We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas Brunch”
Review of The Woolie - CLOSED

The Woolie
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, British, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: One of Norwich's oldest pubs 'The Woolie' on Muspole Street in Colegate has been regenerated, rebranded & renamed 'The WOOLPACK YARD!' Keeping its original charm, character & ambience 'The WOOLPACK YARD' serves fantastic tapas from around the world. A large Patio area with a lovely view of St Georges Church plays host to alfresco dining,perfect for those warm summer days.
Norwich UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tapas Brunch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had one of the first of their Tapas Brunches and the 2 + Drink were surprisingly filling and very good.

Good service from Rachael, very helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve-norf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place, eat here regularly and never had a bad dish, tapas menu has a great selection of dishes and the portions are a generous size, always a friendly welcome from all the staff, keep up the good work guys

Helpful?
Thank Southal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

A good pub but does brilliant tapas, ideal for a party or to snack on after a beer , or cocktail as they have a happy hour. One of the best meals I have had and there is a welcome too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Walked in during happy hour and got some very nice cocktails at very reasonable prices (could do with a menu to hand though!) sat down a little later for food and had a good selection from the meat, veggie and fish menus, all of which were delicious, tempura was light and crispy, and chips fluffy. Sorry we missed out on the sweet potato bon bons, but we'll have to come back and try them!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely stuff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Quick impromptu visit with the wife on her birthday. We'd been by a few weeks prior for a party but hadn't eaten, however we caught notice of the great looking food as it came out.

We had six great plates of tapas - the cod fritters were amazing! The tapas menu has been trimmed back a tad I think since our party visit but I'd rather have fewer plates done well than an extensive menu of average. :)

The selection of drinks was small but tidy - since it's regeneration from "The Woolie" they've ditched the standard carlsberg / stella taps for a couple of much better craft ale style types.

Very friendly service, (and asked for feedback!) great food, reasonable prices. The pub was quiet but had a friendly and upbeat atmosphere. Good job, Woolpack Yard. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woolie also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
Costessey, Norwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing