We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #20 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just back from Norwich where I spent a week at the Abbey Hotel
Mein hosts Mandy and David very friendly,clean and resonable priced.
Full english breakfast and anything requested was granted
Easy access to the railway station and city centre for sight seeing and shopping.
Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Fresh towels and linen every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
27
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

If you want a clean and friendly hotel near the Railway Station in Norwich - then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_B17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany Berlin, Stuttgart
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you like to stay in an ugly decorated room with old, cheap and dated furniture, a bathroom next door from the last century and a lot of improvisation this is the right place to go. Wifi works, it's clean and it's just a 5-minutes walk to the station but that's all. Owners are friendly and attentive, but they should transfer the guest house into the 21. century. If the Stracey hotel in the same street next door is available, stay there! It's worth the extra money and you feel like living in the year 2011.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed here one night to attend a business event. Very close to train station which was perfect,it took me 10 minutes to stroll to the station from the hotel.. Easy to walk into town centre to socialise etc. The owners/managers were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. I actually got an upgraded room so was very lucky. The room and bed were very clean. The bathroom was immaculate. The full English Breakfast was lovely and very welcome, served from 7.30 to 9;30. Tea and coffee was available in rooms. TV in all rooms with freeview. This is a good, clean, friendly basic hotel for a city stay.I will be visiting Norwich again quite a lot for business and intend to use this hotel whenever I can. I would highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicjam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

My room was so small that it felt like a cell, and it was very hot (the heat came from under the floor - presumably I was sleeping above the hot water boiler). Even with the window wide open, I still felt stifled. The loo and bathroom were tiny with fittings to match (the basins are so small that you can only wash your hands in them) and the whole feel of the place is rather "third world". If you're wanting something cheap then this is your place. But I think that even somewhere this cheap could offer a little more. For me, staying here was a thoroughly depressing experience.

Room Tip: Cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sail0rJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Stayed at various small hotels on Stracey Road over the years and enjoyed staying here. Small run no-frills hotel with friendly owners. Less than 5 minutes walk to station and into town.
Greeted with warm welcome and glass of orange. Shown to room and made welcome. On street parking with hotel permit right outside the hotel.
Breakfast was good.
Hotel very clean and tidy.
Only down side was inconsiderate people coming in at 0500 in the morning crashing and banging and then those stood outside smoking and chatting right under my room.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke UK
Level Contributor
228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

A small hotel/guest house, very clean and comfortable, everything worked, tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Some rooms are en-suite, mine was not but that created no problem since there were adequate facilities just along the corridor. Shower was new (as was most/all of the porcelain elsewhere) with plenty of hot water. TV in the room and free Wi-Fi. The Abbey is situated on a quiet road off the main Yarmouth road so is ideal, easy to get to - just a few minutes walk from the station and the city centre. I think it changed hands early this year - 2010 - and the present couple are very friendly and helpful. A good full English breakfast sets you up well for the day. I first stayed here in July, the fact that I am back in October says how satisfied I am with the value for money - sure you can find bigger rooms in other hotels and valet car parking services but I do not think you will find better value than the Abbey offers so it gets 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Guest House is a family-run bed & breakfast accommodation and is situated in the Norwich City Centre. This homely B&B has 7 rooms which some have en-suite bathrooms and some have shared facilities. As we only has 7 rooms which is easy for us to take care of our guests with our hospitality. Tasty Breakfast The Abbey Guest House provides not only full English cooked breakfast, but also vegetarian & vegan breakfast which are second to none. There is no secret in doing a tasty breakfast which is cooked in fresh with free range eggs, local butcher sausages, fresh mushrooms, etc. and a hearty attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich
Abbey Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing