We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average B&B”
Review of Gothic House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gothic House
Ranked #22 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the moment you arrive its obvious how much effort Clive has made to make to make your stay enjoyable, relaxing and interesting. The house itself is perfectly located to explore the centre of Norwich City centre and Clive local knowledge will help any interested traveller to locate the parts they wish. I'm not going to waffle on as the other reviewers have basically said it all already but let me please emplore you to stay here instead of the boring business hotels as you'll never regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed with Clive for two nights at the end of a months travel. What a treat to relax in such a comfortable environment before the long flight home. Beautifully furnished and equipped rooms (seriously how many places do you stay with a trouser press?), lots to look at and a delicious breakfast each morning.The location was perfect for restaurants and expolring central Norwich by foot. We really enjoyed our stay and left refreshed and relaxed. Thank you Clive - we will be back next time we are in Norwich.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warbywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I was fortunate enough to spend a couple of nights at Gothic House last week and, like many reviewers, wish I could have extended my visit. Gothic House is a house with character and an interesting past (Clive, the owner, will tell you about if you ask) and excellent modern day facilities. Clive has created an elegant, comfortably furnished home and makes his guests feel very welcome. He is so friendly and helpful and clearly wants his guests to enjoy their stay. From the decanter of extremely nice sherry and fresh fruit in the bedroom to the perfectly cooked and beautifully presented breakfasts, Clive's thoughtfulness is evident. It was such a pleasure to have freshly squeezed orange juice - little things mean a lot! It's all about quality, comfort and style at Gothic House - and that includes the handsome, glossy-coated Khmer! Wonderful - I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iona333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gothic House and it was a revelation. Quietly and securely placed behind a "real ale" pub, clean, stylish, great mattress and beautiful bedlinen, tea coffee etc., even a cafetiere!

The bathroom is separate, dressing gowns provided, good toiletries, thoughtful touches like cotton wool balls.

Breakfast was very well cooked, to order, and served in the elegant dining room. Lots to choose from, and all delicious.

Clive has a wealth of local knowledge, and suggested lovely places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble, it was more like visiting very good friends!

Was there anything that meant our stay was not perfect? Well only that we had booked three nights and we would have loved to stay longer. Wonderful place with a thoughtful caring owner, we can't wait to go back and would recommend Gothic House absolutely!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLBBIB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights, having booked after reading some positive TripAdvisor reviews. We could not have been more pleased. The B&B itself is tucked away behind Magdelen Street, and there is no noise from the road. Our room was the top floor twin, which was tastefully furnished, comfortable, immaculate and spacious. In addition, we had windows on two sides of the room, which meant that the room benefits from a cross-breeze (which was important to us). The entire B&B is elegance itself, and Clive is a very personable and accommodating host. Scrumptious and ample breakfasts are taken in the stunning dining room on the ground floor. When we visit Norwich again, we hope to stay here, and I would recommend it wholeheartedly. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was the worst B&B w' d ever stayed in. Breakfast (toast with scrambled egg) was so greasy we felt sick of it. We didn' t take breakfast the second day (only some strawberries). The host clearly doesn't know the meaning of cleaning: it was really dirty: the toilets (horrible), the room (dust everywhere), the blankets (with hair from the cat), the carpet( dusty-dingy). we didn't dare to take a shower. The smell of the house was anything but fresh. According the website: "Gothic House, a classic B&B set in a quiet courtyard" ...there is a lot of noise from the adjacent pub...
All in all, a bad B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothichouse, Owner at Gothic House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

I am of course very saddened to have received such a damning review, especially in the light of virtually all the previous reviews that I have been fortunate to have received. It is especially disappointing when none of the apparent issues that affected the guests were mentioned at all when they were here. Indeed, they gave no indication of unhappiness whatever.
There is of course nothing at all that I can do no to redress what these guests saw as problems. All that I can do is assure potential guests that the bathrooms and toilets are clean and the rooms are cleaned and carpets vacuumed before guests arrive. Thus I hope that Gothic House will be judged by the other reviews rather than just this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have used Trip Advisor many times, but rarely feel the urge to post a review of our own: this is one such time. It is not often that you can walk into anyone's house and say, 'No, wouldn't change a thing'. Again, this is one such time. Attracted by TA comments and having viewed the owner's website, we decided to book and glad we did. Situated in a part of town that allows one to walk to just about any attraction or hostelry, the house is nicely (and securely) set back from the street, with ample parking. Through the beautiful front door to the delightful interior is a treat in itself. The attention to detail in everything from the decor to the primed decanter in the room, the toiletries to the 'to order' breakfast, absolutely spot on. Others have commented on the welcome and happily we agree - warmth, conversation and a jolly good breakfast (together with the box of tissues for the one with the streaming cold) topped this trip off for us. Oh, we nearly forgot to mention the very well-behaved cat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-NHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.2 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
256 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
731 reviews
6.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic House

Address: Gothic House Magdalen Street | Magdalen Street, Norwich NR3 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gothic House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothic House is an elegant Regency town house located in a quiet leafy courtyard in the heart of the historic part of Norwich. It is close to the cathedral, transport links and the shopping areas. The house has been extensively refurbished and redecorated in a highly individual style yet sympathetic to its Regency origins. There are two spacious guest rooms: one double with a king-sized bed and a twin with 2 four-foot beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gothic House Hotel Norwich
Gothic House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing