We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn, Norwich. Firstly, if you enjoy football this might be the hotel for use due to its proximity to the Norwich FC ground. We stayed on a non-match weekend and therefore cannot comment on any noise from the crowds on match days.

On our arrival the reception staff were very friendly and polite and remained so throughout our stay.
The room (an Executive double) was very comfortable and clean. My only minor gripe was that the carpet had some random stains so could do with being replaced to maintain the 'executive' style of the room.
We ate our breakfast at the hotel on both days and the food was great as was the welcome from the restaurant staff.

On our arrival, a reception for a wedding was taking place and I was a little concerned that the noise might travel, but I needn't have worried as, once we left the ground floor, we were unable to hear any noise from the party.

We chose the hotel for its proximity to the town centre and it couldn't have been better for us. We were within 5 minutes stroll of restaurants and the cinema. We were also within an easy 15 minute walk of the city centre shops and attractions (such as the castle).

All in all we had a great weekend and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    353
    106
    23
    12
See reviews for
160
316
55
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We occupied a family room for two nights, visiting relatives in the area.

The hotel is modern and well furnished. The rooms and public areas are clean.

The family room (comprising two double beds) is just a little on the small side for a family (I think its just a standard double, with and extra bed), and the two double beds are not that wide.

But the room is a pleasant place to be, well furnished, clean, with a bath and shower above the bath that works well, and good air conditioning.

The breakfast is also pretty good, with a very wide choice, and also with some cooked to order items included in the B&B rate.

One minor irritation was that every time we wanted reception (eg check in/out etc, there was a queue - more reception staff would have helped here. Another minor irritation is the car parking charge - £4.95 per night.

But on the whole its a good place to be and in a good location for local shopts / restaurants as well as for the football club.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarquiniusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank-you so much for such a great review !!
I am so pleased you had such a great stay. I have a great team here at the Holiday Inn Norwich City, and we all work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay.
I was particularly pleased you enjoyed breakfast. I am sorry you had a slow check out and I already informed the reception team about your comment. Our car parking is managed on our behalf and we have negotiated the rate to a very reasonable £4.95 24 hour rate.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here with my family on way back from holiday in Norfolk. The hotel was very smart everywhere and the room was comfortable, clean and modern. The breakfast was above average with the option to order items such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.
We had a pleasant meal in the evening. The biggest plus of this hotel is, however, the staff. Every member of staff we encountered was pleasant and professional and the servers at our meal were really helpful and charming. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirehousewife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location, with the City and Riverside complex a short walk away. Thanks for complimenting the staff’s professional attitude and I have conveyed your message to them .It is very rewarding for the staff to receive such good remarks after the effort and work done in service training and attitude. I am glad the restaurant service is consistent with other guest positive feedback deserve. We also appreciate your comments in regards to the room’s cleanliness and standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked in here very late at night as we were visiting a sick relative at Norwich and Norfolk hospital, so this wasnt exactly a planned stay that we reflect on with any joy - however - the hotel was good. Modern, clean, comfortable beds, quiet for sleeping (we didnt arrive until 1am). Breakfast was good - buffet style with plenty of choice, decent coffee etc etc. We parked at adjoining football ground car park and although it stated this was at a cost, we werent charged. For convinience and standard of comfort etc I would reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing such positive comments in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. I trust your relative you visited is well. Our rooms have been designed to be contemporary and includes Italian fitted bathroom fittings to the highest quality for our brand Thank you for your comments on breakfast. We have the 75 item buffet breakfast available each morning as standard and your positive comments reflect the good breakfast standard we pride ourselves on.Thank you again for your review and trust we can welcome you and your dad back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I do like this hotel. The staff are always helpful and you get the feeling that they really are paying attention to you. Stayed 3 nights last time and ate in on the first and last. A creature of habit, I waved away the menu on the last evening and both Nimrit and Kelly were able to confirm what my order would be before I could even open my mouth! Brilliant!

Great location close to the Riverside area which has a number of restaurants and bars (plus cinema) and easily walkable to the centre (20-30 mins).

Always look forward to my stays in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with odd numbers ending either 1, 3, 5 or 7 will give you the best pitch views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We would like to thank you for your patronage and support and thank you for this positive review. Yes we are a short hop skip and jump away from the Riverside Centre and 20 minutes to City Centre. I have related your positive comment regarding the staffs friendly and helpful attitude to them. The staff appreciate your comments and makes all our investment in training and guest satisfaction recognition so worthwhile. We will continue to invest and maintain our standards are looking forward to greeting you back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It is not often that you are so warmly welcomed by staff but at Holiday Inn, Norwich City, the staff are all brilliant. As I am often away, it is great to be so welcomed by staff. In particular, Aleesha has a very friendly and warm approach and is very attentive. Many thanks to them all.

One thing I would like though is the "sleep" timer to work on the TV. I find trying to get to sleep in a hotel sometimes difficult due to different noises from home so usually set sleep timer on TV but this doesn't work here. Please can you get this to work as it would save me waking up at 3 am with TV still on.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JShadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn over the weekend of the Jehovah's Witnesses District convention. Although a busy weekend, we found the staff to be at all times, courteous and friendly, and always willing to help. This, together with the high standard of accommodation - which in our case had to facilitate wheelchair accessible amenities - made for a most relaxing and pleasant stay. Especially would we like to make mention of our waitress, Aleesha, who served us for a number of excellent meals in the hotel restaurant. She was most helpful and charming. She showed initiative in catering to our needs and her polite yet friendly approach made for a most enjoyable meal. We returned home feeling thoroughly refreshed and relaxed, which must be the highest recommendation for the Holiday Inn, Norwich. We look forward to returning in the future.

The Walker family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. Yes we had a very busy weekend and I am pleased to hear that the staff has given excellent service. We are very aware of our guest requirements and have 8 accessible rooms available with ample parking at the front of the hotel. I have communicated your positive comments to Aleesha and as a team we are very happy to know that one of our newest recruits has been recognised for her good service. Thank you again for the praise and we will commit ourselves to consistently deliver the service you have so kindly committed on. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing