We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gone way downhill.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of One Up Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
One Up Restaurant
Ranked #406 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$60 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“gone way downhill.”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

this used to be my favourite restaurant in
Norwich. i took a good friend for his birthday and couldn't believe how it had changed! i ordered a monkfish main course that was supposed to be cooked tempura style and came to me like some sort of chip shop fish, full of oil and definately not a tempura batter, i politely pointed this out to the waitress and was told the chef had 'run out of cornflour'. no apology. hope this was just a one off .

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank rosiep33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD-SLOW SERVICE”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Taken by my daughter for fathers day lunch. Exccent menu and great food. Wine list also comprenhensive and resonably priced......but service very slow. I dont want a 20 minute break beteween courses!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slatts352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was very nice, Service was very poor”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We arrived slightly late for our table, when we arrived we were greeted and seated quickly, we had to wait around 15 mins before being asked if we would like a drink, when we ordered the drinks they took a further 15 mins to arrive, then the waiter appologised for ignoring us and promised we would have his attention.

Food was well presented and very tasty with a nice portion size. I opted for the hake wish was delicous.

All in all a nice restuarant, well decorated with a nice atmosphere and good food.

Only downside is the wines are fairly pricey and the lack of speed in the service.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirckuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insider's perspective of a fine restaurant”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I used to work at the 1Up restaurant above the Mad Moose pub

The service is from people who really do care. The owner of the local chain in Norwich refuses to employee anyone who has an attitude so you are guaranteed a friendly and polite waiter/waitress. Only drawback is that staff are young and will not have the greatest in depth knowledge of the wines and particular sourcing of food but being a small restaurant the Manager will always be on hand to answer any questions about your dining.

The kitchen is very passionate. My first day working I got kicked out for asking questions.. they know what they are doing and they expect everyone else to as well. Everything is made fresh in the 1Up restaurant. I used to be impressed at the level of food preparation and their cleanliness when clearing up after a shift.

Pricing is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Good staff, quiet environment and fine food.

Overall, it is definitely a winner when having a special dinner. There isn't anywhere in Norwich that has beaten it in my experience yet and would suggest booking later in the evening to have a few drinks in the pub downstairs before eating upstairs..

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Used to Be Much Better - Now...Oh dear”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our last visit was when the previous chef held sway and it was very, very good. Four of us had dinner on a Saturday night under the current head chef and what a disappointment. It was as if the food has been prepared hy two people - each making parts of it. Each dish had some lovely parts ruined by something else on the plate which was horrible. the food is beautifully presented but with the high prices it is a case of style over substance. Our group of four all day different dishes and we were universal in our judgement. While the current head chef is there we won't be going back. Shame

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardseago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Up Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to One Up Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing