We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Trattoria.”
Review of Trattoria Rustica

Trattoria Rustica
Ranked #52 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Trattoria Rustica Recently voted top 10 Italian Trattoria in the UK by the BBC good food Guide and Bertoli Olive oil. Trattoria Rustica opened its doors in 1995, owned and run by then newly wed Mario and Raffaella. Both first generations from the land of taste and style with an aim to bring authentic Italian food to Norwich. After more than two decades they have built an enviable reputation for quality Italian food and good service. Trattoria Rustica is an Italian restaurant like no other housed in a 16-century building nestled between medieval Elm Hill and Norwich Cathedral in the heart of this historic city.The medieval ambiance combined with an extensive menu of regionally inspired Italian specialities freshly cooked and served in a traditional family style can only make each visit a unique eating experience.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Trattoria.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent authentic Italian restaurant down a small side street in Norwich city centre. Rather noisy due to a girls birthday party, but otherwise highly recommended.

Great friendly staff and very generous portions of wonderful food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    101
    42
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday meal!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Wow!
I went yesterday for a birthday meal with my family and was blown away. The food was incredible, though the portions are huge!

My desert was the best! I cannot recommend The Nutella pancake enough!
Even the staff were faultless!

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan-Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb Meal”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited the restaurant on 21st June 2014 with friends. All I can say is that the meal was fabulous and that was the opinion of the four of us. The service from the staff was excellent. The quality of the food was excellent with good size portions. All evening there was a constant stream of new customers and although we had are table for the night from 6-45pm there were others who were happy to have a meal and then go so there were tables free for those customers who had not booked. The restaurant was constantly busy but never full. Would definitely recommend you give this place a try.
We had two bottles of good wine, liqueurs , 3 courses each and coffees for £45 per person. Well worth the price . We did choose some of the more expensive items but there was a large choice of starters for about £7 main courses £10 to £15 and desserts about £7 so depending on choice of drinks you could be looking at £30 to £35

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our new favourite!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our first time here, and all good, despite it being Fri 13th!

A lovely friendly atmosphere, traditional Italian feel.

Wonderful food, great wine and lovely service despite it being a busy Fri night. Prices reasonable.

We will return...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happyseasidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband I ate there one night. The service was fine as was the atmosphere. My husband ordered spaghetti carbonara and I ordered a spaghetti with prosciutto. The flavors were great in both our dishes but we both had gristly prosciutto. That was a bit of a disappointment. Perhaps it was just an off night because I see other reviews are quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing