We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Centre Stay with style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“City Centre Stay with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Love the location of this hotel. Just a 2 minute stroll into the shopping centre, a stones throw from my favourite pub/restaurant in Norwich, the Belgium Monk, plus it has a Spa with the best massage treatments I have ever had! Dreamtime massage, 2 hour treatment that will leave you on a high all weekend!
Rooms are spacious, I had one that was roadside on the ground floor, the road is not busy so noise was not a problem. Parking at the back of the hotel is handy, as Norwich parking can be a nightmare at the weekend.
Food is great, breakfast very good, local produce used, plus I had dinner here too, first class!

Room Tip: Ask for one in main hotel block, some different room styles, depends on the occassion, ask the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agent00TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    173
    51
    25
    21
See reviews for
66
326
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The location of the hotel is awesome. Its very well done, classy. Good rooms. I was ready to write a very negative review, because the internet was totally nonfunctional with a solid, reliable and very modern apple computer that works fine in other wireless networks as diverse as starbucks to creaky university networks--but could not seem to successfully log onto St Giles house's wireless network. This was my one major complaint, that i brought to the attention of the desk staff, who (unusually) were not friendly about this problem. Given that this is supposed to pitch in large part to business travellers, who need good internet service, this shortcoming alone would normally have afforded almost any hotel a three star or lower rating.
However.
Aside from this one item, the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. They are NOT petty: for instance, I had made two local calls, and when checking out, they waved off the charges for this. Perhaps most importantly, the breakfast was truly shockingly good. This sounds crazy, but the real highlight was the toast. Instead of using the 50p super-bargain Asda bread, like so many otherwise fancy hotels, the chef has sourced local, rich, seedy bread. This touch of real flavour and class in the morning really made a difference! The fruit was seriously well chosen also, and perfectly ripe. And the wait-staff were awesome. This shifted my evaluation to a recommend, despite the limitations on the internet of this establishment. If they fix that, I'd give them five stars!

Room Tip: I had a room facing an industrial park (number 4). I'd recommend asking to face the front stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubby_galavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Visited a few times but thought I would review at last
Receptionist was fantastic made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived till we left I think her name was Sharon
Room was light and airy , Cosmo's were excellent
Great location for shopping , theatre and restaurants
Well done all will be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygolucky079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Up North
Level Contributor
220 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I really cannot fault this hotel. The location is perfect, just central enough, and the car park is really handy. The room was large, well furnished, comfortable and had every amenity you would need, including a fridge/mini-bar which is unusual for UK hotels. The plug sockets were aplenty and were all in the right place (an issue for us women when we want to use straighteners etc!) and the free wi-fi was great, not only because it was free but because the signal was actually very good. The breakfast was really lovely, the lounge was nice for a drink in the evening and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. If I was to be really picky I would say they need a slightly better/larger tv in the room and an iron/ironing board in the wardrobe but honestly that is being super picky because actually after a four night stay we really struggled to think of any negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our booking and the follow up info was handled in a very professional way. We had the room and dinner deal which was very reasonable. The parking was very convenient but a bit difficult to find.

Our room was enormous with a lovely bathroom up a few steps. A couple of gripes. For a luxury hotel, the pillows and duvet were of very poor quality and, although the bathing experience should have been outstanding, this was spoiled by the very small bath towels. Rather oddly, the kettle etc were in a cupboard well away from any useable socket and we had to plug the kettle in placed on the floor across the room.

The dinner in the Bistro was OK but not exceptional.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpfuland the hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere..

We paid the extra for breakfast in bed, several items were missed from the order and we had to phone down to the kitchen. The food was not hot and the coffee not strong enough for our tastes.

All in all we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you need and they will try to find a room that meets our requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on 25th Feb .The room was lovely and the hotel very tastefully decorated throughout. We were able to have a relaxing pre dinner drink in the comfortable lounge area. The staff were very attentive making our needs their priority.
Dinner was lovely and timing perfect. Breakfast the following morning was very nice and freshly cooked to order.The hotel is situated conveniently near the city center ideal for shopping or the theatre. All in all a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank burners17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Excellent food, good friendly service and good room. This was a theatre and hotel gift from our daughter - as we live only 20 miles away, we would not usually have a stay here. But it is excellent for theatre trip as only 200 yards from Theatre Royal. Ideal location for visitors to Norwich

Room Tip: All rooms individually named
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie503738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing