We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wedding ceremony - mismanaged evening do” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Giles House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great wedding ceremony - mismanaged evening do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We fell in love with the venue as soon as we saw the Walnut Suite, and the staff gave us the confidence that they'd pull off our wedding without a hitch. So we quickly booked the venue and started planning our day.

The Walnut Suite is stunning, hardly needs any extras to make it look special for your wedding day, couldn't fault the surroundings at all. The beautiful chandelier tops it all off nicely, it really was the perfect place for us to get married.

The morning of the wedding, and the ceremony itself went off without a hitch, the staff were attentive and made sure everything we wanted was dealt with quickly and the room was set up perfectly. The champagne (well, prosecco) reception worked brilliantly and as it was sunny it was lovely to be able to sit outside and use the terrace.

However, as we got to the evening do, things started to go wrong. The event organiser left off while we were having a meal in the bridal suite, and no-one else seemed to have the job to take over from her.

On the run up to the day we were told that the staff would be on-hand to help us with the cutting the cake, and then take the cake away and serve it up with the buffet. This was scheduled for 7:30pm, however, we couldn't find anyone and were told that the girl behind the bar couldn't leave from behind there to help. So after waiting for someone to appear to help us, we gave in and just did the cutting of the cake ourselves.

The buffet was supposed to be served at 7:30pm, but it was almost 9pm by the time anyone brought any food out, and we'd had to chase it 4 times by that point. Not great when you're spending £1000 on food! Some of our guests with children even had to leave to go and buy them a meal somewhere else as the kids were getting so hungry.

The cake wasn't taken away to be cut into slices and served for ages after this, and again, only when I'd prompted the staff several times to do so and on top of that, when we first went back up to the bridal suite, our plates from our meal hadn't been tidied away (and wouldn't have been if we hadn't asked the staff to sort it out).

We did have a lovely day, but we should have had an amazing day. We felt like promises weren't delivered on and we haven't had any explanation as to why these things were so late on the day or why the staff on the evening had no idea of the timeline that should have been adhered to. It just got embarrassing having to apologise to our friends and family for how late the food was and the fact that some of our friends had to leave early to go and get their children something to eat.

All in all, it's a stunning venue, but the event management should really have been better on the day. It certainly didn't live up to expectations or promises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    173
    51
    25
    21
See reviews for
66
326
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

There are some good things to say about the St Giles House but on a hot weekend the ventilation in our ground floor room with windows on the street was not one of them. No air-conditioning, windows that passers-by could stick their heads through and a single fan made for an uncomfortable night’s sleep.

On the plus side, we had a magnificently tiled large bathroom. The hotel is conveniently located. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, and included in the price. We didn’t have a full meal in the restaurant, but the starters that we had as a snack (Beetroot Cured Salmon and Open Ravioli of Smoked Ham Hock) were very impressive.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot avoid room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your recent review...sorry to read your recent stay left you with a little bit of an uncomfortable nights sleep.

Being a listed building we are limited in the work we can do to the Hotel..hence no air conditioning in a few of our rooms. Having said that..since you have brought this to our attention we have installed state of the art Dyson fans which really do the trick

We hope you choice to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the St Giles on a mid week trip to Norwich . It's right in the city centre so you can use there free car park and walk to all the attractions . It's a loverly old building . We booked a King room and was upgraded to a suite . I have stayed in lots of hotels throughout the world and not many have the wow factor like I felt when I saw the suite at the St Giles we where both totally blown away ! . It had a long corridor leading to a large bathroom with large free standing bath and double basin . It had a lounge area with settee , chair , tv and other furniture . There was also a shower room , with wc and basin , leading through double doors to bedroom massive bed , dressing table and other furniture , all the suit was tastefully decorated with period style furniture . Another wc and basin . They have a nice outside terrace to enjoy drinks on . Breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot dishes ranging from full English to eggs Benedictine ect to cereal , yogurt , fruit and juices . I did not try the restaurant but I am sure it would have been good . All the staff where friendly and very knowledgable of the area . We both enjoyed our stay at the St Giles and would like to thank the Staff and management making our stay special and would love to return .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your truly wonderful review!! Its great you had such a wonderful stay and that you found everything to your liking

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the hotel itself. Couldn't really fault the place at all. We had a standard double and it was lovely. The beds were one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. I stayed with my sister and we had twin beds and she agreed about how comfortable the bed was. The room had air con, always a bonus. The whole hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely superb too.
All in all, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosisters2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for your recent great review!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and its great to see you had such a wonderful stay

Thanks again for taking the time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have visited St Giles House several times in the last six months, the restaurant, to use the spa or simply drinks. We have always been very happy with the food and service we have received here, which is why after viewing many wedding venues we both decided with no hesitation to book this hotel for our wedding ceremony and wedding breakfast as it truly is a beautiful building.

We are so please we did, as everything was exactly as planned and excellent. The Walnut Suite looked beautiful and all the staff involved were very professional and looked after our 40 guests very well. The wedding food including seafood, beef wellington and various desserts were all served quickly, looked and tasted delicious. We both thoroughly enjoyed the day as did all our guests.

Our bridal suite was lovely and we loved the decor. Breakfast the next morning was good too, plenty of choice and all cooked to order.

Not sure if St Giles hotel is for business users, it is a beautiful boutique hotel, perfect location to explore Norwich, shopping, sightseeing and theatre or like us celebrating a wedding, special birthday or anniversary with family and friends. There is nowhere like it in Norwich, if you are thinking of booking........ go ahead, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alicat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had our wedding here in Jan 14. We had 6 weeks to plan it and chose SGH. The event Co - ordinator was fantastic and catered to everything. It was a beautiful intimate celebration with the people we love and they made me so comfortable and our guests.
Everything was spot on and the food was much better than we hoped for.
We recommend that if you want anything from a coffee in the lounge to a wedding and overnight stay, within the stunning surroundings of this building. Look no further.
Thanks again to Alice.
Hanna & Burt

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannapreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for afternoon tea and left feeling very disappointed.

We arrived without a booking however we were told that was fine and we sat within the lounge. We waited 15 minutes before anyone bothered to come over and take our order for drinks or food which was enough time for us to consider leaving and going somewhere else. A young girl came over with some cups and side plates (why you need two plates I have no idea) and took our order. My friend ordered a diet coke which came flat like the bottle had already been opened a few hours prior.. Although we soon had this replaced by a fresh one.

The afternoon tea arrived and for £13.50 per head I was shocked. It was served on a plastic white tier which looked like it was bought from QD. The gentleman which served us the afternoon tea didn't tell us what was what and instead just chucked it down on the table.. No 'I hope you enjoy.. Or can I get you anything else?'.

The sandwiches weren't seasoned, the cakes were dry, the macaroons weren't homemade (which the supervisor confirmed were not), the 'brownie' was more like a chocolate cake and there was something which resembled a flapjack however I couldn't even begin to guess what was in it!!

I've been to st giles house before for lunch and it was fantastic however I'm led to believe its under new management which may be why things are going down hill. The 'supervisor' if that's what you want to call him sat on the sofa whilst I complained about the food and I felt that was very unprofessional of him. Not only this but he said we could just pay for our drinks however came back and added more money on so he obviously didn't have the authority to make a decision.

Might I add the only thing which was nice throughout our experience was the cloth serviettes instead of paper ones! All in all a very disappointing afternoon tea and we definitely won't be coming back neither will I be recommending to any friends or family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent Afternoon Tea experience i'm sorry you found it appalling....

To say you had an unpleasant experience is an understatement there is however a few points i would like to raise...

The reason we serve two plates with our Afternoon Tea is 1 for the Sandwiches and 1 for the cakes.
We don't season our Sandwiches..as we try and keep the salt intake down and for pepper allergies. Our Salmon Sandwiches is served with a cream cheese and our cheese is served with a chutney,,we find these fillings season the sandwiches.
The Management is the same...the Owner has sold but she is now the General Manager.
Our Old Head Chef of 5 years recently left to open his own venue so we've been using agency chefs until we find the perfect replacement..hence why you macaroons were indeed bought in and not homemade. However we have now got a new Chef and ealry indications are he is great.

Issues with the supervisor i will bring up with him and it isn't acceptable

Any further issuse please dont hesitate to bring them up with me

Thanks

Christopher Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Property: St Giles House Hotel
Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing