We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break in Norwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We booked this pretty late - week before and were very pleased with the price. We ended up with 2 double beds and the room was still spacious. We could see a corner of the football grounds which was nice. Parking was cheap and convenient with the staff being very helpful when we couldn't get a space on the last night. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your recommendation and positive comments. Our rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and finished to the highest standards. We are very fortunate to have such good car park spacing available considering our proximity to the city. I have also conveyed your positive comments to the staff and look forward to greeting you back. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed overnight, nice hotel overall with a good breakfast.

The hotel is by Carrow Road Football Ground so is quite some way from the city centre.

Gripes: 1: the shower divider makes it awkward to dry and get out safely 2: in the morning on my second shower the gel ran out very frustrating!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Kevinlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you enjoyed our breakfast selections. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your in-room bathroom and any inconvenience you may have experienced when the gel ran out. Rest assured that your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Norwich, England.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Located within 15 minutes walk of Norwich's historic city centre this hotel offers excellent value for money for business trips or a weekend break. The hotel is modern and clean with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are a generous size, well furnished and equipped. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk staff for short-cut directions to the city centre and check out the nearby Rivers...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourismplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. The Holiday Inn Norwich City is a short walk away from the Riverside entertainment complex and city centre. I have relayed your positive comments to our staff. We pride ourselves on our friendliness and room condition and will always use these comments as a benchmark to drive our service culture. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Quinton O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The hotel staff are helpful, pleasant and polite. The hotel is in the centre of Norwich next to Norwich city football ground.

At breakfast there is a large selection of hot and cold food available for you to help yourself - all freshly made.

The rooms are modern and clean and I recommend this hotel if you are staying in Norwich.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Yes we are very fortunate to have a key location near the City and Riverside entertainment centre and Norwich City Football Club. I am also pleased to hear that our staff is being recognized for their attitude towards friendly service. I am really pleased to hear positive comments regarding our breakfast offering as we understand the importance of starting the day on a good note. Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Having booked in advance we had our requests fulfilled High floor Executive room fortunately for me there was NO football on as our room overlooked the pitch and my husband would not have moved for 90 minutes on the Saturday.... (although he has taken note of the number for future reference ...) The receptionist was very friendly and polite both on arrival and on departure.
The room was usual standard good quality - although the mattress was a bit uncomfortable -we did comment on this on our departure when we were asked if everything was ok and the receptionist made a note of it.
The staff in the bar were very friendly and eager to please, the restaurant menu was very enjoyable and reasonable in price. The staff were very friendly well done Kareem and the 2 girls who worked with him, were very pleasant and professional with their service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not-so-Oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your patronage and positive comments. I assume that your Husband is a football fan and watching a premiership match from one of our pitch windows is highly recommended . It is very rewarding for the staff to receive such good remarks after the effort and work done in service training and attitude. I am glad the restaurant and bar service is consistent with other guest positive feedback. We have a very strict policy on mattress turning and replacement and rest assured that we have investigated your comments about the mattress resolved accordingly. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here last week to watch Norwich v Reading I try to go to Norwich every couple of years (why dont I support a closer team to Somerset). I thought about booking one of the rooms facing the pitch. Shame the bar does not face the pitch

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear regred,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you chose our location for your travel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the hotel facilities. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The receptionist on arrival was friendly and efficient. The hotel was bright and cheerful and our room on the 6th floor was also bright, well maintained and clean. 15-20 minute walk to city. 5 minutes to Morrisons and the Riverside Leisure complex. Parking was £4.95 a night extra a hundred yards away in the football club car park. Some people just parked on the double yellow lines at the front of the hotel or in the disabled bays. Don't know if they paid or got challenged.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £62 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing