We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top draw but pricy Japanese food”

Shiki Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$36
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top draw but pricy Japanese food”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

First things first - this doesn't just sell sushi. The sushi they do sell is very nice - I highly recommend the sushi lovers sharing platter (three tiers of perfect fishy finger food).

The £10 bento box lunches are very good value and come with a miso soup starter that is perfect for a 30-40 minute lunch break. My sister who works at a law firm 5 minutes walk from the restaurant loves this spot and we must have eaten here 4-5 times.

The saki carries a punch. Only downside is that the individual dishes can add up quickly, often putting you off from ordering anything other than one of the set menu options.

This is one of the better restaurants in Tombland.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    105
    36
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“a restaurant we'll be returning to”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had lunch here on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised. Generally, our experience of Japanese restaurants in the UK outside London has not been very good but we would happily return to Shiki. Tempura was light ( but perhaps a bit over-priced since more than two prawns in the mixed platter would have been nice) and the sushi assortment reasonably fresh. Service was brisk but friendly. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch special”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We've been here several times and always enjoy going back. We go for lunch, as the dinner menu is a bit pricey and they have a 10 pound bento box lunch special. During the summer we enjoy sitting outside and people watching. Would definately recommend this restaurant-we will be returning!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I went to Shiki with my partner for a quick-ish pre-movie dinner. We both had Bento Boxes (which have loads of food - only order if you are very hungry!). The food was absolutely delicious, particularly the vegetable tempura which was the best I have ever tasted. The food presentation was beautiful, and the service simple and lovely.

We will definitely be going again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Really excellent food, polite service, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have visited this japanese restaurant many times. The food is consistent, although can vary in quality slightly depending on time of day you visit (lunch times seem to be best). But the standard is so good, it doesnt really matter. The service is always polite and the ambience is nice. The tepanyaki table is really excellent, and they do a cheaper tepanyaki deal on a Thursday which is great value. The food really is very good, and we will continue to make this a regular favourite of ours to satisfy our sushi cravings...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Shiki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing