We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night , hotel was in great location 2 mins from rail station and only 5 mins from centre of town . We were giving a stadium view room but unfortunately there was no game on but great view all the same . Room and bathroom was spotless , really friendly and pleasant staff . Had buffet breakfast on the Sunday morning was fresh and tasty no complaints . For the money I paid hotel and breakfast great value . No wifi in room even tho I am an ihg elite card but not a major problem as free wifi in lobby . Would highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for stadium view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eildon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear eildon100,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. Its great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our excellent breakfast offering, we always do utmost to please everybody and it seems we've done a great job on this occasion.

The rooms and bathrooms are of great size and are modern and contemporary, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the excellent pitch view room. Please do call us direct to book a pitch view room for your future stay.

You will be pleased to hear that since your visit we have installed fibre optic and high speed wireless internet is now accessible throughout the hotel.

I trust you get the opportunity to return to us again in the future in the meantime thank you again for taking the time to tell us how your stay went, I and the rest of the team really appreciate it.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

A clean and modern appearance doesn't really make up for poor service, horrible beer and second rate food. After 4 separate visits I'm convinced that the problems I've experienced are endemic. The staff are polite enough when you can pin them down, but they seem over worked and just can't give satisfactory attention. 20 minutes to be seated in a near empty restaurant, 40 minutes for a cold starter, food that tasted like my daughter cooked it, missing towels, broken sleep due to early morning deliveries of what must have been very large beer barrels, all really basic stuff. I'm fortunate - I travel on business, but the next time I'm in Norwich I'll be trying somewhere else

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank YorkJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is a real shame that you have experienced problems during your stay. I do hope you raised your concerns with the team members so they would have been able to rectify this for you. We also have a strong full team in place where most members have worked at the premises since the day the doors opened and take pride in their work and as you mentioned they are very polite. We do not allow any deliveries before 9am and will refuse them if they arrive before this time. I do hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Needed to stay in Norwich as celebrating a birthday with Family. Clean and modern hotel, the plus of central location and really good value. Rooms very spacious and especially nice bathrooms.

All in all really worth a visit if you are looking for a friendly, modern and central hotel with excellent facilities. Nice lobby and plentiful buffet breakfast ( didn't have evening meal).

Try it, sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: They have rooms that over look the football pitch. Busy hotel on match days.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear shaunvl,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and of course thank you for recognising and highlighting some key element of our modern and contemporary hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our pitch view rooms which can certainly be booked direct with the hotel.

I do trust we get opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our fourth stay here, third pitch view (first two unexpected) but first football match experience.

As this was match day, it was extremely busy. Checking-in wasn't as good as the previous stays though.

The room was standard but clean. It had all the basics but included the Sky Sports package which was good.

Of course, the most important thing was the view of the ground. We were on the first floor and saw between 90-95% of the pitch. The only obstruction was a floodlight/roof support on the Barclay stand.

We opened the window to let in the atmosphere and it was great as the hotel is opposite the away end but also next to the home support.

When you take into account the cost of two match tickets, it makes a stay at Holiday Inn Norwich City very good value.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is good to hear that you have returned to us and to receive one of our fantastic pitch view rooms. Match days are extremely busy, but very unique atmosphere. Our full four corner pitch view rooms are highly recommended on a match day as you can watch the game from the comfort of your bedroom. We also offer a selection of other room types from standard twin/doubles, Executive rooms if you would like a little bit of luxury, and our suites, which feature a separate lounge area. It is always worth calling the hotel direct to see what special offers are available for the different room types. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back a 5th time.

Yours sincerely

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arrived and impressed by the hotel smart and clean the rooms were very clean and a good size. There was a view of the pitch as well. The bed and the furiture were comfortable and good size bathroom.
Very good to come into when its cold and wet outside. Staff were friendly and breakfasts had sokme good selections to choose from.
All made for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Carpark at rear of hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We work hard on maintaining the highest standard in our bedrooms and it is always good to get positive feedback. We have over 30 bedrooms which have a full four corner pitch view, which can be booked directly with the hotel, meaning you can watch a premiership game from the comfort of your bedroom. It also means you can join in with the atmosphere of the football by having one of our hugely popular Match Day carveries. We also offer Executive rooms and suites which include many extras from dressing gowns, chocolate, bottled water and much more. The team at the hotel has been working together pretty much since the doors opened so they have fantastic knowledge of the best pitch views and much more. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Firstly I am Holiday Inn / IHG regular and spend way too much time in their hotels, this is a newish hotel when compared to others that I have stayed in. The hotel is built in to the football club, a short taxi ride or 5 minute walk from the station. Staff are exceptionally friendly and will go out of their way to help.

For such a new build there are a few things that let the hotel down:
1. Maintenance - there were a few examples whereby poor maintenance practice were visible such as bathroom sealant going mouldy, TV not working very well, curtains hanging incorrectly etc. all relatively minor but indicate a lack of attention to detail
2. No in room wifi - there is a WLAN cable in the room but this is restrictive, it is 2014 so unsure why there is no wifi in guest rooms! There is wifi in the lobby / bar area.
3. Room keys continually re-set despite staying over multiple evenings which is just a hassle
4. TV - the TV system is old, outdated with the strangest range of channels.

These issues are relatively minor in the grand scheme of things but when staying in a hotel for an extended period they become increasing frustrating as this hotel has so much potential!!

The breakfast is very good, with a selection of hot and cold dishes. The homemade potato rosti's are fantastic.

I would recommend this hotel to others but hope that the hotel owners read my review as they have the potential two to make this property excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get pitch view! Some 6th floor rooms have noise from the roof air com units.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieladinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel, and by the sound of it you stay in many hotels. The hotel’s location is an asset to the hotel. Many of our rooms have a full four corner pitch view, which means you can watch a premiership game from your bedroom. Like you mentioned we are just a short taxi ride away from the station, and there are always black cabs available outside the front of the station. Or we are just a short walk away and you can actually see the hotel as you come into the station.

I have passed on your concerns with regards to maintenance to the team member who will investigate. WI FI is currently in the process of being fitted into the hotel, which will be fantastic for all our guests.

Our buffet breakfast has so much choice and caters for every taste so I am glad you enjoyed this, as it is the most important meal of the day.

I have of course taken all your concerns on board, and would like to assure you that we are constantly adjusting and improving to ensure we maintain the highest standard.

I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is the best value Holiday Inn I've stayed in. It's built into the infrastructure of Norwich City FC and some of the rooms overlook the pitch, but you don't have to be there for football to appreciate this hotel.

We stayed on a Friday evening and so benefitted from a discounted prepaid rate and everything about the hotel was excellent. A large room with two double beds, nicely designed and equipped bathroom, but above all the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, many of whom have been at the hotel for several years and clearly take pride in their hotel.

The hotel is about a mile from the city centre but is much closer to Norwich's Riverside retail and entertainment development. It's therefore well placed whatever the purpose of your visit.

One observation: breakfast didn't quite match the hotel's quality elsewhere but I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB27952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really do have a unique location and over 30 of our rooms have a full four corner pitch view, which you can book directly with the hotel, meaning you can watch home football games from the comfort of your bedroom.
As you mentioned, the hotel is more than just its location, as the property is only seven years old so all the bedrooms are still of the highest standard, and well equipped. We plenty of different room types available including standards, Executives and suites.
Across the road in the Riverside retail park is the leisure centre where we provide free access for all the family in the swimming pool, which is very popular.
It is a shame that you found the breakfast quality did not match the hotel’s quality. We continually change and improve our breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day, we offer a full buffet breakfast, plus a specials menu but we always welcome feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lucy Rose
Operations Manager
Holiday Inn Norwich City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £62 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing