We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis”

The Greenhouse Gallery
Ranked #380 of 877 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Description: As an educational charity the volunteers work together to prepare vegetarian/vegan drinks and cakes. The shop offers Norfolk's' best and most extensive range of fine quality organic and vegan wines, especially biodynamic and low sulphur wines and we hold regular wine tastings. This gallery and second-hand bookshop has a small eating area.
Restaurant details
Description: As an educational charity the volunteers work together to prepare vegetarian/vegan drinks and cakes. The shop offers Norfolk's' best and most extensive range of fine quality organic and vegan wines, especially biodynamic and low sulphur wines and we hold regular wine tastings. This gallery and second-hand bookshop has a small eating area.
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely to find such a quiet oasis in the center of a thriving city. The courtyard garden is a hidden gem on a summer's day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank crepello012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've been going to the greenhouse for years - the food is generally very good but the staff need some serious training. Bearing in mind it is a charity I don't think that's any excuse for the rude and lackadaisical staff. Unpaid or not!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Poppy_fields_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

The Greenhouse is staffed by volunteers, they are as diverse as any team of people can be, it is true that the service experience can be varied. It may not be a polished service, but it is not a rude service. We view the genuine interaction as a good thing and most customers are supportive of, and enjoy the interaction between trainees. On this particular occasion the customer demanded a refund for a meal she hadn't ordered in the middle of packed lunchtime. Management intervention occurred and she has been made aware of how rude and inappropriate her attempt to intimidate were. Sadly Trip Advisor (the web generally) allows disgruntled people to gripe, without any provision to create any real understanding. Service training' was certainly not the issue here

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Love the food here, right up my street, wholesome, fresh and tasty, if........they don't run out of everything !!!
Last few times been here at no later than 1.30 they had run out of many items including hummous and salad !!!
Very frustrating, they seems to be loads of staff , can't one of them run out to shops and replenish missing items so they don't miss out on trade , seems a bit silly. Don't go if your in a rush , but if a leisurely, healthy and tasty lunch is what your after then defo recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hannah_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thanks for all the good feedback. We certainly do want the Greenhouse to be a oasis of calm in a busy city, and yes we do often run out of food at lunchtime, although more often by 2.30pm.

The staff are in fact volunteers and so they can't just pop out for more food. Party because we run on a small budget, but more importantly the food here is organic and comes directly from the growers AND the food is prepared fresh, so we have to guess at the volume of food for any one day and when it's gone it's gone.

Hope that's helpful information

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

On the back of other TA reviews, we ventured off the beaton track of Norwich to find this small veggie, community based cafe / restaurant.

We wished we hadn't !!

The place was empty - which summed up the rest of the experience..

There was no welcome by anyone and after a good 10 mins of not a staff member in sight then a lady appeared and then took our oder - still no welcome by the way !

Then the food took 30 mins to arrive ( bear in mind there was no one else in there ) then after chasing, it finally arrived.

Soup was cold and the wrap was small and basic.

Not for us and not again !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhouse_Norwich, Manager at The Greenhouse Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

This is just plain mean. Note that the reviewer has not given a single venue any positive feedback
This person came at the end of the day. If the food was cold or not what was expected, we'd prefer to be told, we can and will respond positively. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This place reminds me of the veggie eateries of my youth. Solid dependable food, not a terrific range on any one day but most of it is good. Lots of interesting literature to read and/or buy and small wholeness shop is part of the business.A peaceful place to relax away from the rush of the city centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alijeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greenhouse Gallery also viewed

Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Greenhouse Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing