We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value with fantastic service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #18 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark Notts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value with fantastic service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have just returned from a one night stay at the Abbey Hotel.I had a single bedroom with a shared bathroom.I considered the cost of £30 to be great value.The accomodation and location was everything I needed.I explored the city on foot and a large number of it's brilliant real ale pubs.The lady owner of the guest house provided me with a coloured detailed map.She printed this for me and carefully located and ringed my first pub stop!She could not have been more helpful.The permit she gave me allowed parking just in front of the hotel.My cooked breakfast was perfect.At the price I thoroughly recommend the Abbey Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gthornthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    36
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
27
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here on New Year's Eve and couldn't have asked for more. David and Mandy are very welcoming and friendly. Great location, quick walk into the city and to the train station. Lovely breakfast, big enough room and bed very comfortable. I would definitely stay again and definitely recommend to anyone staying in Norwich.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjw04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for Saturday night. Very warm welcome from David and, as we stayed in one of the family rooms, it was very spacious and more than adequately furnished.
The breakfast was all that was needed and as much as you could want. Mandy was full of joy and kept the tea flowing.
If you're looking for a "value for money" experience close to the centre of Norwich..... then look no further. This will fill your needs.
Many Thanks for a very pleasant stay in your lovely home

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I think the title of this review says it all. I rate this establishment for the convenience and value for money it offers. David and Mandy are exceptionally warm and welcoming. I have stayed a few times now and keep returning whenever I need to make a quick trip up to Norwich. As a guest house, it offers all you want in terms of cleanliness and facilities. The breakfast in the mornings is generous and helps to get the day off to a good start. There was an occasion when I had to arrive late due to travel delays and David waited up until 2am to let me in which went beyond the call of duty. I have read some reviews stating problems with parking but I have always managed to park without a problem. One side of the street is permit parking for which a permit is provided and the other side allows a vehicle to remain until 10am without charge - ample time to move the vehicle in the morning should the need arise. I would highly recommend if you are on a budget and not expecting any of the frills associated with the larger hotel chains - having said that, the home cooked breakfast is far better than those breakfasts I have experiences at the larger chains.

Room Tip: the property is built as a 3 floor Victorian Terraced house. If you have a problem with stairs (no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have stayed in The Abbey before, but last time I switched to Travelodge which, I imagine, is something like staying in prison.

So, for my third trip to Norwich, I stayed here. Again.

At £25 for a single room and breakfast I really don't think this can be beaten for value. I the single room, not en suite, but there were toilets and showers down the hall. My room had multi-channel digital TV, tea and coffee making facilities. And in the morning a choice of cereals, fried breakfast with toast.

The welcome was very friendly, as was the service throughout. A wonderful place, a gem, just overlooking the station and a 5 minute walk from the football ground.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room with a friend for a football weekend. The room was not en-suite but the adjacent bathroom was shared with only one other room and was very clean and spacious.

The room itself was fine, clean and comfortable but decor maybe a little dated.

The welcome and hospitality were excellent and the breakfast very good. Parking can be difficult but we were early enough to use a resident's pass.

Don't expect 4/5 star comfort but if you want an excellent value comfortable option, this is fine. Handy for the station and city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I had such a wonderful stay at the Abbey Hotel. Mandy and David are the loveliest people and are so warm and welcoming. The hotel is very clean, quiet and in an ideal location. Some people say the decor is dated but I found it charming and personal, the opposite of the impersonal, more clinical chains of budget hotels. The breakfast is amazing too :) If you want a comfortable, pleasant and memorable stay in Norwich (for all the right reasons) I couldn't recommend the Abbey and its wonderful hosts highly enough. I will definitely be returning to the Abbey Hotel when I next visit Norfolk. Thank you :) x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 16 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Guest House is a family-run bed & breakfast accommodation and is situated in the Norwich City Centre. This homely B&B has 7 rooms which some have en-suite bathrooms and some have shared facilities. As we only has 7 rooms which is easy for us to take care of our guests with our hospitality. Tasty Breakfast The Abbey Guest House provides not only full English cooked breakfast, but also vegetarian & vegan breakfast which are second to none. There is no secret in doing a tasty breakfast which is cooked in fresh with free range eggs, local butcher sausages, fresh mushrooms, etc. and a hearty attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Norwich
Abbey Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing