We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives 'room with a view' a whole new meaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We chose this hotel for our three-night break in Norwich as the hotel we stayed in last year and to which we had planned to return was fully booked. How fortunate this turned out to be.
Being a chain, it is similar to other Holiday Inns we have stayed in, but that is no bad thing.
There is ample parking (although it may be fully utilised on match days) and on our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful. (We saw her in the town later that day and she greeted us warmly - a nice touch).
Our room had an amazing view: it overlooked the Norwich City Football Club ground and during our stay there was an under-21s' match between England and Serbia.
As someone who had never seen a professional footbal ground, it was very interesting.
The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and modern with a white suite and granite finish.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cooked food, bread and pastries and yogurts, teas and coffees.
Unusually we met the manager and sales manager during our stay, both of whom were friendly and helpful, the latter giving us tips on visiting the Sainsbury Centre (museum and art gallery on the university campus).
The only things that let this hotel down are having to pay for wi-fi and something it cannot do anything about - its location. It is quite a long way from the city centre, which is fine for younger people like us, but may prove a problem for older guests.
All in all, this hotel is good value for money - we will be back.

Room Tip: If you are a football fan, ask for a room with a view of the ground.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The pitch view rooms are amazing and to see the Under 21's on Friday night was an added bonus, pity there were not a few more goals.

The rooms are really well kept by Karen and her team and they work hard to ensure that every guest gets an "as new" room experience even though we're now over five years old.

Whilst parking on a match day is busy we utilise the yellow lines on our property as a last place to park, it's unusual that we ever struggle to park all of our guests so nothing to worry about there.

Just about everyone of our reviews mention how great breakfast is and you are no exception it's really good value for money and has just about everything you can think of on a breakfast menu!

WiFi is free on the ground floor but as you pointed out there is a charge for the internet in the rooms. It's currently plug in but soon to be wireless.

We are not directly city centre but it's not a bad walk down the riverside and both old and young alike enjoy the walk along the river bank particularly on a summer's evening with the boats passing by and of course there are a few pubs along there to for your enjoyment.

As my office is next to the reception desk I get to meet many of our guests and on regular occassions guests pop their heads in to say hello so next time you're here please feel free to do the same.

It's really important to all of us that people give us their feedback as without it we cannot measure how we're doing, so thank you once again for your comments they are much appreciated by me and all of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel an easy 10 minute walk from the railway station. Our room was a good size and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the alert staff were always around if you needed any help. Even on a busy Sunday morning extra tables had been prepared in the lounge area so that everyone could enjoy a relaxing breakfast.All the staff were friendly and helpful. The next time i am back in Norwich i will stay here.

Room Tip: I suspect most people, except Ipswich Town fans, would ask for a room facing the football pitch but...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sideburnsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for your review we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As many of our guests mention breakfast is a firm favorite and offers superb value for money as you stated, we have over 50 items to chose from and a number of specials cooked to order, a great way to start your day.

The rooms are lovely and are really well cared for by Karen and her team in housekeeping, people cannot believe the hotel is over 5 years old as the property looks like brand new a real testament to hard work that goes into them.

Next time you're in Norwich try one of our suites they are amazing and great value for money.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review we all really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here several times over the past 2 months.

I have to say my expectations where not high and I was pleasantly surprised.

Clean, bright, staff very friendly, breakfast was very good.

Parking is a bit of a pain as you park in the car park around the corner but if that is all I can fault then that is not bad.

Central location, next to football pitch so I guess I may not like it on a match day but was warned in advance of these dates so no issue again.

Yes I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPOLDHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about our hotel. I'm really pleased you've enjoyed your time with us over the last couple of months.

The team go out of their way to ensure all of our guests have a stay to remember and from the positive reviews we keep getting we're getting it right most of the time.

Breakfast is a firm favorite and is regularly commented on, it's great value for money and there's plenty of it.

The car park is at the back of the hotel if the front is full, there is a charge of £4.95 for 24 hours so again it's good value as it's covered by CCTV and there is also an attendant on during the day and security rounds at night.

It can be very busy on match days but by 6.00pm if it's a normal kick off time the hotel is back to normal and you wouldn't know a game had taken place. It's a great atmosphere wether you're a football fan or not!

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review your comments are much appreciated by all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Nice modern hotel with a well furnished room. Convenient to Norwich City Centre. When we stayed, the hotel car park next to the hotel which was in the football stadium car park was full. Luckily, there was space at the front of hotel. Not sure if this is a regular problem because it would be difficult to park elsewhere.

The Air-con in the room was also quite noisy at times and affected our sleep a little. Apart this minor issue, we had an enjoyable stay with friendly staff and a very nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0bn0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thanks for your review about our hotel and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. The breakfast is superb and gets many many comments about how good it is and that it's great value for money, which it really is.

Not sure when you stayed by the sound of things it was when a football match was taking place. This is the only time we sometimes have to use more of the hotel frontage for parking but even then we guarantee a parking place for all of our guests so nothing to worry about for any future visits!

I'm sorry the A/C was a little noisy if you wish let me know what room you stayed in and I'll get it checked out.

The team are very happy to get a mention as they always are and its much appreciated as they all work really hard to ensure your stay is one to remember so being mentioned keeps us all motivated and proves to us we are getting it right.

Thank you very much once again for your review and I hope you can stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed Saturday and Sunday night, 2 people, B & B in an exec double room for £240 total. Large, comfy room with bath and shower, pleasant helpful service from friendly staff. Quiet location (so long as you check there is no home match at the adjoining football ground). Buffet breakfast did not have quite the extent of choice of, say, the Hilton or Novotel chains but was ample for our needs and it is good to see waste kept to a minimum. Staff numbers are kept to a minimum but this didn't affect the service, and is no doubt one of the reasons for the competitive price. Nice to see the (approachable) Manager works from a small office next to the reception desk and keeps his door open.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel and I'm really pleased you had such a good stay with us. The team as you saw all work really hard to ensure all of our guests have a stay to remember and we're delighted you've been able to write such kind comments about us.

The rooms are excellent and as you have pointed out very good value for money. Whilst It can be very busy on a match day it's only on the run up to the kick off after it's finished the hotel returns to normal and most people if they have been out for the day don't even realise a match has taken place, so please don't be put off by the fact we have a game as after 6.00pm you'd have no idea it had happened.

Breakfast is lovely and has a great selection of over 50 items which I was pleased you enjoyed.

I try to meet as many guests as possible and the easiest way of doing this was to locate myself next to the reception desk with my door permanently open if I'm in the building, which as you found yourselves makes it very easy for you to pop your head in and say hello.

I meet so many people this way and regular guests always call in at some point during their stay which is really beneficial to everybody. I'm glad you liked this and found me to be approachable, it's so important that we take any feedback either good or bad before a client leaves and by locating myself where I am I'm usually able to do this.

Thank you once again for your comments and I'm glad we had the chance to talk briefly before you left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A bit weird to experience for the first time, but the hotel basically is part of the foootball ground. If you like football, than this would be an excellent hotel to watch the match. I am not a football fan, however, so I judge the hotel from a business traveller point of view:
It is reasonably located, easy to reach, but a little far from the city centre. The rooms are nice and clean, staff is friendly and when there is no match, prices are decent.
The one thing I don't like about the hotel is the shortage of parking space in front of the hotel.

For business stays, this is a good hotel, it offers everything you need. For a football fan, it is great. For leasure travellers, I would look for a more appealing hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are next to the ground so we do get busy on a match day. We generally only have two games a month so they don't normally impact on the business week.

We are a very popular corporate hotel midweek and are usually full at the weekend with leisure guests so we are a really popular location as you will see from our previous reviews.

People like our location to the Riverside complex and the fact you can walk into the city within about 15 minutes along the side of the river or along King Street which brings you directly into the centre.

Our car park is located at the rear of the property and parking at the front of the hotel is on a first come first served basis as spaces are limited however there is ample parking at the rear for all of our guests. As you have seen there is no further space to extend the front car park so I can't help you on that one I'm afraid.

All of the team are great and work really hard to ensure all of our guests have a stay to remember so thank you for mentioning them and the standard of the cleanliness in the rooms it's much appreciated by us all.

I hope the car parking does not put you off returning to our hotel and thanks again for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff really made this hotel, every member of staff I met was friendly and polite, many other places could learn a lot about customer service from the excellent staff here.
Room was lovely and clean.
Breakfast delicious and loads of choice, love the 'kids eat free' deal.
Quieter than expected as a match taking place at Carrow Road.
Really pleasently surprised, definately going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your review about our hotel. All of the team are delighted that you found them all to be so friendly and polite, we pride ourselves on the fact that we do get great customer feedback regarding the team on a regular basis and it is well deserved because each and everyone of us go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a stay to remember.

Our housekeeping team work really hard to ensure that every room looks as good as it was the day we opened over 5 years ago so I'm really pleased you've mentioned how clean and tidy everything was. Karen and the team are chuffed to get a personal mention in your review.

Breakfast is a regular winner here and most of our reviews mention how good it is and how much choice there is making it great value for money.

We all really appreciate you taking the time to tell us your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,181 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £62 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing