We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect central location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Upper St Giles street - The Times list '30 coolest places to live in UK'
Upper St Giles street
Upper St Giles Street - luxury 2 bed apartment (first floor of cream/white house)
street/window view - overlooked by Roman Catholic Cathedral
Upper St Giles Street - Delicatessen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect central location”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment is perfect. What more can I say?! Two gorgeous bedrooms and a well appointed kitchen perfect for cooking in that really is home from home. Yes I Express is just down the road along with pubs and cafes with a Michelin restaurant on the same street along with a fabulous deli. I cannot recommend this apartment highly enough. Great communication with the hosts who left a lovely welcome basket.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy K
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful flat in an excellent location”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The apartment is very well located near great shops and deli. It is an easy walk into town. The apartment has lots of character and is extremely well equipped. The owners have thought of everything. It was a great base for us to stay for our daughter's wedding in Norfolk. We would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness and very well equipped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice flat in the centre of Norwich”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This flat has it all. The location is in the heart of Norwich City Centre - restaurants, churches and cathedrals galore, shops of every sort. But at the same time it is quiet at night and I never felt unsafe walking alone in the neighbourhood. The double bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is fitted for a meal or dinner party if you want to entertain. The bathroom is large and there is an in flat washing machine. I will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the layout of the flat
Liked least: No complaints at all. The tub could be a bit high for someone with more limited mobility.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Banstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, 5 minutes' walk from city centre and ideal for exploring Norfolk”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I stayed here for a week in June, and really we could not have hoped for better.

The apartment is ideally located. It is a matter of five minutes’ walk from the market, shops and some of the historic attractions that make Norwich an ideal place to visit. In fact, everywhere in the city that you will want to see is within easy walking distance, including the castle, cathedral and other historic buildings and museums. There are also plenty of restaurants to choose from, ranging from the cheap and cheerful to the somewhat posh and pricey, according to taste.

Upper St Giles Street itself has a very friendly atmosphere, and some interesting shops – not to mention a rather nice deli.

The apartment is at the Grapes Hill end of the street, so there is some noise if you have the windows open. But it wasn’t enough to disturb us or keep us awake at night. Besides, this is Norwich, so the rush hour is not exactly carmageddon. And St Giles doesn’t actually lead anywhere drivable, so there is no traffic immediately outside your window. Car parking at the back of the building is easy to find and you can get into the apartment via the back door, so there is no walking.

Once inside the main entrance, the door to this apartment is up a flight of stairs. Inside, the kitchen/living room is nicely decorated, well equipped, and a pleasant place to be. We stayed in a couple of evenings and it was a home from home. Both bedrooms (one double, one twin) are equally nicely presented, and there is a large bathroom with shower over the bath.

Communication with the owners ahead of arrival was great. We were sent all the details we needed to find the apartment, get ourselves settled in and sort things to our satisfaction. They also left a small hamper of goodies, which was a nice touch.

All in all, I cannot recommend this apartment highly enough. And it is perfect as a base for exploring Norwich and the surrounding county of Norfolk.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel10b...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great flat in great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely two nights in this flat with our two young children. It's centrally located: the main sites, good shopping, and many restaurants are within an easy walk. The city centre is less than 1/2 mile away and Norwich Cathedral less than a mile. The hosts very kindly provided a wonderful welcome basket with wine and snacks. The flat itself is generally comfortable and well appointed. Although the windows face the street, the flat is one story up so we didn't have any difficulty sleeping. Shops on Upper St. Giles include a bicycle store, a fabric store, a fantastic deli that has excellent coffees, breakfasts and lunches, and a mediocre Thai place. We would definitely stay here again. The size of the flat, the generous amenities, and the prime location make it an excellent value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkc307
Kewstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A great flat in a lovely location (terrific bonus being able to walk into the city centre) and owners had left a delicious welcome pack

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LichenMos...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great flat in perfect location.”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A lovely place to stay. Attractively furnished and equipped, with a great welcome hamper!
Situated in a pleasant street close to the centre of the city. A short walk to all the attractions and places to eat.
Would recommend taking a torch if you plan to arrive after dark so that you can see to open the door.
We had the parking area to ourselves. You don't need a car here though. Come by train and enjoy exploring on foot.
We'll definitely come again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing