We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curry night for St Andrews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nazma Indian Restaurant

Nazma Indian Restaurant
Ranked #184 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Curry night for St Andrews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Have been here 3 times, once when we were supposed to have a curry night for St Andrews and found out that it had been cancelled but one of the party came and dined with me. The last two occasions have been with the church for the curry night. This review is for the last time on 1st May 2014. I came here with 9 other men for St Andrews curry night, I had a diet cola which was its usual self. My food choice was a chicken tikka kurma/korma with egg rice and a plain naan bread. I am used to korma being sweet but this particular one was too sweet, the coconut in it made it taste lovely but why so sweet, the rice was lovely and the naan bread was traditional. My dessert was coconut ice cream with a glace cherry in the shell of a coconut which I always have unless the restaurant I am visiting has lychees on the menu. I contributed £15 to a meal which sounded like it cost well over £150. I will be back with the group but will have a slightly less sweet curry next time. Staff are wonderfully patient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugseyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keep your hands off my plate!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Whenever I visit my home town I always include The Spice Lounge, the finest Indian o the planet. This time a mate suggested the Ali Tandoor down the street and when I went looking for it I found Nazma, A solo diner, they squeezed me into a corner which is fine. A good Cobra and my favourite Naan, well prepared Aloo. I decided to try one of the Bangladeshi dishes that was new to me and it was plentiful with just the right balance of flavours and spiciness but...The server had his fingers and thumb on the surface of the my plate. I should've said something but who knows what might have happened before a clean one came. It wouldn't be that big a deal except that, later on, he was scratching his nose (no, not picking) with the same fingers. No worries, Spice Lounge is still there and i still have looking for Ali Tandoori as a mission.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_Barnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what I was hoping for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

As the title suggests, it was a really good madras curry ... nothing more to be said. Makes a change to have a curry that doesn't disappoint!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anotheramateurcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We've used the Nazma on several occasions when visiting Norwich, the food is always excellent and the staff are friendly and attentive. There are some nice dishes on the menu which you don't always see in similar restaurants. Overall it's excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thejaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Family get together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had booked a table for 11 people @ 6pm on a sun for a family birthday celebration , the staff were very accommodating and helped a couple in the party with their choice of meals , we had a selection of typical Indian favourites together with sides , deserts , a couple of drinks each and coffees all for approx £20 per head inc a tip , the food was very good and flavoursome .would definitely go again .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigsteve62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nazma Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Nazma Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing