We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality B & B in perfect setting...”
Review of Broad Croft House

Broad Croft House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broad Croft House
Ranked #14 of 20 Settle B&B and Inns
london
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top quality B & B in perfect setting...”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

If you dislike souless, overpriced hotels or mediocre rural overnight accommodation, then Broad Croft House is definitely the destination of choice! Seduced by the excellent reviews, we booked for two nights during an Easter weekend trip to the Yorkshire Dales and we were certainly not disappointed. Located in the small village of Horton in Ribblesdale and overlooked by Pen-y-Ghent, Broad Croft House offers comfortable, stylish accommodation with a top quality breakfast. Our room was immaculate and the towelling robes and slippers ...normally only supplied in 4 or 5 star hotels.... were an added bonus. Sets of towels in white AND cream was inspired...no chance of getting muddled up with your partners towels! No tiny sachets of longlife milk on the hospitality tea tray at this B & B... but fresh milk supplied in a small flask. Much appreciated!
The owners are to be congratulated on providing such comfortable and thoughtful accommdation in this area of outstanding beauty. If you are not walking the entire day, take time out to sit in the garden with a cup of tea and a piece of homemade cake and enjoy the peacefulness, broken only by birdsong and the baa-ing of sheep and their newborn lambs!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. Haven't stayed in a B&B for years - what a fantastic place.
Lovely setting, very comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast and a warm and relaxing atmosphere and welcome. All the trimmings - flat screen TV, complimentary water, chocolates and delicious home- made cakes every day!!
Cynthia and Robert really made us feel at home - we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONI1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Stayed at Broad Croft for two nights whilst walking the 3 peaks.

Was a suprise find when looking for reviews on accomodation in the area and I cannot recomend it enough. The location is excellant and the rooms are the best for a B+B I have ever stayed in , in the UK. We were welcomed on arrival with homemade cake in our room which was very nice with a hot chocolate on a cold wet day. The room was very comfortable and just what you need after a long walk, along with a powerfull shower that really washed away the aches and pains.
The breakfast was also very good with homemade bread, yoghurts and jams on offer and also a choice of hot food made with local produce.

All in all very well run by someone who obviously cares about what they do!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelnEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Broad Croft House is one the best B & Bs we have ever stayed in! It was a lucky find on the internet, but we would never stay anywhere else in the area again. The interior is finished to a very high standard, and the home made food is wonderful - things like having home made cake on arrival, and food left for us to welcome us back after completing the 3 Peaks was fantastic! The breakfast was yummy as well. Everything was fab!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

After reading such positive reviews I knew I wanted to stay here, even though it ment coming off route slightly as we where walking The Dales Highway. To be honest it worked out better than the original route. Yes, Broad Croft House lived up to expectations and beyound. No hesitation in recomending to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol59692001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed at the beautiful Broad Croft House for 2 nights when we did the Yorkshire Three Peaks walk. Excellent location, just a 3 minute walk to the Pen-Y-Ghent cafe where you clock-in for the walk. Welcomed on our arrival with home-made cake and a big smile. The room was a good size with comfortable bed, tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities, a well stocked bathroom and recent and relevant magazines to read. Glorious view of Pen-Y-Ghent from our room in a relaxing and quiet part of Horton, but not too far from somewhere to get a drink and bite to eat. Will definitely be staying here again and have already recommended this B&B to everyone we've seen since!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We can't recommend this B&B highly enough. We booked to do the 3-peaks walk with some friends who also stayed in the same B&B, on arrival we were immediately impressed - everything about it says quality, from the interior design to the wifi network availability. Cynthia and her husband were the perfect hosts, helpful and available without being intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful and the packed lunch (extra charge but a welcome option in this small village) was more than enough to sustain the hungriest of walkers. On returning from our walk there was a tasty, home made treat waiting for us – so nice we were all wondering if we’d get another treat on the second day; we weren’t disappointed. If you want to stay in this area, especially for th 3-peaks walk which starts and finishes in the village – stay here! There are only a few (3 I think) rooms so book early. If you are staying, eat and drink at The Crown (you may be better booking a table – it’s easily in walking distance) rather than the Green Lion, the Lion is a little closer but the interior and food is not nearly as nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaggs-n-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
3.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
582 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
487 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
6.3 mi away
Littlebank Country House
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horton-in-Ribblesdale
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broad Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Croft House

Property: Broad Croft House
Address: Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Broad Croft House Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing