We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent hotel in which our room overlooked Norwich City Football pitch. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We only stayed one night so cannot comment on location for amenities, but it served our visit very well and would definitely return. The breakfast was very good and as we ate quite early there wasn't a rush for food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MicheleR36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MicheleR36

Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. The team here genuinely love the hotel and put the satisfaction of our guests at the heart of everything they do. A review like yours really does mean a lot and I will be sure to share your comments.

We are very fortunate with the location of the hotel and I hope you get the chance to stay with us again. The Riverside area is excellent for bars and restaurants and only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, whilst the city centre is in easy reach being a 15 minute walk away. If you have time to venture further afield, the Norfolk Broads really are beautiful and only 8 miles from us and I can recommend a visit to the North Norfolk Coast.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was very impressed by this Holiday Inn, a chain I am not really fond of.
Service was excellent throughout my stay, very natural and not OTT which you can get at a lot of hotels. My room was spacious, clean, modern and well appointed. The bathroom had a good powerful shower too.
I ate in the bar and the food was good and reasonable value, as far as hotels go.
Breakfast was also good, plenty of choice and the hot food was fresh. Only issue was that the toaster didn't actually toast the bread, just warmed it up. They could also look into the seating plan, it was busy and the layout was such that there were banks of 3 'tables for 2' separated by a couple of inches, making it more like a long table for 6. This didn't afford much privacy or allow you to have a relaxing breakfast and was rather awkward.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear bsnsjone

It’s great to hear that we have changed your view of Holiday Inn for the better. We are very fortunate with our hotel and location, and the team who work here with us. I’m pleased you found your room clean and spacious and a good powerful shower certainly helps wake you up in the morning!

Thank you for your comments about the toaster and the restaurant layout. We really do value our guests feedback and I will discuss this with the Restaurant Manager.

Thank you for leaving us a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Wonderful hotel in the Holiday Inn chain.
Impeccably clean with great friendly, helpful staff. The Hotel is situated within the grounds of Carrow Road the Home of Norwich City Football club. The car park is shared with the Football club and is less than 50 Metres from the reception. The breakfast is a delight and the dinner menu is varied with a dish of for all appetites.
Great Hotel and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Upper floors facing the ground give you a clear view of the Football pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biffa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Biffa1

We always aim to provide a great experience and I was so pleased to hear you thought we achieved this. The Pitch View rooms really are fantastic and I’m glad you found yours clean and comfortable. Our location is ideal with just a 15 minute walk into the city centre but far enough away to be nice and quiet.

It’s great that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner with us. All of our dishes are freshly prepared and our breakfast buffet has a choice of over 60 items. Next time you stay be sure to try one of chefs specials at breakfast, all included in the breakfast cost.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights. 20 minute walk into city centre in all honesty - a pleasant walk if you follow the river with a modern restaurant area only 10 minutes walk from hotel. Parking is not free and this is not clear on website. At weekends there is a stretch of road in front of the hotel where you can park overnight FOC - saves a few Pounds if you do this. The rooms are very acceptable, clean and tidy and quiet.
Breakfast is noisy and frantic although I thought the quality was very good. Did not dine in the restaurant as I thought it was pricy. It was always busy early evening.
Wifi was free if you accepted a slow package - for goodness sake - stop being so mean!
Will try somewhere else next time in Norwich.

Room Tip: Ask for a Carrow Road view - needless to say we did not get one despite booking ages in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Ray J

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear that our location was favorable and you found the rooms clean and quiet.

I’m sorry that you did not find the car parking charges clear on our website. They are clearly advised on holidayinn.com, but if you did book through another channel please let me know so that I can investigate this. My email address is reservations.hinorwichcity@kewgreen.co.uk.

Breakfast does get busy but the team work hard to ensure a constant level of service and quality, so I was pleased that you felt we achieved this. We do offer a limited speed WIFI access free to all, plus IHG Rewards Club members do receive our High Speed access free of charge. The IHG Rewards Club is completely free to join and valid at over 4500 hotels across the globe.

Thanks again for your feedback and I hope you will try us again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I arrived quite late, check in was slow but I think this may have been because of the trainee staff which were good.
Good atmosphere in the evening.
Ordered room service and it arrived quickly and was tasty.
Rooms comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was as you expect in an holiday inn- plenty of choice and good value.
The staff checking us into breakfast were ok but not particularly happy or helpful.
Would stay here again as it is convienent and you always know what you are going to get with HI's

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank rachel_a_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear rachel_s_2011

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that over all you had a good experience. I’m sorry if you experienced a delay at check-in. Our new Receptionist is coming on so well and she will certainly be pleased that you rated her good.

I am pleased that you found you room clean and comfortable, room service quick and tasty, and plenty of choice at breakfast. We work hard to achieve good standards in these areas so it’s great when this gets recognised. I do however apologise that you didn't get such a good welcome at breakfast and will certainly mention this to the Restaurant Manager.

Thanks once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a standard hotel with little elegance (£100 per room). You know what to expect & will receive it. Room was large & overlooked the football pitch - thankfully it was empty. Windows don't open sufficiently to allow any air into the room so had to rely on the climate control with the associated noise & blocked nose in the morning. King sized bed - shower was over bath so a bit rubbish especially as the plug hole was right under your feet so keep shutting it off. Breakfast was really excellent with a really good choice of delicious foods (£10 per head)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Su-Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Su-Mart

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post a review. The windows in our rooms do tilt to allow ventilation, however do not open fully for safety reasons. Whilst the view over the football stadium is a fantastic addition for some, I appreciate it is not to everyone’s liking. If you should be staying in Norwich again, please do contact us directly on 0870 890 1000 so that we can best advise on a room to suit your preferences.

Our breakfast buffet is the highlight of the day with over 60 items to choose from. I am pleased you rate it so highly. If you do visit again, be sure to try our Chef’s Specials at breakfast, all included in the breakfast cost.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Definitely one of the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in. Friendly and helpful reception, decent bar area showing Sky Sports, my exec room on 6th floor was large with comfy bed and good shower, and I had a great view out over the football pitch. Less than 10 minutes walk to the train station, but a bit of a longer walk into the city centre itself.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank manfromthemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Manfromthemeadow

I was so pleased to hear that you rate the hotel and the staff so highly. Our reviews really do mean a lot to us so thank you for this.

Our Executive Rooms are great and being on the top floor do have some great views. The added extras such as bathrobes, mineral water, chocolate and I-Pod dock make them great value too. Should you stay again, please be sure to contact us direct and we can guarantee you the best price.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,219 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
694 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing