We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Food - Poor Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Food - Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Ten of us went last night to celebrate two of our friends birthdays. We we so looking forward to our night our as we all have small children. As soon as we got to the hotel we had to wait 15 minutes to be served at the bar, as there was only one batman working. Once we got served we ordered a bottle of champagne which was just thrown onto the bar with two glasses which we had to pour ourselves. I then asked for an ice bucket which the batman could not come up with. After a 30 min wait I then asked if he could put it in his fridge, I don't expect this from an upmarket hotel! We then got seated and we ordered our starters which were very mediocre. The mains where most people order steak, were all sent back to the kitchen as it was like chewing on boot leather, someone else order lamb which was in edible as it was all fat and no meat. My vegetarian butternut squash risotto was like eating rice pudding, so bland and very sweet. What a disappointment we couldn't even fill ourselves up with vegetables as we were not offered any with our dinner! So so disappointing we were considering this for our wedding venue! I'm not one to complain but all 10 mains sent back into the kitchen is never heard of! This hotel has gone right down the pan which is a shame it used to be so good!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review...

Firstly I'd like to apologise about your recent trip with us...that service we were very understaffed due to a number of reasons. However this is not an excuse and its certainly not acceptable

Having investigated with the team working that evening..All 10 meals weren't sent back only a few as the rest of your party didn't say anything. Alas its irrelevant...you didn't enjoy yourself that's what matters.

All I can say is apologise more to you....I know that the Supervisor on that evening heavily discounted your meals...and as you 'were' considering us for your wedding you must have seen something you liked on your previous visits. Please see this as just a hiccup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    173
    51
    25
    21
See reviews for
66
326
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Second time staying at St Giles and very enjoyable stay. You have to be comfortable with the quirkiness of the Georgian stairways and passages, but the rooms are spacious and well furnished, including a quality bed. Great breakfast cooked to order and very friendly personalized service from reception. Only comment was that the car park is full during the day, so expect to have to park elsewhere if the neighboring DWP office is open. Will definitely keep returning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your review regarding your stay with us in February...sorry its taken so long to get back to you.

Those stairs are a bit of a maze aren't they like a labyrinth all adds to the quirkiness' as you quite rightly said.

Non-residents keep using our car park and its something we are trying to police

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at St Giles and this surpassed our last stay which in fact was superb. We stayed on the winter break offer which was excellent value and could not be faulted. The reception staff welcomed us most warmly and even recognised us from our last stay which was a while ago. The room could not have been better with a comfortable bed and a very modern bathroom. The restaurant staff were most attentive and the food was really excellent; this included afternoon champagne tea which was followed later by an excellent three course set menu; compliments to an outstanding chef. Yet again the multi-national hotels should take a look at St Giles Hotel and see how service is provided by warm and friendly staff; compliments to the owners.

Room Tip: Take any room on the 4th floor; in fact take any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rita1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Wow!!

Thanks for your kind words!! Its so so pleasing to read you had such a fantastic stay!!

We all work so hard to make sure you have an amazing stay! The winter break offer was a great one wasn't it!! Keep an eye on our website as we have many more offers throughout the year

Thanks again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was at St. Giles with a party of approx. 60 people in mid December for our annual christmas dinner,never having been there before but having seen series on tv when hotel was being renovated was really looking forward to our night, however while i agree surroundings are grand & staff were friendly & worked hard but the meal itself was a huge letdown,vegetables were cold, sprouts were so hard couldn`t get fork in, Braised steak was like a bowl of stew, i had ordered turkey which was thin slices wrapped round stuffing like a large sausage.Sweet was best part of meal.By then most of the staff had disappeared leaving 2 waiters..one to clear tables of sweet dishes,other serving coffee...for 60 people not good enough.Our organiser did put in complaint & we were given a reimbursement but don`t think we will be going again there this year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilab43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I live just outside Norwich and have driven past St. Giles House numerous times. We watched it being renovated in recent years. However, we finally decided to give it a try when our son and his girlfriend came up for the New Year. We had dinner there on the night before New Year's Eve and, although Christmas was past, they still allowed us to have their 4-course Christmas menu with a complementary glass of Prosecco to start. There was a great selection (my wife is a vegetarian) and the service was efficient, friendly--but not pushy. The restaurant itself is set out in bistro style--not too formal and not too casual. There is a very comfortable lounge--panelled in oak--for after-dinner drinks. Although we did not stay overnight, we did have a peek around the building. It's elegance belies the fact that it was once a British Telecom building!--hard to believe now. If I were looking for an overnight stay in Norwich, I'd pick St. Giles House.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts a rather busy and narrow road. If you are a light sleeper, you might want a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your kind words regarding your meal with us during December. Sorry in the delay in getting back to you, your kind words are truly appreciated

Thanks

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visit this hotel my partner birthday celebration 11 January saturday night, we been last year and such a good meal however not this year at all.Firstly when l book table to the reception l mention my parner birthday and really l want good night. When we arrival to restaurant quiet busy bar area and not much staff and l can see staff run much they can do. Service details and attention what we get very disappointed for casual meal thats fine not for special occasions.food starters fish plater salmon middle raw l didnt eat however nice mussel's & main course both order steak nicely cook however chips not triple cook.....also not dress code in restaurant sport shoes, tisort.... after all we dont want any dessert.Nice hotel , last year we are very enjoyed and have to say not this year...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank besiktas1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manger at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your review...I'm would like to apologise in the delay in getting back to you.

I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your recent meal with us...very disappointed to read you didn't think the service was acceptable

I see you've been with us and had a very special meal..please give us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my partner over the Christmas period we only live 5 miles away but wanted a sneaky getaway somewhere close so we could be waited on and we love our own city. This place is just grand and inviting the service was spot on and friendly people around in abundance. Could of been something to do with the Xmas period but everyone was so warm and interested in a quick chat etc very good value for money. Had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritualseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your review...sorry for the lateness in our response.

We here are all so pleased your had an enjoyable stay. its great to read you found all the staff warm and friendly

Pop back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing