We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good location close to the station, restaurants and cinema. Good size room with two comfortable double beds. Shower good but would benefit from increased water pressure. Overlooked road but quiet when (really dirty) window closed. Room very clean. Parking was £4.95 per night and breakfast £9.95 each with vouchers bought from reception. Good buffet breakfast and nice service throughout hotel. Irritating that there is no wi-fi in the rooms. Would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location, with the City and Riverside complex a short walk away. I am glad the restaurant and bar service is consistent with other guest positive feedback deserve. We also appreciate your comments in regards to the room’s cleanliness and standards. The rooms have had been designed with a strong contemporary feel as most of our guests rate this as one of our best assets. In addition, the housekeeping team, voted team of the year, ensures all rooms meet the highest standards of cleanliness and maintenance. I have noted your comments about the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms but please note we offer free Wi-Fi in all our public areas including the bar and restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    360
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
320
56
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went to Norwich for the weekend not really having an idea of what to expect. The hotel was lovely with good rooms and very pleasant staff. The location is ideal for a 15 minute walk in to histroic old Norwich with its vast array of shops and history to look at. The breakfast was good and hearty and we had the added bonus of having a view of the pitch which we made full use of to watch the home game. I would certainly recommend this and would consider a return visit to the city and this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stayed here whilst visiting family in Norwich for the weekend, which included a match at Carrow Road (NCFC v Panathinaikos). We booked on line and got what we felt was a good rate. We bought tickets to the match separately.

We had a family room facing the pitch (you cannot see the whole of the pitch from the room) which was reasonably comfortable although the standard double bed was a bit on the small side.

It was annoying that we could not open a window as despite the efficient air con the room got stuffy. You cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel at all and the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous at all times.

The inclusive full breakfast was excellent although we had to queue for a little while on one of the days, but no problem.

The hotel has a deal with a nearby leisure club that allowed us to use the pool and other facilities free of charge.

The Wifi was not working apart from the ground floor.

Parking was alongside the hotel and was very busy, we struggled to find a space when we returned in the evening. The hotel was quiet at night with no disturbance from outside.

All in all a fair hotel but absolutely nothing to get excited about apart from its location in the football ground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear NickAFarnham,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and our staff.

We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the air conditioning, internet access and parking arrangement. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

So I have stayed at ths hotel a number of times now on business and it does what it needs to do. The rooms are a good size and beds are confrtable. Any hic-ups (such as the hair dryer not working) was quickly sorted after a call to reception.
Breakfast is of a high standard.
Only comment would be that the shower could do with a bit more pressure.

Room Tip: You can get rooms with a pitchside view, but all the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Our rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and finished to the highest standards. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we focus on delivering this consistently each morning. I have noted your comments about water pressure to our maintenance team and thank you for helping us improve our service. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn, Norwich. Firstly, if you enjoy football this might be the hotel for use due to its proximity to the Norwich FC ground. We stayed on a non-match weekend and therefore cannot comment on any noise from the crowds on match days.

On our arrival the reception staff were very friendly and polite and remained so throughout our stay.
The room (an Executive double) was very comfortable and clean. My only minor gripe was that the carpet had some random stains so could do with being replaced to maintain the 'executive' style of the room.
We ate our breakfast at the hotel on both days and the food was great as was the welcome from the restaurant staff.

On our arrival, a reception for a wedding was taking place and I was a little concerned that the noise might travel, but I needn't have worried as, once we left the ground floor, we were unable to hear any noise from the party.

We chose the hotel for its proximity to the town centre and it couldn't have been better for us. We were within 5 minutes stroll of restaurants and the cinema. We were also within an easy 15 minute walk of the city centre shops and attractions (such as the castle).

All in all we had a great weekend and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We occupied a family room for two nights, visiting relatives in the area.

The hotel is modern and well furnished. The rooms and public areas are clean.

The family room (comprising two double beds) is just a little on the small side for a family (I think its just a standard double, with and extra bed), and the two double beds are not that wide.

But the room is a pleasant place to be, well furnished, clean, with a bath and shower above the bath that works well, and good air conditioning.

The breakfast is also pretty good, with a very wide choice, and also with some cooked to order items included in the B&B rate.

One minor irritation was that every time we wanted reception (eg check in/out etc, there was a queue - more reception staff would have helped here. Another minor irritation is the car parking charge - £4.95 per night.

But on the whole its a good place to be and in a good location for local shopts / restaurants as well as for the football club.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarquiniusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank-you so much for such a great review !!
I am so pleased you had such a great stay. I have a great team here at the Holiday Inn Norwich City, and we all work hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay.
I was particularly pleased you enjoyed breakfast. I am sorry you had a slow check out and I already informed the reception team about your comment. Our car parking is managed on our behalf and we have negotiated the rate to a very reasonable £4.95 24 hour rate.
We hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Quinton O’Shea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here with my family on way back from holiday in Norfolk. The hotel was very smart everywhere and the room was comfortable, clean and modern. The breakfast was above average with the option to order items such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.
We had a pleasant meal in the evening. The biggest plus of this hotel is, however, the staff. Every member of staff we encountered was pleasant and professional and the servers at our meal were really helpful and charming. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirehousewife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton O, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Norwich City. We are very fortunate to be situated in such a great location, with the City and Riverside complex a short walk away. Thanks for complimenting the staff’s professional attitude and I have conveyed your message to them .It is very rewarding for the staff to receive such good remarks after the effort and work done in service training and attitude. I am glad the restaurant service is consistent with other guest positive feedback deserve. We also appreciate your comments in regards to the room’s cleanliness and standards. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing