We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was at St. Giles with a party of approx. 60 people in mid December for our annual christmas dinner,never having been there before but having seen series on tv when hotel was being renovated was really looking forward to our night, however while i agree surroundings are grand & staff were friendly & worked hard but the meal itself was a huge letdown,vegetables were cold, sprouts were so hard couldn`t get fork in, Braised steak was like a bowl of stew, i had ordered turkey which was thin slices wrapped round stuffing like a large sausage.Sweet was best part of meal.By then most of the staff had disappeared leaving 2 waiters..one to clear tables of sweet dishes,other serving coffee...for 60 people not good enough.Our organiser did put in complaint & we were given a reimbursement but don`t think we will be going again there this year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sheilab43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I live just outside Norwich and have driven past St. Giles House numerous times. We watched it being renovated in recent years. However, we finally decided to give it a try when our son and his girlfriend came up for the New Year. We had dinner there on the night before New Year's Eve and, although Christmas was past, they still allowed us to have their 4-course Christmas menu with a complementary glass of Prosecco to start. There was a great selection (my wife is a vegetarian) and the service was efficient, friendly--but not pushy. The restaurant itself is set out in bistro style--not too formal and not too casual. There is a very comfortable lounge--panelled in oak--for after-dinner drinks. Although we did not stay overnight, we did have a peek around the building. It's elegance belies the fact that it was once a British Telecom building!--hard to believe now. If I were looking for an overnight stay in Norwich, I'd pick St. Giles House.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a rather busy and narrow road. If you are a light sleeper, you might want a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for your kind words regarding your meal with us during December. Sorry in the delay in getting back to you, your kind words are truly appreciated

Thanks

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visit this hotel my partner birthday celebration 11 January saturday night, we been last year and such a good meal however not this year at all.Firstly when l book table to the reception l mention my parner birthday and really l want good night. When we arrival to restaurant quiet busy bar area and not much staff and l can see staff run much they can do. Service details and attention what we get very disappointed for casual meal thats fine not for special occasions.food starters fish plater salmon middle raw l didnt eat however nice mussel's & main course both order steak nicely cook however chips not triple cook.....also not dress code in restaurant sport shoes, tisort.... after all we dont want any dessert.Nice hotel , last year we are very enjoyed and have to say not this year...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank besiktas1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manger at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for your review...I'm would like to apologise in the delay in getting back to you.

I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your recent meal with us...very disappointed to read you didn't think the service was acceptable

I see you've been with us and had a very special meal..please give us another chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my partner over the Christmas period we only live 5 miles away but wanted a sneaky getaway somewhere close so we could be waited on and we love our own city. This place is just grand and inviting the service was spot on and friendly people around in abundance. Could of been something to do with the Xmas period but everyone was so warm and interested in a quick chat etc very good value for money. Had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiritualseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for your review...sorry for the lateness in our response.

We here are all so pleased your had an enjoyable stay. its great to read you found all the staff warm and friendly

Pop back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Absolutely exceptional Christmas lunch. Service excellent, friendly and efficient. The staff immediately put us at ease. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and we enjoyed every course. St Giles House Hotel is a very beautiful venue and I am not surprised to see such good reviews here. Thank you so much, you made our day perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

So pleasing to read your kind words regarding your Christmas Day Lunch, it was a really pleasant day for both our Staff and Guests

Thanks again for your kind words

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was unaware of this place until we went there for a Christmas function, and what a find it is! Within a couple of minutes walk of the Market Place this lovely old building offers large, comfortable and beautifully furnished bedrooms. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful and there is also a decent sized car park , unusual for a hotel so close to a city centre. We paid £130 for bed and breakfast and had no complaints with that. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order and offered some variety from the usual Full English. Eggs Benedict are always a welcome offering and they were done to perfection. My wife had poached haddock with poached egg and this too was beautfifully done.
We look forward to our next stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RobinS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your recent review, such kind words

So pleased you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great location, great room with awesome bathroom. Lovely reception staff just shame we got muddled on Sunday night deal. Could do with waiters knowing what you can/ can't have in the evening as a reminder. Don't let this put you off though as minor. Norwich is fab - perfect as City break to get Christmas shopping done without the stress.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your recent feedback, sorry about the mix up regarding the waiting team

Look forward to seeing your back with us

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,255 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#16 of 50 in Norwich
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £94 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with a unique theme, part Edwardian and part Art Deco with a rich history in one of the oldest Streets in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing