We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bazaar”
Review of The Belgian Monk

The Belgian Monk
Ranked #27 of 829 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bazaar”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Third time trying to get a table in as many weeks only to be told that the restaurant was not open yet as there was not enough customers to warrant opening it (on a Saturday). We could of sat down stairs but we would have to reserve so we asked if we could do that to be told you can't reserve on the day. Surely if you keep turning customers away you will never have enough people to open the restaurant. A bazaar way to run a business.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Zxcvbnmlkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    378
    91
    38
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue for a celebration”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Twelve of us booked The a Belgian Monk to celebrate the birthday of one of our group.
Everything about the visit was fantastic. The meals were all good, served at just the right time with a suitable gap between courses. The Belgian Beer is not cheap but, as it is very strong, it is really more like drinking wine - in which case the price then seems more than reasonable.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout the meal.
I would thoroughly recommend The Belgian Monk to couples, families or groups for a bite to eat whilst shopping or for a celebration meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scillygirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beer and Mussels and more”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Love visiting the Belgian Monk whether just for drinks or for food too. There's a myriad of beers to choose from even ones for non-beer drinkers like me. Can recommend the fruit beers, they taste just as described. The food is always delicious whether you choose the mussels or something else. Arrive hungry though as the portions are huge!

Helpful?
1 Thank MaisieMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting food and drink”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great food and drinks in friendly atmosphere. The food is impressive and the selection of beers from across the North Sea is impressive but don't try to sample too many.

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great combination of food and drink”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have been a few times to The Belgian Monk and cannot recommend it highly enough. The food is top nosh and very generous and each item on the menu is matched to one of their myriad of beers. For the non-beer drinkers their is a wide variety of wine and spirits as well.

I've had the mussels as a starter ever time I've been there and have yet to have the same dish twice. The selection of different options is amazing. As someone who doesn't eat meat, it is very nice to have a dedicated vegan menu on top of the vegetarian options that are included in the regular menu. Any of the fish or veggie dishes I've had have been beautifully tasty and I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belgian Monk also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Belgian Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing