We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value basic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #20 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good value basic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I had booked a single room but got the family room for £45 pn. The room was very clean and tidy if a bit old fashioned in decor. The bed was very comfortable but there can be some early morning noise from the Post office depot opposite.The included full english breakfast was excellent - really fills you up for the day ahead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
27
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We are two senior ladies and we were thoughtfully given the clean spacious family room on the first floor. We appreciated the personalised attention given to us by Mandy and Dave who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Five us stayed here for two nights whilst walking Wherryman Way. From initial phone call to final departure we were looked after extremely well. No praise is too high for our experience. We made use of the railway station for transport which is near by and there are a good selection of pubs and eateries close to the Abbey

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magheramorne, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great place to stay excellent value for money, Dave and Mandy will make you fell very welcome rooms are up to standard, a short walk to center of town, 5 min to local train station, don't forget to get up for your breakfast you will not be disappointed, sorry we could not stay longer

Laurence Williamson

Room Tip: read Tripadvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snodland, kent
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Abbey is conveniently situated in a quiet road five minutes from the station. My room was a bit on the small side, but good value. The furniture and décor were a bit dated, but perfectly clean. The proprietors were very friendly and chatty, and the cooked breakfast was tasty and of a good quality. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff_tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed there on the second weekend of January. I was very pleased with the whole experience. The bedroom was spotless, a little small but very homely and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was really tasty, there was a lot on offer and there was always enough of everything. David and Mandy are extremely accommodating and friendly and couldn't have been any more helpful. A fantastic stay overall.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwhite72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

went to Norwich for 3 nights for the Norwich Beer Festival, the Abbey Hotel was lovely, the moment arrived there i was greeted warmly, the owners are very nice people,

I stayed in a room with a single bed, the room was small but very comfortable, very clean etc, the TV had freeview,

the breakfast i had in the mornings was delicious, the best breakfast i have ever had

the location was fantastic, only a few minutes from Norwich Train Station which meant i could easily get a bus into town

overall i had a fantastic stay and i would definitely stay at the Abbey Hotel again :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Guest House is a family-run bed & breakfast accommodation and is situated in the Norwich City Centre. This homely B&B has 7 rooms which some have en-suite bathrooms and some have shared facilities. As we only has 7 rooms which is easy for us to take care of our guests with our hospitality. Tasty Breakfast The Abbey Guest House provides not only full English cooked breakfast, but also vegetarian & vegan breakfast which are second to none. There is no secret in doing a tasty breakfast which is cooked in fresh with free range eggs, local butcher sausages, fresh mushrooms, etc. and a hearty attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich
Abbey Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing