We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are you expecting?”
Review of Bar Tapas

Bar Tapas
Ranked #434 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: South American, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What are you expecting?”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We went in last night for my sons 21st. I was concerned when I read the reviews as I wanted to have his bash at a good tapas bar. And this is not a good tapas bar. It's a great tapas bar. Great staff, music, tapas, beer on tap, sangria I could go on.
It's not a 5 star restaurant and neither is any tapas bar around the world but it has a great atmosphere, great place to sit after work and have a beer and friendly, Spanish, not pretending to be Spanish but Spanish staff.
Loved it, would go back, and they have my vote. Go with an open mind and experience a little part of Spain in the middle of norwich.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassaloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    12
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a lovely family time here with a taste of Spain. Once inside you would think you have been transported

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Brickhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst lunch ever encountered”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

popped in for a quick lunch this afternoon to find the place totally empty apart from the waitress an her friend sitting in windows seats. waitress approached us as if we had just walked in on her at home.we were asked what we would be eating an shown to a seat in the far corner, my friend asking if it would be ok to sit at the window seats an it appeared it was a large inconvenience to her rudely shuffling her papers so we moved an found another available seat near a window not to be rude, meal came quickly but we were disappointed immediately this was a mixed sharing platter for 2 consisting of old lambs ear lettuce four pieces of red pepper an ambiguous chizthro sausage stale bread an ambiguous calamari an deepfried cheese i think no taste whatsoever. the meal with 2 small glasses of small red wine came to £18 which in norwich with some of the quality of food to be found is reasonable but this was hugely over priced. the toilets were very un hygienic an the atmosphere was as ambiguous as the calamari i was sat looking at tickets to old Trafford with a manunited tribute picture in a frame, sorry guys but this place should be given a wide birth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Genuine Tapas”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I don't understand why people are slating Bar Tapas. It's a genuine Spanish run restraunt with genuine Spanish Tapas. If this place was in mainland Spain, you wouldn't bat an eyelid at it's quirks. Good eating, and yes maybe a little pricy and slow service. Will still go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lunchcritic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst food, service and atmosphere ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

8 of us booked-up on a Saturday evening. Arrived to find only one other table occupied. (Soon found out why).
Despite the absence of other diners, we waited 90 minutes after our order was taken before food began to arive. It was delivered by the only member of staff we saw, who was wearing a dirty apron. Several orders were incorrect, but we were all hungry by this time and agreed to share. The food was barely edible, and we should really have walked out at this point. However, we persevered in the hope that things would improve - but unsurprisingly, they did not! (Toilet was filthy too!)
We will not be returning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Tapas also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 
 

Been to Bar Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing