We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find if you like American Diners”

Zaks Waterside Grill & Bar
Ranked #127 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stevenage
Level Contributor
207 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A great find if you like American Diners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We happened to drive past here so thought we'd go back and try it out....very luckily for us, we arrived just before a party of 30 students that practically filled the fairly small restaurant! So probably better to book ahead, a great menu, staff were good, cant fault the lovely food, a nice location by the river, we will deffo go back when we are back in the area. Highly recommend :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    66
    37
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oulton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go at lunch time! Get a spree book!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I love my american diners but i usually go to Fatsos as its normally Bogof! Zaks do better burgers but are not on offer as often and are always very busy so getting a table can be a challenge! Parking is also a nightmare! I would really recommend going to either of there restaurants at lunch time! I went Monday lunch time at 12.00 and it was almost dead. total of 6 people with a few more coming in towards the end of the meal. I can honestly say i think i have only ever had one burger more delicious then the Cheese, Bacon and Egg burger i had here. I also would recommend the onion rings and curly fries are amazing! It was £16.00 for us to have Bogof (using a spree voucher) 2 pints of pepsi and a portion of onion rings. we were so full we didn't eat an evening meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryMcC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great meal! Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked a table for 4 people to celebrate our sons GCSE results.

We arrived a little early and were greeted by a kind member of staff.

We sat outside while waiting for our table. The food was awesome. Good portion size. We decided to have Chocolate Marshmallow Mountain for dessert. It is a pudding to share, it was big. We thoroughly enjoyed the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campobasso, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You want a good dinner? go elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place would like to be the classic diner you can find in the States, in movies. Ok maybe they have the furniture but the food is a no no no. Burgers are overcooked and tasteless. Fries were bland and soggy. Cheesecake was nothing special, bland as well. I do not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tokyonome85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A standard burger, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had never been to Zaks, my girlfriend and been bigging it up a lot, so I agreed to give it a go, we visited on a Sunday afternoon, having been unable to book a table at there other restaurant we visited the Waterside Restaurant.

In first impressions, its not all that great, the car parking area is small and awkward to park in, the front of the restaurant isn't very inviting, inside it is small, it was clean though which was good.

We waited quite a long time for our food, the burger was nice, but I didn't personally think it was the best I've ever had, the curly fries tasted shop bought and didn't quite have the kick I would have expected.

Overall, I don't think I would visit Zaks again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nibloke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaks Waterside Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Zaks Waterside Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing