We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Nearby Hotels
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$435
US$391
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
493
402
122
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
402
122
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfootball pitchcarrow roadnorwich citypitch viewfootball fansmatch dayspitch sidefootball clubtwo double bedsfootball matchretail parkexecutive roomcar parkreception staffmodern hotelper nighttrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The receptionist on arrival was friendly and efficient. The hotel was bright and cheerful and our room on the 6th floor was also bright, well maintained and clean. 15-20 minute walk to city. 5 minutes to Morrisons and the Riverside Leisure complex. Parking was £4.95 a night extra a hundred yards away in the football club car park. Some people just parked on the double yellow lines at the front of the hotel or in the disabled bays. Don't know if they paid or got challenged.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Room wasn't bad but most of the staff were quite unfriendly except a sweet student who was in training. That was quite a let down as the atmosphere is often made by good staff.

Breakfast was very limited, tiny selection, though it was a nice touch to have smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast, which could be ordered.

However parking was easy and that does help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSTR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are proud of our room standards as well as our staff service which is why I am disappointed that you did not experience this upon this rare occasion. We are on course to achieve our highest customer satisfaction score this month, based on an IHG guest survey tool. However, I have spoken to all of our staff in regards to your comments in order to ensure our excellent level of customer service is our first priority to all of our guests. The breakfast menu that you mentioned has the IHG 75 choice buffet available to our guests. I am sorry to hear your comment. Thank you again for your time and I trust we may welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Quinton O’Shea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I love this hotel with regard to the standard of rooms. They are beautifully clean and the quietest I have found in a hotel. Stayed to see a football match, excellent view, not much more expensive than buying tickets and much warmer!
Staff polite.
Breakfast however was the only letdown. Dining room could be larger, however my son loves sausages and was looking forward to a cooked breakfast so much until I cut into them and saw how pink they were inside we didn't risk eating them.
Will definitely go back to hotel just avoid breakfast!

Room Tip: Guess they must have some soundproofing as I have never been in such a quiet hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location, with the City and Riverside complex a short walk away. Our housekeeping team has just been nationally rewarded for their hard work for room cleanliness and maintenance compliance and your comments will further enhance their good reputation. I am sorry to read the comment about your breakfast but please note that the food and beverage teams will use your comments to improve the service. We are proud of our 5 star food hygiene certification and please be rest assured that you can always trust that we follow the highest compliance standards in all food preparation. Thank you again for the good feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Quinton O’Shea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hi stayed here in 9th 10th April - I stayed here when it first opened and have been back a few times over the years but I have noted that it is now going down hill fast. Firstly staff are fine no problems with them and very helpful so you dont like to be too critical of things however the mangagment should be taken to task on how they have let this place slide down the rankings.

The rooms are very bare and not welcoming at all, it is virtually impossible to watch the TV's as they have aged very badly with the contrast being so bad you cannot see anything if it is a scene that is not in daylight on the screen. When I asked to get this looked at they could do nothing about it as the controls are locked down and all other rooms are the same, I was then moved to a suite which again was very bare but as they are not used very often the TV was ok

The gym is very small and two people fill it there are no other facillities.

This could be a very good hotel if the room decor fittings and TV's were updated

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsdjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Dear Sirs, thank you for writing your comments. We always welcome any comments as part of our dedication to improve service as a brand. I feel sorry that in this instance you did not find our modern hotel to your liking. We have just moved up to fourth position on the Trip Advisor rankings after years of positive feedback. Our rooms have had been designed with a strong contemporary feel as most of our guests rate this as one of our best assets. In addition, the housekeeping team, voted team of the year, ensures all rooms meet the highest standards of cleanliness and maintenance. The televisions in our bedrooms are a new generation of LCD HD quality products. The Mini Gym provides adequate space to house a treadmill, x-trainer, step climber and a rowing machine. There is also a warm up space and a weights area. You may also request to use the Riverside Leisure complex which is a 4 minute walk away from the front entrance of the Hotel. This is a complimentary service facility that also provides our guests with a swimming pool. Kindest regards, Quinton O’Shea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel as a short break to have a look around the City of Norwich.
The hotel is situated about 600 yards from the Main railway station and ideal base to tour Norwich and surrounding countryside.
The hotel is a middle of the range Holiday Inn. The ICH group also run the Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn Express brands.
The hotel itself is modern and clean. The Staff are courteous and professional and really help to make it a pleasurable stay.
We stayed in the main Suite which has a separate living room and is very spacious.
The restaurant offers a good varied menu and the food is of a good quality and well presented.
Breakfast is served on a buffet basis and has a very good range of hot and cold selections.
But just one note of caution. The hotel is situated right next to Norwich City football ground. On Match days the room rates can treble. Also there are only 57 car parking spaces available (charged at £5.95 per night) On match days you will find it near impossible to park. So make sure you check if Norwich are playing at home before you book.
To be honest I cannot fault this hotel. I think when you come to rate a hotel you have to take into consideration the class of hotel it’s in. You can’t compare it to the Savoy as you are simply not paying the same to stay here.
We would certainly happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review following your recent stay with us. The city walk is convenient and is only 20 minutes stroll away. I always recommended a walk along the riverside as it is a lovely way to start your visit to our great city.
Our rooms are of a contemporary design and have special features like Italian bath fittings and modern LCD TV. Our breakfast meets most guest requirements with over 75 choices on the buffet each morning. Our reservation team will always inform our guest of any mayor events at our property and would always make sure the guest is happy with this before continuing with the reservation.
Thanks for complimenting the staff’s professional attitude. We may not be the Savoy but we think we can match them in service standard.
So thank you once again for your latest review and I hope we exceed your expectations on your next visit with us. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews