We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of Timberhill Bakery

Timberhill Bakery
Ranked #13 of 900 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We're a small independently run and owned Sourdough Bakery Cafe making sourdough bread from organic ingredients, from scratch every day. Everything we sell is made here on site by our small team of dedicated bakers in the city centre of Norwich, between John Lewis and Marks and Spencer. We are not a traditional cafe offering cooked breakfasts and the like but we are trying to do things a little differently. We have a little menu which is (unsurprisingly) bread-based with the best sourdough toasties in the UK, and an innovative range of savoury muffins and cakes which are now all dairy free or vegan. Our coffee is also a little different to the norm - punchy flavour and made using organic beans and organic milk. We're mid-sized (the cafe seats 35 plus another 18 outside) and open Tuesday to Saturdays 8am to 3pm (4pm Saturdays). We are closed on Sundays and Mondays preparing the sourdough, soup, toasties, cakes, etc etc for the rest of the week. Hope to see you soon, cheers, Mike.
Restaurant details
Description: We're a small independently run and owned Sourdough Bakery Cafe making sourdough bread from organic ingredients, from scratch every day. Everything we sell is made here on site by our small team of dedicated bakers in the city centre of Norwich, between John Lewis and Marks and Spencer. We are not a traditional cafe offering cooked breakfasts and the like but we are trying to do things a little differently. We have a little menu which is (unsurprisingly) bread-based with the best sourdough toasties in the UK, and an innovative range of savoury muffins and cakes which are now all dairy free or vegan. Our coffee is also a little different to the norm - punchy flavour and made using organic beans and organic milk. We're mid-sized (the cafe seats 35 plus another 18 outside) and open Tuesday to Saturdays 8am to 3pm (4pm Saturdays). We are closed on Sundays and Mondays preparing the sourdough, soup, toasties, cakes, etc etc for the rest of the week. Hope to see you soon, cheers, Mike.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Warmly welcomed, found space for us and we chose off the great menu. The toasted sourdough bread was excellent and my mackerel pate tartine was excellent. The cafe was really busy but the service was excellent

1  Thank GodshillPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Timberhill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Godshill Pete,

You know that saying "if you want something done, give it to a busy person"?

Well the same is (kind of) true with service.

When we're as busy as we were today I'm always nervous our service standards will drop.

Today for example, everyone was very tired, we were selling out of bread really early, the dishwasher was backing up, customers were having to wait for tables . . .

Strangely, (and this isn't just the case at our bakery, but in all hospitality) everyone in the team seems to rise to the occasion, the adrenaline (and espresso) pumps and we seem to enter a kind of "flow state". Rather than thinking consciously about how tired we are, how long of the shift is left, we have no choice but to get in the zone and just get on with it.

In contrast, the few times when I've noticed we could be a bit sharper are those quiet days where everyone drops out of the zone, you have more team members than you need and everyone assumes there will be someone else free to clear the table/ empty the dishwasher/ bake more scones. The sweet spot, ironically, is to be very slightly understaffed at all times.

So there you have it - you get the best service when the bakery is rammed to the walls and we all look like we've had just a little too much coffee . . .!

A huge thanks for taking the time to review us, and for such lovely comments. The (very tired) team will appreciate it when I print your review out for them to read next week!

Cheers,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018

I called in here on Wednesday, while my son signed up at City college. Had the mango and passionfruit cake and a mocha. OMG, at last a proper, rich, non-sweet mocha - and the cake was so delicious that I scraped off the paper inside the little wooden carton. :) My Dad's a retired master baker, so I know my way around a first class bakery. There's something delicious for everyone. Fill your boots.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Timberhill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Kim,
You know that saying in the IT world - "rubbish in, rubbish out"?

Well, it's much the same in food (and mochas).

When we've interviewed for baristas almost all the candidates are amazed we don't use powdered "chocolate" (which is not really chocolate anyway, it's mainly sugar).

Instead, we melt a proper chunk of Montezuma's organic chocolate in organic milk. Stir it. Let it sit and melt for a few minutes. Pull the espresso shot whilst it's melting. Stir it again. Re-heat it and add to the espresso shot.

Bit of a faff admittedly, but then if you don't want rubbish out, you have to put the good stuff in.

Anyway, thanks for such a lovely review!

Looking forward to you calling in again,

Cheers,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic find. Nutritious, tasty food with a wide choice including healthier options focusing on vegetarian and vegan choices. As it was our first visit we decided to opt for a Toastie and a Tartine (open sandwich). The Beetroot Hummus Tartine, with radish, lentils and rocket was sublime, as was the vegan breakfast Toastie. A special mention for the vegetarian Rosemary Sausage which was flavoursome without an overpowering rosemary taste. This was served with mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and mustard mayo. The homemade sourdough bread was also delicious. We couldn't leave without buying cake and a savoury muffin "for later." Portion sizes were good. Service excellent. Prices good value. This will probably become our first choice lunch stop in Norwich.

Thank Bopeep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Timberhill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Bopeep22
Thanks for the great review and for giving very specific feedback to us on what we're doing right!
Hope to see you again soon,
cheers
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We were initially impressed with the bright and cheerful welcome from the member of staff who told us about all the cakes being vegan and took our order. Wanting to try as many independent eateries as possible we shared the vegan breakfast toastie; rosemary sausage, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes & mustard mayo on chia & flax seeded sourdough, which was delicious. Finished on a sweet note with a lovely chocolate brioche bun with a wonderful texture and a touch of decadence. This satisfying brunch was washed down with a flavoursome Americano and Oat Flat White. Well done to the whole team for running this establishment with so much care, great customer service, dedication and enthusiasm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kensmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Timberhill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Kensmoon,

Thanks for the lovely review and for noticing all the effort all the team go to.

I'll pass on your thanks and print out your review so everyone here can have a (momentary!) pat on the back.

Hope to see you again soon and hope we can maintain the standards on your next visit!

Cheers
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Wonderful sour dough toasties and great tartine for lunch-really tasty! And the sweet things are great too. We had a brownie, a chocolate brioche and a pomegranate and raspberry cake- all beautiful! My husband and son said the coffees were really good as well. Great service too-we talked to the owner who told us a bit about the bakery's history. A very nice man who really cares about good food. Try it-I'm sure you'll like it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annemarieted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Owner at Timberhill Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Hi Annemarieted,

I remember you - (your son said he found us on Trip Advisor) - you sat on our outside seating and had a feast!

Glad you enjoyed everything and thanks for taking the time to review us and pass on your experience so other visitors to the Fine City can think about visiting us as part of their trip to Norwich.

Hope to see you next time you're in the city!

Cheers, MIke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timberhill Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Timberhill Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing