We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, handy for train”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Definitely one of the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in. Friendly and helpful reception, decent bar area showing Sky Sports, my exec room on 6th floor was large with comfy bed and good shower, and I had a great view out over the football pitch. Less than 10 minutes walk to the train station, but a bit of a longer walk into the city centre itself.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank manfromthemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Manfromthemeadow

I was so pleased to hear that you rate the hotel and the staff so highly. Our reviews really do mean a lot to us so thank you for this.

Our Executive Rooms are great and being on the top floor do have some great views. The added extras such as bathrobes, mineral water, chocolate and I-Pod dock make them great value too. Should you stay again, please be sure to contact us direct and we can guarantee you the best price.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ok, so this might be getting boring for some readers. I don't review this hotel every trip but it's been a while, the staff have changed and I'm close to getting another trip adviser badge!!

The check in was smooth, they recognise platinum members, an upgrade was offered and the room was spotless.

The location is very central. 5mins walk from the Riverside area with its restaurants, bars and cinema.

Everything you'd hope (and expect) from a Holiday Inn. But what keeps me coming back (and there are cheaper local alternatives) is the quality of the staff.

This week, I've primarily been looked after by Tatjana, Noemi and Vicktoria. (And, although they are from Germany, Hungary and Lithuania, their English is excellent - heck, they even understand a Scottish accent!!!).

The quality of the team at Carrow Road is just fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Orders are taken and food served very quickly.

As long as Holiday Inn keep up the standard of staff, I'll keep coming back. (Again, apologies if this review bores some readers)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Tommy K

We never get bored of receiving a great review! The team always aim to provide a great experience and I was so pleased to hear that it’s our staff that keep you coming back to us. We appreciate that working away from home can be difficult, so its great to hear that the team consistently make you feel welcome. Tatjana, Noemi and Viktoria are particularly pleased to get a personal mention.

It’s great that you appreciate your Platinum recognition -we always try and offer our most frequent guests a little something extra.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* star review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We book this hotel for a Sunday night for the proximaty to the station and the Waterfront venue which we were attending a Machine Head gig. It is a easy walk from the station took us about 10 mins along a flat area. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was on the 5th floor was big enough for 2 people comfy queen sized beds. The room was clean and tidy. The free sky sports channels was a nice surprise. The hotel is part of Norwich Cities football stadium and we worked out if you booked room 501 you would have great view of the pitch.
The AC worked very well and was quiet it was the first time I have been able to sleep with it running. Breakfast had a great choice and was included in my package.

Room Tip: As I mentioned in my review I you want a view of football pitch ask for an odd numbered room. The...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Redthecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Redthecrow

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. The team work hard to ensure a clean and comfortable stay with excellent customer service and I was pleased to hear you thought we achieved this.

Our Pitch View Rooms really are unique and always impress, even if you’re not a football fan! If you should get the opportunity to stay on a match day, please be sure to contact us direct and we can guarantee you a room with a four corner view.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good rooms nice and clean. Ample towels + bathrobes. Air Con easy to use.Choice of firm/soft pillows but all rather thin, bed a bit on the firm side.
Breakfast good bacon very tasty. Staff polite and helpful.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Teresa L

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you found your room nice and clean and with ample towels. I’m sorry to hear the pillows in your room were rather thin. We do have a rolling programme of replacing the bedding in our rooms and if you could kindly let me know your room number I can ensure this room is addressed next. My email address is reservations.hinorwichcity@kewgreen.co.uk.

Our breakfast buffet is the highlight of the day with over 60 items to choose from. I am pleased you particularly enjoyed the bacon. Next time you visit be sure to try our Chef’s Specials at breakfast, all include in the breakfast price.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business for 1 night and the hotel appearance is very good, the staff were very welcoming and the decoration is excellent, when i got to my room i was pleasantly surprised that i had a Pitch view room which was great. the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. Dinner was very good i had the Fish & Chips and this was cooked well. Very quiet cnsidering it is close to the City Centre i had a great nights sleep Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 94tosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tony D

We always aim to provide a great experience and I was so pleased to hear you thought we achieved this. The Pitch View rooms really are fantastic and I’m glad you found yours clean and comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Our location is ideal with just a 15 minute walk into the city centre but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Slightly different on a home game but a fantastic atmosphere all the same!

Thank you for leaving us a 5* review. This really does mean a lot to us.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently stayed on 1st August. Chose a pitch view room as we are Norwich City fans, chose to upgrade (only £3 extra!!!!) the room was excellent but not a good view of the pitch, spoke to Gill, receptionist and she changed the room to a room one floor down great view of the pitch, watched the match no problem. I would like to say that Gill especially was so very helpful as she helped us with the disabled parking space that my husband needs and also he lost his glasses and thought he had left them in the original room, Gill said she would deal with it as soon as she could, a very short time later a knock on the door and there she was, specs in hand. I would like also to say that all the staff were helpful and friendly. We have stayed there a few times before but this was the most pleasant. Did not stay for a meal this time so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: I am not much help here as when we stay we always ask for a pitch view room so cannot comment on the...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindag287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Lindag287

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. The team work hard towards a faultless stay with excellent customer service and I was pleased to hear you thought we achieved this. Gill is especially pleased that her service made such an impact on your stay.

Our Pitch View Rooms really are unique and always impress. If you should get the opportunity to stay again on a match day, please be sure to contact us direct and we can guarantee you a room with a four corner view.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We recently stayed a couple of nights at Ipswich Road Holiday Inn as we were visiting family. We were both really impressed by the hotel having not expected very much. The room was ample size, clean and comfy as was the rest of the hotel. The restaurant was nice the Starbucks espresso was foul. Breakfast good :) Reception very friendly and helpful. By signing up to the IGH we got free wifi , all-in-all it was a great stay. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Free with membership to IGH
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 02040508BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Beth W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Unfortunately this is posted against the wrong hotel as we are Holiday Inn Norwich City, on Carrow Road.

I am pleased to hear you joined the IHG Rewards Club and hope that you can take advantage of one of our 'member only' promotions and perhaps stay with us sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.7 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £62 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing