We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards have slipped”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belgian Monk

The Belgian Monk
Ranked #26 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, British, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately, we have now had several visits here recently and found that the quality of food and certainly the standard of service has slipped - such a shame .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    371
    91
    38
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
454 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

4 of us walked in and were lucky enough to get a great round table in the window. The food was excellent as was the service. We had mussels and the potato tartiflane, both delicious - we had debated about getting apps as well - they are huge portions so don't. Several of our party had the ciders, again what an amazing choice. The upstairs restaurant was not open, not sure why, as they could have sold tables time over and over.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaymanGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brilliant night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here after several rave reviews and weren't disappointed.

We were seated in the upstairs restaurant, which was spacious and very nice. We both had several different beers from the large selection, some on recommendations from the staff and all were great.

To eat we both had mussels and the choice on offer was amazing. They were amazing and I am definitely going to revisit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank flytrap55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner really enjoy coming here, one of our most favourite pub/restaurants in the city!! The fruit beers are lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Becca!) and there is always a nice atmosphere! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixiepops90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in Norwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a great place with a very I interesting menu. We had tapas and mussels at t hear, some interesting beers and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackspratt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belgian Monk also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to The Belgian Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing