephoned first to make enquiries and spoke to a lovely lady called Jenny,I explained my situation,and she couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming,she dealt with my enquiry,even though she wasn't the events co-ordinator,I informed her that I old like to pop in and have a look,she agreed it was a good idea.I popped in that same day,and I was o surprised! The facade looks a little austere,even down to a municipal building!but gosh once you open those doors,wow for me it was amazing,what a beautiful place,I was made very welcome by a member on reception,I explained why I had come,and the lady in question was the lovely Jenny,who I had spoken to earlier,very professional,but so friendly,she gave me a whistle stop guided tour of the function rooms,but she made yu feel like you were visiting a friend,go into the lounge,with a coffee or afternoon tea,a wood panelled high ceilinged room,with the most beautful seating,a collection of armchairs sofas etc,I could've sat there all day,and am sure I they would've et me!i was served by Amy agin very polite,very efficient,we then went into the bistro area and checked out the food,again excellent menu,I guess this kinda convinced me that I had found my venue....so the next day I made and had my appointment with alice,the events manager,who took me thru everything,I decided then to book,but she said go away with quote and get back to me,I did I went straight back and booked.
I have stayed at many hotels and been to weddings,but this hotel is a little bit special,add together the fod the staff,then or me its perfection, look on their website,better still pay them a visit,you won't regret it.well done st giles.See ou in September.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princesskayceebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews