We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We went for afternoon tea and it is the best so far. Brilliant service water was brought to the table within a minute without having to ask and we were waited on the whole time we were in. the food was fresh and cakes lovely very good layout and lots of food!! Tea was topped up and staff were very well trained defo going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0978145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for your recent review.

Sounds like you had a great time...that's so pleasing to read. Thank you so much. I will pass on your kind words to the waiting team and the chefs

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here a a suprise for my partners Birthday and couldnt have chose anywhere better .Everything was spot on the room, food ,location and staff especially Sandra on reception who couldnt be more helpfull .This was are first stay her but not our last she is already seeing when we can stay again
The food was delicious and presentation was spot on couldnt ask for more on the location just a stone throw from the centre and with its own private car park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazza f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Hi

Thanks for your recent review and an even bigger thanks for your kind words.

Its great to read that you had a fantastic stay and an great birthday

We hope to see you back soon

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was invited as a guest to a surprise 70th afternoon tea party at 4pm last Saturday. Having requested that this took place in the main lounge we were put in a side room that lacked any atmosphere and seemed more like a board room than a restaurant. We were all seated at 4pm, tea and coffee arrived after 15 minutes and food at 4.35. This sandwiches had tasty fillings but were very thick and with the crusts on, far too much bread, there was no delicacy. Scones and tea cakes were most unappetising but the cakes were quite good, especially the sponge. We were asked if we required more tea and coffee but the unfortunate waiter came back after some time to say that they no more Earl Grey tea!! I suggested that Tesco down the road would probably have some and we did get more after ten minutes. I know that the organiser of this party was really upset by all these issues and that spoilt the treat for the person it was arranged for . It really was a series of bad organisation, not very appropriate food and poor service and I personally would not recommend this hotel. No way was it worthy of four stars especially having cheap plastic box balls with fairy lights at the entrance !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thanks your recent review for an afternoon tea which you recently had with us. I'm sorry you were left disappointed just a few points i'd like to clear up.

The organizer of your party did indeed request our lounge however a booking prior to yours had already requested the lounge. We did call you prior to your booking informing of this unfortunate situation. A private room was then requested as the Restaurant may be a bit noisy for your party. The room given to you is known as Maddermarket One and caters for many a private dinner or lunch so i was surprised to hear you felt it lacked atmosphere.

All our Cakes, Scones and bread are all hand made its disappointing to read it wasn't appropriate for your afternoon tea. I will converse with our Head Chef regarding some of the points you have brought to our attention.

The Organizer spoke to the Duty Manager on the day and i'm led to believe a generous arrangement was agreed.

In regards to you not thinking we are a 4* Hotel is the most upsetting comment to read. I'm sorry you feel this way. Maybe you will give us another try

Thanks

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in one of their King Rooms and had an excellent stay.

Prior to arrival the staff were excellent on the phone and were pro-active in advising us about on-site parking (a welcome rarity in a city hotel) with post code and advise on how to find it as it's at the back of the hotel.

The hotel is well located in a nice area of the city, handy for the shopping centre and some nice restaurants very close by.

The room was comfortable and clean, with plenty of tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar, nice bathroom too.

Breakfast was excellent with my wife saying it was the best fresh fruit she'd seen at breakfast for a long time.

On the morning of departure we booked a double back massage in the Spa (they have a room where couples can have a treatment at the same time as each other) which was very good and excellent value for money.

Pity Norwich is so far from home as we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We all here really appreciate your kind words and its nice to see you really enjoyed yourselves.

Keep an eye on our website for new offers and promotions regarding the Spa and staying with us! Some cracking deals to be had. Especially in the New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My Husband and I decided to hold our wedding ceremony and reception here and we are 100% glad we did! All the staff are very friendly, helpful and a delight to deal with.

We stayed in room 16 (bridal suite) and it was immaculate. The bed was so comfy that we didnt want to get out! There was tea and coffee making bits there too, with a bottle of mineral water which was a nice touch. The bathrooms were all clean with toiletries and clean, soft towels. The bath was very nice though the tap was a tad noisey when it was on but that's nothing to complain about :) I had friends in other rooms which all said how happy they were with them.

The rood at the reception dinner was to die for! Everything was presented very well and tasted even better. All decent sized portions too. The wait staff were all very friendly and smiley - which is always nice! The wedding coordinator, alice, was so helpful and full of lovely ideas.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short city break, a wedding, or a romantic get away. It's perfect and I cannot find anything to fault it! Definitely coming back some time for a short get away some time soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SillyPenguin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for your recent review. Such kind words....thank you!

We are all so pleased you had a great Wedding day. Thank you for letting us share it with you!

I will pass on your words to Alice

Thanks again

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at St.Giles House Hotel and booked a deal- dinner (set menu) and overnight accommodation for £145. Dinner was excellent, choice on the set menu was great. However, we were given the option of choosing from the ordinary menu if we so wished. Service was brilliant, quick and very professional.
The location of the hotel couldn't be more perfect being right in the city centre.
Room was very clean, nicely furnished and spacious. This is my third visit to the hotel and I can't fault it!! Will definitely come back again...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for staying with us last week.

You review has some really kind words, so thank you from all the team here!!

Hope to see you again for the fourth time

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had afternoon tea here to celebrate graduation. Great sandwiches- good quality bread and fillings. Looked hand cut not sliced as I've had in other places. Good cakes- however coffee cake was only apprecaited by 1 of us! The rest was excellent.
Friendly attentive staff, nice surroundings.
Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bopsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Firstly congratulations on the graduation, secondly thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us.

Our bread is freshly baked in the morning and is indeed hand sliced...a cunning eye you have. We are pleased you found everything excellent. please come back and see us, this time we will leave out the Coffee cake

Thanks again

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,197 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £127 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing