We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't order on a Friday unless your willing to have 'substitutes' made to your order without your knowledge.”
Review of Papa John's

Papa John's
Ranked #657 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Pizza, Fast food
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't order on a Friday unless your willing to have 'substitutes' made to your order without your knowledge.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Firstly, when I called them up to make a change in the type of crust I wanted, they informed me that there was 'no cinnapie left' when I had ordered it..I wonder what would have happened if I hadn't called! Was forced to order the cookie instead (which I've had before and wasn't all that impressed with). You'd think being a Friday night they'd be well stocked up, right?
Delivery service was good, within the half-hour slot promised. I was upstairs watching TV and didn't hear the bell, they at least called me up and I apologised for not hearing the doorbell.
The brownie I ordered was pretty much raw in the middle and burnt on the edges.. Eugh! This is probably what happens when desserts are cooked at the same heat the pizzas are cooked at to 'speed up' the process.
Pizza was okay though, I like their tomato sauce and the toppings taste reasonably fresh - at least they didn't skimp on sauce or cheese/toppings. I still prefer their dough to Dominos or Pizza Hut, as it is more fresh and 'authentic' tasting.
I cannot stand mustard at all, and having specifically ordered garlic and herb sauce, what did they do but give me TWO 'honey and mustard' pots. I was so annoyed when I noticed and had the nerve to call them up, but instead I felt it was best to vent my frustration out on writing a review up on here. If I were you I would opt to collect the order, then at least you can make sure you get what you ordered instead of 'substitutions'.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    5
    2
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Well ive ordered twice from plumstead road and the pizza was yummy and HOT!! And the crust is lovely , i've had to leave crust from other places but not here, i also use the special offers as I only like pizza now and again.
I have never been in there only got delivered so cannot comment on atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue5596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really poor, actually really terrible”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Have ordered several times from this branch (only because of special offers which bombard my SMS and email box almost daily) but each time we order, it just gets worse and worse. We hit rock bottom on our last (and I mean last ever) order from them.

As usual you wait some time for delivery.. this time for over an hour (nearly 90 mins) for our 2 pizzas. They were presented in a soggy box with the pizza clinging to one side indicating they had not been kept flat. It was luke warm and the toppings were obviously in short supply as they were miserly to say the least and were not spread evenly on the pizza. The base was so chewy it made my jaw hurt to eat it. And all this for £20 per pizza!! That's more expensive than Domino's but at least theirs taste amazing.

Papa Johns is really poor value for money and totally naff pizza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JonCamBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How long did we have to wait”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The website says 30 minutes - 45 minutes later not even left the shop. - phoned up and a nice apology but no pizza - is there a reputable pizza delivery company in norwich?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

EXTREMELY RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Called Papa john odeon Telford 01952200234 at 20:02 to order a pizza.... no sure whether customer service person 'Jes' or 'JAS' was intoxicated or not but inspite of repeating address 3 times she was unable to note it down.... she was extremely rude and started abusing me.... later on passed the phone to her colleague ' SAM , CUSTOMER IS GIVING ME HEADING'.....
if this is the standard of PAPA JOHN I
DONT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO CALL PAPA JOHN AND PLACE AN order

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Saroya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa John's also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
Costessey, Norwich
 

Been to Papa John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing