We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Settle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Settle Lodge
Ranked #6 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have had two lovely days based in Settle, staying at the Settle Lodge. Very comfortable and the perfect breakfast - choice of full English or, my favourite, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Mainly couples staying so quiet and relaxing. Ideal for walking into Settle or getting the train through the Yorkshire Dales. Close enough to Malham and the Three peaks if walks are your thing. Settle has lots of coffee shops, pubs and restaurants so good food was within easy reach and some nice little shops to mooch around.

Room Tip: Ask for the front - the views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
153
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very attractive, comfortable B and B with tasteful furnishings. Great, huge room, comfy bed, good shower room. Lovely breakfast, helpful hosts. Convenient for walking into Settle town and to the train station.

Room Tip: Top floor room at the front had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The difference between the excellent B&B's and the good enough ones tends to be the attention to detail- this is the case here. The rooms are immaculately presented with very comfortable beds and tasteful and well finished decor.

Amanda and Eduardo are very welcoming but gentle at the same time making you feel right at home. Amanda's breakfasts are great, the local butcher provides the bacon/ sausages which tastes a world away from the cheap catering grade stuff you get all too often; the bread is not plastic sliced- proper wholemeal from the baker.

There is a huge array of local information well organised in the dining room with your hosts able to offer lots of useful advice. Parking is secure behind the house which is excellently located a few minutes walk from the town square. Wouldn't bother booking anywhere else in Settle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our stay at Settle Lodge was an absolute joy!

Relaxation in the beautifully decorated and spacious bedroom with views out over High Hill.... and breakfast/lounge space while finishing coffee and reading about the area; delicious and comprehensive breakfast choices of locally sourced produce; even "Eduardo's home made blackberry and apple jam"; coffee and toast until I burst.

Amanda and Eduardo's hospitality was second to none and they were so helpful in giving us advice on where to go, run, cycle, eat and sight-see.

Can't recommend Settle Lodge enough. Fantastic. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the large attic rooms, huge, sofa, tv, tea/coffee and biscuits, warm, power show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just back from a trip on the Carlisle - Settle railway, beautifully topped off by a night in the Settle Lodge. It is friendly, tasteful and impeccably maintained. From the White Company toiletries to the Laura Ashley throws and the interesting artwork, I don't think I would change anything. It was like staying in a four star boutique hotel for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a base to complete the Yorkshire 3 peaks the start of the walk being 5 miles away. we had a lovely welcome from Amanda and Eduardo and the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a great selection of tea and coffee. Breakfast was lovely and Amanda and Eduardo are a great source of information for the local area, we will definitely come back to cycle / walk . We ate in the royal spice Indian which was very reasonable and good food. Great weekend thank you !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Settle was not our first choice but was the best choice we could have made. The town is lovely , quaint but not touristy it's a 'real' town. Which is more of a large village the local walks are beautiful and it is well located for all the attractions. Local walks are amazing rivalling any other we ventured on .
Settle lodge was lovely, a home away from home .. Probably the nicest b & b we have stayed in. The views are to die for and Eduardo and Amanda are good hosts. Giving lots of advice and yummy food! Lots of nice small touches in the room homemade cake , pot coffee and yummy cookies. It was just a delight!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophile_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.2 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
575 reviews
5.8 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Lodge

Property: Settle Lodge
Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary styled grand Victorian house.Easy walk to Settle centre and station.Perfect base for non-car users. Beautifulviews, luxurious ensuite rooms and friendlyservice. Ample private car park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settle Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing