We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I love this hotel with regard to the standard of rooms. They are beautifully clean and the quietest I have found in a hotel. Stayed to see a football match, excellent view, not much more expensive than buying tickets and much warmer!
Staff polite.
Breakfast however was the only letdown. Dining room could be larger, however my son loves sausages and was looking forward to a cooked breakfast so much until I cut into them and saw how pink they were inside we didn't risk eating them.
Will definitely go back to hotel just avoid breakfast!

Room Tip: Guess they must have some soundproofing as I have never been in such a quiet hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location, with the City and Riverside complex a short walk away. Our housekeeping team has just been nationally rewarded for their hard work for room cleanliness and maintenance compliance and your comments will further enhance their good reputation. I am sorry to read the comment about your breakfast but please note that the food and beverage teams will use your comments to improve the service. We are proud of our 5 star food hygiene certification and please be rest assured that you can always trust that we follow the highest compliance standards in all food preparation. Thank you again for the good feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Quinton O’Shea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hi stayed here in 9th 10th April - I stayed here when it first opened and have been back a few times over the years but I have noted that it is now going down hill fast. Firstly staff are fine no problems with them and very helpful so you dont like to be too critical of things however the mangagment should be taken to task on how they have let this place slide down the rankings.

The rooms are very bare and not welcoming at all, it is virtually impossible to watch the TV's as they have aged very badly with the contrast being so bad you cannot see anything if it is a scene that is not in daylight on the screen. When I asked to get this looked at they could do nothing about it as the controls are locked down and all other rooms are the same, I was then moved to a suite which again was very bare but as they are not used very often the TV was ok

The gym is very small and two people fill it there are no other facillities.

This could be a very good hotel if the room decor fittings and TV's were updated

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsdjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Sirs, thank you for writing your comments. We always welcome any comments as part of our dedication to improve service as a brand. I feel sorry that in this instance you did not find our modern hotel to your liking. We have just moved up to fourth position on the Trip Advisor rankings after years of positive feedback. Our rooms have had been designed with a strong contemporary feel as most of our guests rate this as one of our best assets. In addition, the housekeeping team, voted team of the year, ensures all rooms meet the highest standards of cleanliness and maintenance. The televisions in our bedrooms are a new generation of LCD HD quality products. The Mini Gym provides adequate space to house a treadmill, x-trainer, step climber and a rowing machine. There is also a warm up space and a weights area. You may also request to use the Riverside Leisure complex which is a 4 minute walk away from the front entrance of the Hotel. This is a complimentary service facility that also provides our guests with a swimming pool. Kindest regards, Quinton O’Shea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel as a short break to have a look around the City of Norwich.
The hotel is situated about 600 yards from the Main railway station and ideal base to tour Norwich and surrounding countryside.
The hotel is a middle of the range Holiday Inn. The ICH group also run the Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn Express brands.
The hotel itself is modern and clean. The Staff are courteous and professional and really help to make it a pleasurable stay.
We stayed in the main Suite which has a separate living room and is very spacious.
The restaurant offers a good varied menu and the food is of a good quality and well presented.
Breakfast is served on a buffet basis and has a very good range of hot and cold selections.
But just one note of caution. The hotel is situated right next to Norwich City football ground. On Match days the room rates can treble. Also there are only 57 car parking spaces available (charged at £5.95 per night) On match days you will find it near impossible to park. So make sure you check if Norwich are playing at home before you book.
To be honest I cannot fault this hotel. I think when you come to rate a hotel you have to take into consideration the class of hotel it’s in. You can’t compare it to the Savoy as you are simply not paying the same to stay here.
We would certainly happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review following your recent stay with us. The city walk is convenient and is only 20 minutes stroll away. I always recommended a walk along the riverside as it is a lovely way to start your visit to our great city.
Our rooms are of a contemporary design and have special features like Italian bath fittings and modern LCD TV. Our breakfast meets most guest requirements with over 75 choices on the buffet each morning. Our reservation team will always inform our guest of any mayor events at our property and would always make sure the guest is happy with this before continuing with the reservation.
Thanks for complimenting the staff’s professional attitude. We may not be the Savoy but we think we can match them in service standard.
So thank you once again for your latest review and I hope we exceed your expectations on your next visit with us. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Karen hk well done a spotless room. James maintainence v pleasant man, showed us how to get the shower to work, red button tech! James has a charming way of dealing with customers, takes great care and is interested in people. He also opens up and shares his enthusiasms. A good worker who should be encouraged and given more responsibility.

Room Tip: James will help with luggage and is v kind to disabled people
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetEMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. I have relayed back your positive comments to James and Karen. These comments are pleasing for both Karen and James as they are back of house team members. We invest in significant time in staff training and development work with all departments. It is clear from your positive comments that this is working. We are looking forward to greeting you back. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is on the grounds of Norwich City football club. It is the club who have imposed a rule that there should not be 3 adults in a room. Therefore the charge for the 3rd adult is £100!!! We booked 2 rooms and saved £50. The room didn't overlook the pitch, and it wasn't a match day! It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was not as good as some Holiday Inns I've stayed in. Menu stated fried eggs and tomatoes as standard - neither were on the buffet. Had an evening bar meal the night before. Tasty and large portions, though we didn't receive the extras we ordered. Not a problem getting them deducted from the bill though.

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you, book an extra room rather than pay the ridiculous 3rd person fee.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felstedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive and constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. The booking policy is a Holiday Inn standard and all we ask is that the guest clearly state in advance how many persons will be lodging in each room so we can advise of the room set-up. Our breakfast meets most guest requirements with over 75 choices on the buffet each morning with fried, poached eggs and omelettes freshly prepared on request. I am glad that our evening meal was to your satisfaction. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed here during a business trip in April 2013 and found it to be wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff were accomodating and friendly, the breakfast was great, the location was perfect for me (10 mins from the railway station, <10 mins from my work location).

The only downside is that, for the price, I would have expected free internet in the bedroom. It is available via ethernet cable, at a cost, but there didn't seem to be any WiFi. WiFi is available in the lounge/reception area which is perfectly OK.

Would definitely stay here again - in fact I fully intend to return for a family weekend. Norwich is a beautiful city, especially the older parts and the river walk. Someone told me that Norwich was known for having 4 cathedrals (one for every season), 52 churches (one for every week) and 365 pubs (one for every day). Sounds like a very good reason to go back.

Room Tip: I gather that the rooms on the back of the hotel overlook the pitch at Carrow Road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameswameek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

A 10 minute walk from the train station, and a 30 minute walk to the city centre. Pleasantly decorated, clean rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast range could be improved. A good base to explore the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z0rcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Good day sirs. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Yes we are very fortunate to have a key location near the City and Riverside entertainment centre and Norwich City Football Club. I am also pleased to hear that our staff are being recognized for their attitude towards friendly service. Your comments about our breakfast selection has been discussed with the service team as part of our commitment to service improvement. Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £62 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing