We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and found it to be a really nice hotel. Great staff, very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was very good too. The location of this hotel is brilliant for shopping and bars and restaurants. Excellent value, will be back:))

Room Tip: Room 11 was very quiet, great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danni007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Morning,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review...it really helps us out

Whats even better to read is that you had such an enjoyable stay

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I came to St Giles House Hotel for a meal with my family to celebrate an occasion.

We were seated in a drinks area and it was lovely to relax and chat before we were seated for our meal. We were offered a very good choice of wines and beers and given a menu to choose our food.

The choices of food were amazing and very posh! We all chose our dishes and were excited to taste the food.

We were then seated and the waiters were very helpful and attentive!

Then the food came...wow!!! All I can say is that it was incredible and I thoroughly enjoyed it! My mum are 3 courses which never happens!! The chefs are great and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XTrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your recent review

Sounds like you had a really enjoyable meal which is great to read..

Coming to St Giles is a great experience. As you stated its great to have a relaxing drink in our lounge area while perusing the menus.

I will pass on you kind words to the staff

Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Subject: St Giles House Hotel
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: It is hard to convey this level of badness
ID#: 210822603

So, here I sit in the "restaurant" just served an awful, overpriced monk fish that must have been caught in the middle ages, and has been living there in quiet solitude for the last 500 years. (Ahh, "Light my fire" comes quaintly over the speakers as I type. Haven't heard THIS since at least 1982, in..was it Las Vegas or Reno, I forget).

So, the room is the Madame Whatever suite and the furnishing (lest you think i'm a difficult person) is quite charming. But here's the rub. THEY DO NOT HAVE WIFI AND I AM HERE TO WORK FOR 4 DAYS. OOOPS! So I moved to the lobby and then the restaurant where the wifi is "very powerful" only to watch the signal drop and restart over 50 times during my wonderful dinner. On both devices. The same devices i use all over the planet, seemingly are in the vortex here.

Whatever, I plan on leaving as soon as I can. Overpriced, poor services, bad food...but nice staff. One STAR, don't bother.

Room Tip: Wifi is not really there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_on_the_block
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We fell in love with the venue as soon as we saw the Walnut Suite, and the staff gave us the confidence that they'd pull off our wedding without a hitch. So we quickly booked the venue and started planning our day.

The Walnut Suite is stunning, hardly needs any extras to make it look special for your wedding day, couldn't fault the surroundings at all. The beautiful chandelier tops it all off nicely, it really was the perfect place for us to get married.

The morning of the wedding, and the ceremony itself went off without a hitch, the staff were attentive and made sure everything we wanted was dealt with quickly and the room was set up perfectly. The champagne (well, prosecco) reception worked brilliantly and as it was sunny it was lovely to be able to sit outside and use the terrace.

However, as we got to the evening do, things started to go wrong. The event organiser left off while we were having a meal in the bridal suite, and no-one else seemed to have the job to take over from her.

On the run up to the day we were told that the staff would be on-hand to help us with the cutting the cake, and then take the cake away and serve it up with the buffet. This was scheduled for 7:30pm, however, we couldn't find anyone and were told that the girl behind the bar couldn't leave from behind there to help. So after waiting for someone to appear to help us, we gave in and just did the cutting of the cake ourselves.

The buffet was supposed to be served at 7:30pm, but it was almost 9pm by the time anyone brought any food out, and we'd had to chase it 4 times by that point. Not great when you're spending £1000 on food! Some of our guests with children even had to leave to go and buy them a meal somewhere else as the kids were getting so hungry.

The cake wasn't taken away to be cut into slices and served for ages after this, and again, only when I'd prompted the staff several times to do so and on top of that, when we first went back up to the bridal suite, our plates from our meal hadn't been tidied away (and wouldn't have been if we hadn't asked the staff to sort it out).

We did have a lovely day, but we should have had an amazing day. We felt like promises weren't delivered on and we haven't had any explanation as to why these things were so late on the day or why the staff on the evening had no idea of the timeline that should have been adhered to. It just got embarrassing having to apologise to our friends and family for how late the food was and the fact that some of our friends had to leave early to go and get their children something to eat.

All in all, it's a stunning venue, but the event management should really have been better on the day. It certainly didn't live up to expectations or promises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There are some good things to say about the St Giles House but on a hot weekend the ventilation in our ground floor room with windows on the street was not one of them. No air-conditioning, windows that passers-by could stick their heads through and a single fan made for an uncomfortable night’s sleep.

On the plus side, we had a magnificently tiled large bathroom. The hotel is conveniently located. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, and included in the price. We didn’t have a full meal in the restaurant, but the starters that we had as a snack (Beetroot Cured Salmon and Open Ravioli of Smoked Ham Hock) were very impressive.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot avoid room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your recent review...sorry to read your recent stay left you with a little bit of an uncomfortable nights sleep.

Being a listed building we are limited in the work we can do to the Hotel..hence no air conditioning in a few of our rooms. Having said that..since you have brought this to our attention we have installed state of the art Dyson fans which really do the trick

We hope you choice to stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the St Giles on a mid week trip to Norwich . It's right in the city centre so you can use there free car park and walk to all the attractions . It's a loverly old building . We booked a King room and was upgraded to a suite . I have stayed in lots of hotels throughout the world and not many have the wow factor like I felt when I saw the suite at the St Giles we where both totally blown away ! . It had a long corridor leading to a large bathroom with large free standing bath and double basin . It had a lounge area with settee , chair , tv and other furniture . There was also a shower room , with wc and basin , leading through double doors to bedroom massive bed , dressing table and other furniture , all the suit was tastefully decorated with period style furniture . Another wc and basin . They have a nice outside terrace to enjoy drinks on . Breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot dishes ranging from full English to eggs Benedictine ect to cereal , yogurt , fruit and juices . I did not try the restaurant but I am sure it would have been good . All the staff where friendly and very knowledgable of the area . We both enjoyed our stay at the St Giles and would like to thank the Staff and management making our stay special and would love to return .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your truly wonderful review!! Its great you had such a wonderful stay and that you found everything to your liking

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the hotel itself. Couldn't really fault the place at all. We had a standard double and it was lovely. The beds were one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. I stayed with my sister and we had twin beds and she agreed about how comfortable the bed was. The room had air con, always a bonus. The whole hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely superb too.
All in all, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twosisters2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesHouse, Duty Manager/ Restaurant Manager at St Giles House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your recent great review!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and its great to see you had such a wonderful stay

Thanks again for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,196 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £126 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing