We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Started here for one night, Saturday, fire a family get together. Mrarch day so thought it would be congested but service was excellent, staff helpful and smiling, rooms tidy and well fitted. Breakfast was fantastic with great staff! Really good hotel, not just our view - the lady checking out before us told the reception staff it's the best Holiday Inn she's stayed at!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hello Mr_Kipper, I am always glad to hear that we have helped make your stay so very special. I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the match day atmosphere which is really buzzing and it is always very rewarding to receive positive feedback about the staff and the service they delivered of course with a smile!! Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    360
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
163
321
56
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel OK, probably not quite up to the price for the area anymore.
The room really looked like one that football fans use, which is to be expected, but I probably expected more for what I got.. It was more budget travel lodge than nearly 140 a night standard.

The staff were attentive, and it's in a great position.

The very worst thing was that there tables for breakfast are very close together. Maybe it's just be, but I was seated, collected my breakfast, and another guy was seated almost at my table. I don't feel comfortable with that really.. I left quite quickly and it somewhat spoilt the experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi PaulJM1976,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay, rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

We generally received extremely positive feedback for our bedrooms as they are modern, spacious and contemporary, however I am very sorry to hear that it was below your expectation.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The big thing to watch for is the cost for car parking. Norwich City must be saving up for a new player, or just a player, because they are charging for day parking not Holiday Inn! That said we got a place out in front that was free! Big saving! The hotel was excellent. I was warned off Holiday Inn as a brand but this is my second experience of the chain and it remains very favourable. I don't eat a large breakfast but the only option here is a somewhat pricey gut bash and nothing else, so we were told (not the gut bash bit – I put that in). The No. 25 bus into town stops nearby (200 yards) and is regular but very slow. Walking is fun and you see more. Hotel was quiet, smoothly run and the staff friendly and patient. If the breakfast and parking were not issues I would happily give this hotel five stars for value.

Room Tip: Ours was pre-booked a about a month ahead and we had a choice. I expect had we just 'turned up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback Barry L. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you so much for your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations particularly with the breakfast rates. Our breakfast buffet is the highlight of the day with over 60 items to choose from, there is something for all including our Chef’s Specials which is all include in the breakfast price. It is sometimes worth looking at Bed and Breakfast rates as they can offer excellent value. Our breakfast rate is very competitive with all other hotels in the area.

The car parking charge is a nightly rate, which has been consistent over the years and very competitive for a city centre location. I do hope we will get opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Norwich.

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Norwich City for one night on business. I am a IHG Club member but wasn't recognised as such when I arrived, so I had to make a trip to reception for WiFi details later on. A small point to improve, but no biggie. I ate in the restaurant due to my late arrival, and the food and wine were both very good, breakfast was also good the next morning.

The room was well appointed and contained the normal Holiday Inn contents. It was a nice touch that the iron and ironing board were in the room. The room was quiet and I wasn't disturbed by road noise overnight. The bed was comfy as I had a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Hello James H, thank you for your recent review. I’m sorry to hear that we missed the opportunity to recognise you as a loyal IHG Rewards Club member. I have spoken to my reception manager who also passes on his apologies. I’m glad that you enjoyed the food and time spent in our restaurant and will pass your comments on to all involved. Our beds are very comfy and I’m glad you had a good night’s sleep.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed in this holiday inn from Saturday leaving Monday.

The hotel wasn't bad overall -just certain elements.

Saturday - arrived and placed in a disabled room. Asked to be moved - told fully booked so could not move. No apology -night reception customer service guy wasn't the friendliest! Told me I must have selected it or ticked a box online saying I didn't mind being allocated - I can assure you I did not!

Sunday - Asked the daytime staff whether there was any chance of changing -apologised and was atleast a lot more polite. Again was told I must have selected something online - I booked through hotels.com prepaid for a standard double.

I wouldn't have minded but a) was looking forward to a nice bath and b) I chose this hotel over others because I thought I would get a good experience.

Certainly not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review jaigu and sharing your recent experience.

I am naturally disappointed about your comments with regards to your overall experience. As you may have noticed from other reviews on Tripadvisor this is far from the norm and generally receive extremely positive feedback for our bedrooms and certainly the staff.

I will however have a quiet word with the night staff member and I have already discussed this with the reception manager and do trust you will give us another opportunity for you to experience our high standards.

I am glad to hear that the team was able to accommodate you in a room with double bed as per your request, like other hotels throughout the country we do have a small number of rooms which have walk in shower for our disabled guests and I am sorry that you did not get a room with a bath.

Please do contact me direct if you wish to book a room for your future stay and we will certainly ensure that your experience is second to none.

Regards,
Hiren Varvadekar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent hotel in which our room overlooked Norwich City Football pitch. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We only stayed one night so cannot comment on location for amenities, but it served our visit very well and would definitely return. The breakfast was very good and as we ate quite early there wasn't a rush for food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleR36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear MicheleR36

Many thanks for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. The team here genuinely love the hotel and put the satisfaction of our guests at the heart of everything they do. A review like yours really does mean a lot and I will be sure to share your comments.

We are very fortunate with the location of the hotel and I hope you get the chance to stay with us again. The Riverside area is excellent for bars and restaurants and only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, whilst the city centre is in easy reach being a 15 minute walk away. If you have time to venture further afield, the Norfolk Broads really are beautiful and only 8 miles from us and I can recommend a visit to the North Norfolk Coast.

Kind Regards

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed by this Holiday Inn, a chain I am not really fond of.
Service was excellent throughout my stay, very natural and not OTT which you can get at a lot of hotels. My room was spacious, clean, modern and well appointed. The bathroom had a good powerful shower too.
I ate in the bar and the food was good and reasonable value, as far as hotels go.
Breakfast was also good, plenty of choice and the hot food was fresh. Only issue was that the toaster didn't actually toast the bread, just warmed it up. They could also look into the seating plan, it was busy and the layout was such that there were banks of 3 'tables for 2' separated by a couple of inches, making it more like a long table for 6. This didn't afford much privacy or allow you to have a relaxing breakfast and was rather awkward.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiren V V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear bsnsjone

It’s great to hear that we have changed your view of Holiday Inn for the better. We are very fortunate with our hotel and location, and the team who work here with us. I’m pleased you found your room clean and spacious and a good powerful shower certainly helps wake you up in the morning!

Thank you for your comments about the toaster and the restaurant layout. We really do value our guests feedback and I will discuss this with the Restaurant Manager.

Thank you for leaving us a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Nick Huggins
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich City

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich City
Address: Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Norwich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#7 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich City 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary, stylish, award winning hotel (Hotel of the Year 2011) is the perfect property for business and leisure guests visiting historic Norwich. Holiday Inn Norwich City is the newest full service property in the city and has 150 air conditioned, light, modern bedrooms all of which are non smoking. Many of the rooms offer a pitch view of Norwich City's premier league ground and with a mix of executive, suites, standard, twin and accessible rooms we can offer something for everybody. The hotels atmospheric bar is a meeting place for everybody and serves a superb selection of wines, beers, bar snacks or full meals from our dine anywhere menu, or dine in style in our superb restaurant, the choice is always yours. Thinking of exploring? The hotel is in walking distance of Norwich's two cathedrals, its stunning Castle dating back to the Norman Conquest and the superb Norwich Lanes for individual bespoke shops. Alternatively head for the Chapelfield Shopping Centre with over 90 well known outlets making it a shopping paradise and placing Norwich in the top 10 of UK shopping destinations. With only a 5 minute walk to Norwich station leave the car at the hotel and let the train take the strain and visit the beautiful North Norfolk coast, the delightful Norfolk Broads or the seaside resort of Great Yarmouth what could be easier? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich City Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Norwich City Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing