We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you have room! the portions are huge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mambo Jambo

Mambo Jambo
Ranked #81 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Make sure you have room! the portions are huge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Access is not great if you cannot manage steps, such is the nature of the building but we can and we love it. this isnt our first visit as every birthday we come come here at lunch time (no need to book) and gorge ourselves on their amazing burgers or fajitas. the atmospheres always good, the food never fails, the service is always 1st class. if you dont like it loud and large, dont come here but if you enjoy great variety of food and a buzz theres no better place to eat in Norwich.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank timmynorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    139
    72
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rave on”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we faced the immediate confusion of where do we go to be seated!?! We walked into the middle of the restaurant and when I asked where do we sit we were informed anywhere! After sitting down in the first section we noticed that when a heavy sett man decided to bound past us every couple of seconds in what seemed his mid dinner workout, our table began to shake like something out of Jurassic park. Cause either extremely heavy sett man or knackered floorboards! After said man had done his laps we tried to decipher the menu, the font, colour and layout of the menu was not great and after several minutes squinting we decided on our dishes. During this time I noticed that in the backround there was a Mexican rave going on. Nope it was the restaurants chosen dinner music, crack out the whistle and the shapes. Now on to the food.....the food was in short alright. That is not a negative nor is it a positive. The starters were deep fried jalepenos with creme cheese, I would not recommend this option as the cheese was flavourless and the peppers had shrunk, so I was basically eating deep fried breadcrumbs. The main I had the mambos combo, the meat was flavourless and not seasoned enough the scampi was the usual pub/Zak's esque the goujons were frozen I think as the breadcrumbs slipped off like they were afraid of the chicken. The positive is you had enough to fill you up, however if not going to do a proper salad, DO NOT BOTHER!!! Pointless salad on the plate. Straight out of a mixed salad bag the missus had the cheeseburger....you'd have to be pretty inept to balls that up.
Onto desert. It was nice butterscotch and honeycomb were lovely, only criticism was it was like an arctic expedition to find the ice cream.
So to sum up, venue poor, food bland, uninventive and poor quality price a little bit overpriced.
As we left our instant opinion was we will not be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, good service & nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Called in to Mambo Jambo for the 1st time in over 2 years last night, I'd been avoiding it as I'd heard the food standards had slipped but was pleasantly surprised with a tasty, well cooked meal!

I had the Mambo's Combo which is ribs, chicken and a bowl of chilli. The chilli was delicious with just the right amount of heat, the chicken goujons were tender and the ribs literally just melted away from the bones.

My only criticism would be that the fries were a little under flavoured or over cooked, but that's being picky really. Some seasoned curly fries would have been the perfect accompaniment to an otherwise great meal.

My bill was £23 for the combo & 2 soft drinks so not bad price either for a city centre restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice food, service a bit off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Have been looking forward to going for ages. Me and my housemate went and were sat under a speaker. I'm a bit deaf so asked if it was ok to move (restaurant was empty) the waitress rolled her eyes and said nothing but moved the menus into another table. We just sort of followed. Another waitress took our drinks order and was very lovely. The first one kind of put us off a bit however.
Saying that the food was lovely and portion sizes large.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia8818104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastless burgers and chips”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

To be honest if you want burger and chips you would be better off at mucky d's, at least your food will be hot, not the dry tastless rubbish served up to you in this surprisingly busy eatery. Avoid it !! ly

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mambo Jambo also viewed

 

Been to Mambo Jambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing