We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, bad reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Giles House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed here for one night just before Christmas. The room was well appointed, the bathroom enormous with huge iron bath and wet room (which flooded when used, so we stuck to the bath the next morning). As part of our Sunday night deal we were given the Xmas 5-course set meal, which was surprisingly good food. The butternut squash soup in particular was incredible and the venison casserole a taste sensation. Also, the waiting staff should be commended - it was the same guy on the bar, in the restaurant and serving breakfast the next morning and he was courteous to the max.

However, first impressions count and these were not good. The reception staff need a course in customer service, being surly and uninterested. Also, the stairs and corridors were in desperate need of a hoover. We encountered three reception staff and they were all the same - perhaps a staff course in hospitality is needed? Or just get them to smile at least.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillywhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

The Xmas lunch set menu - overpriced and kept me up all night with stomach pains. And are they taking the michael - one piece of carrot with the main course - not even a whole carrot - one piece of carrot. Yes, it is a good location and nicely decorated restaurant, but the xmas lunch is certainly overpriced and the quality is poor. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: December 2010
2  Thank EnglandRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We were a little anxious, having read the mixed reviews of this hotel, but we had a very pleasant two nights here. The lady on reception was friendly and helpful and remembered details of what we were planning for the weekend. Our room was beautifully decorated - the two negatives of our whole stay were "drainy" smell in the bathroom some of the time and a shower which while very hot was also very violent. On the plus side breakfast was excellent and despite there being a large wedding party we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Great location and pretty good rooms, but many staff have an apparent bad attitude; is this due to being overworked/under-staffed? The front of house ladies seem to have "I'm doing YOU a favour talking and helping you" attitude", and seem to think it is OK to answer the telephone in mid-conversation or speak to another guest while you stand there in anticipation of getting on with your visit/stay. I would also point to other management issues, for example piles of used bedding and towels outside the rooms in the moring and an ironing born in the corridor outside the room or the maid sitting outside waiting to come into your room to clean it, giving you the impression perhaps that you were "holding her up".

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bc1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

arrived after a long drive to be greeted by a receptionist that looked like she didn't like us very much, she showed us to our room didn't say a word all the way there and didn't tell us what time breakfast was. The room was cold and very plain. We thought about having a bath to warm and freshen up , but no bath ! We had a hower and shower head was broken squirting water everywhere but where you jwant it. Finished with the shower i proceeded to put on the bath robe which i took off straight away as it reeked of stale after shave obviously hadn't been changed since the last guest as hadn't the duvet it smelt stale we were horrified tried calling reception and had no reply .and not expected from any hotel even less from a four star establishment. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful , apart from a distressed looking middle aged woman strutting around with a face like a bull dog chewing a wasp and barking orders at these people. When we got our food another wave of disappointment our starter was cold and the second time it wasn't much warmer only very dry by this point we saw that complaining would be pointless as it would fall on deaf ears , when the main course arrived it was late , dry , stringy and tasted old 's Definitely not worth the rosettes hanging in the restaurant and i will

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retrogene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I stayed recently and have to say I was so impressed, i am used to beautiful 5 star hotels in Asia and around the world so did not have any high expectations as UK hotels do not always have the best reputation but i have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The building is stunning, they have done a superb job of renovating this truly beautiful old building which is also in the best central location in Norwich, just 2 minutes into the historic city centre, added benfit it also has a private large car park at the back which is free. The rooms are lovely with huge modern bathrooms, lovely deco furniture with all modern touches, flat screen tv's, well stocked mini bar and snacks. The bar is lovely with a very atmospheric lounge at the front, all wood pannelled and very traditional. The breakfast I can honestly say is one of the best I have ever had, it was exceptional. All in all a really great hotel in a superb location with some lovely charachter features, also they have a newly installed Spa, we didn't use it but it looked lovely and they also have a lovely new Bistro on site, menu looked great. I would recommend very highly if staying in Norwich, really can't understand the previous gripes on here as we found the hotel first class throughout for a small boutique property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaSteve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Strange that there are so many mixed reviews - we had a super experience!
Our friends had booked the whole hotel for their wedding and the day was perfect from start to finish. The staff were very unobtrusive, yet attentive, the place was very clean and tidy - and there was no rush to do anything.
Food at the wedding breakfast was very nice indeed (although my chips were a tad cool) and the lad serving was lovely.
We had an excellent room rate as guests at the wedding and stayed in one of the more modern rooms. We could open our windows, had air conditioning, and a super big bathroom with excellent toiletries. The room was very tastefully furnished indeed. I would comment though,as with most hotels I visit - please provide wardrobes long enough for long dresses!
Like some other guests the only place which let the hotel down was reception (hence point deducted for service) - the ladies there seemed very uninterested and did not interact with the guests at all - I have had better service in the cheap and cheerful chains! However wonderful attentive bar and waiting staff, cleaning staff and night porter.
I would definately recommend to friends - slept like a log and very well rested in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,175 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles House Hotel

Address: 41-45 St. Giles Street, Norwich NR2 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £92 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Giles House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel
St Giles Norwich
St Giles House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing