We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit too grim”
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #19 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A bit too grim”
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This is basically a super-budget B&B masquerading as a hotel. Stay here if you don't care about your environment: cheap furniture, faded wallpaper and pokey rooms add up to a depressing stay. For only £10 more, we stayed in a very comfy hotel in Norwich (the Maid's Head) the next evening!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lalau66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    36
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
27
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I stayed at the Abbey Hotel for three nights. Not once did I see an employee. There was no telephone to use so I had to walk down the street to the payphone which apparently is the payphone that hookers use by the train station as I was approached more than once with offers. Which is always fun. The cleaners were waiting outside my room in the morning to get in the room. As well, the owner lost my credit card information and as I was travelling europe I returned home to find an email in which the owner explained he was contacting couple whose wedding I attended and was going to bother them in order to get payment. Apparently he assumed I was not responding to his email on purpose. Not my fault you lost my credit card information! Inappropriate beyond belief. I would NEVER srecommend the abbey hotel.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank canadiantraveller070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

My sister and I stayed at the Abbey while visiting Norwich Cathedral. The room was spacious and cozy. Breakfasts are prepared to meet individual requests and are delicious. The location is an easy walk from the train station. The owners were friendly and anticipated and accommodated our needs. We would return.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank BooWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Stayed here while working for a week in Norwich. Was really impressed with the room, absolutely spotless and well cared for! The owners are really friendly and always willing to help. No early morning interruptions from cleaners which was appreciated as I was often working late- they would wait until I was out before cleaning the room. Would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay close to the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank katielPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#14 of 50 in Norwich
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Guest House is a family-run bed & breakfast accommodation and is situated in the Norwich City Centre. This homely B&B has 7 rooms which some have en-suite bathrooms and some have shared facilities. As we only has 7 rooms which is easy for us to take care of our guests with our hospitality. Tasty Breakfast The Abbey Guest House provides not only full English cooked breakfast, but also vegetarian & vegan breakfast which are second to none. There is no secret in doing a tasty breakfast which is cooked in fresh with free range eggs, local butcher sausages, fresh mushrooms, etc. and a hearty attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich
Abbey Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing