We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Clean, fresh, modern.
Friendly smart people on reception and in the bar/breakfast.
Fast attentive well trained organisation.
Well maintained room
Clean bathroom
Good breakfast

Well run location, good parking, can be recommended. I will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neveratrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
That is such a lovely review neveratrest, thank you!

I am thrilled you had such a good stay and you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. I have passed on your kind comments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    360
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
320
56
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice hotel, 10min walking from the center of the city. We had dinner at the hotel. A bit pricy if you compare the dinner to the prices of other places in the neighbourhood where the food is probably more fresh. And I don't know if it's me or not, but I believe no one said that I have to pay for the parking. They just asked my numberplate when I arrived and when I checked out they charged me with 5 pound for the parking. It's not much money or some thing, but I hate it when people try to hide costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Andrei S,

Thank you for overall good feedback following your recent stay. In regards to dinner, all our food is freshly cooked and please be assured that prices are in line with the other comparable quality local restaurants. I am very sorry to hear that you were not informed about the overnight car parking charges; however these are clearly stated on all websites and signs in the hotel reception area.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute deal and we're not guaranteed a double room that we asked for. The staff was friendly on arrival, we were given a twin room but the beds were huge and we only used one of them so that wasn't too bad. The experience was, on the whole, a positive one. Breakfast was not the best I've ever had, they do eggs on request but then the timings don't match the buffet, the scrambled eggs on the buffet were truly awful, the croissants hard, and the do it yourself toaster dreadful. One other rather nasty experience was lying in the very large bath at the end of a day exploring bath and out of the corner of my eye catching under the rim of the toilet which was nasty, crusty and yellow - the bathroom was otherwise very clean but that spoiled it sorry!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Jane P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your visit to the hotel. I am sorry that we did not exceeded your expectations during your stay and must apologise for the poor experience you had at breakfast.

I will be discussing your review with my team to ensure we are always offering the highest standards of guest care. I do hope you will give the hotel another chance and would ask that you contact me directly on hiren.varvadekar@kewgreen.co.uk

Once again my sincere apologies.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 5-night stay in Norwich at the Holiday Inn (Carrow Road). Everything about the hotel was excellent: very clean, well-maintained, stylishly decorated, good location, comfortable bed, very spacious room by British standards, good-sized bathroom, excellent breakfast options, good pub, etc. The staff members set it apart, however. From check-in to check-out, everyone was helpful, professional, and friendly. Travelling alone in a city and country in which I knew absolutely no one, I especially appreciated knowing that anyone at the hotel would offer a friendly face and help me with anything. The restaurant/pub staff was particularly friendly, especially since they seemed to be working very long hours. I'd like to acknowledge Karem specifically, who was friendly, professional, conversational, funny, and simply very nice. I enjoyed our chats and wish him the best. Thank you to everyone at the HI for making my hotel stay so comforting. I've travelled internationally a lot and often stayed in hotels in which the hotel itself is the worst part of the visit. This definitely was not the case at this HI in Norwich. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brinssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you brinssl for a fabulous review!

I really do appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team, I am incredibly lucky to have an amazing team throughout the hotel especially Karem who is an absolute delight.

I am delighted that you so enjoyed our food, and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Absolutely brilliant stay both times we have stayed here. Would recommend. Both times we have lovely rooms with pitch view. The first time we didn't request it but were given on and even though there was no game on it was a lovely sight. This time booked direct online and was offered an upgrade of pitch view which I took because it was my Dad's birthday and he had been ill and in hospital recently so we were allowed to bring him into our room to watch the match. He hasn't seen Norwich play live for years and years. It was lovely to do it for him. Gill on reception helped with this. Good girl :)

The room like last time was very comfortable and good size. Decor contemporary and feels very luxurious. When we went in the room the TV was playing music and the little lights were all left on. Nice welcome.

Bath room lovely and clean with good quality Dove soap and body wash. Good lighting. Deep bath, white towels. Tick :)

No noise from other rooms or corridor outside, even though it was a match day. They have extra security on the door on these days. The reception was buzzing though, extra food tables layed on etc which was nice, all part of the atmosphere.

As Dad has a disabled badge we were able to park in a special bay. As soon as we drove out of it someone else drove straight in, infact they waited ages for us to leave it because we couldn't go anywhere due to the match finishing and road being blocked for a bit. This car did not have anyone in it that was disabled. Only a big head and attitude to boot!

Would stay here again and again. Close to walk along the pretty river and streets into the city centre. Wetherspoons and Morrisons nearby. Lots of other outlets too if you don't want to go into the city and need something.

Parking bit of an issue. Not really wanting to pay £5 per night on top of the hotel bill each night and its not right outside the front of the building. Apart from that bit of bad feeling that you get..... its a brilliant place to stay with super super staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. I am very happy to hear that the service was exemplary and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I am also pleased to read you found your room huge and well appointed. I am sure we will get opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed for two nights for football match. Brilliant stay just a small problem with breakfast on the second day - very busy and needed to queue - there is a warning that this can happen but there was not enough staff to both relay tables and serve tea and coffee or deal with any problems. In fact it was just manic - I observed a table being cleared and relayed whilst a customer was getting his breakfast from the buffet - good job nobody had been seated at his table before he came back. I think they need to sort this problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear albion,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was brilliant apart for the breakfast. I have of course taken all your concerns on board, and would like to assure you that we are constantly adjusting and improving to ensure we maintain the highest standard.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent location. Well connected with the city. Just beside the Norwich stadium. The view from the room is like seeing the match from the box. Employees are very helpful & professional. Wants to stay every time whenever will be in Norwich.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ankan999,

Thank you so much for your recent 5 star review! I will certainly share your comments with the team. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our fabulous pitch view rooms, please let us know this next time you stay so we can ensure we allocate these rooms to you on each visit.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing