We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Settle”
Review of Valleymead

Valleymead
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Settle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valleymead
Ranked #8 of 22 Settle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2012, arriving by train. Shirley met us at the station, and Robert took us back at the end of our stay, despite heavy snow making driving difficult. (Despite the postal address being Giggleswick, Valleymead is much closer to Settle station than to Giggleswick Station). This was typical of their kindness. There were home baked cookies on arrival, the room was fine, and it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent. In the evening we ate at the Black Horse in Giggleswick on the first night, which was fine (nice quiet atmosphere, great beer -- taylors landlord, well kept -- and OK food) and at the Lion in Settle on the 2nd night (more lively, food better than the BH but also more expensive). We also visited the Harts Head in Giggleswick which was a bit too lively for our tastes. The Naked Man in Settle is good for tea etc (though if he exists, we never set eyes on him). Anyway, Valleymead is highly recommended, and excellent value for money. It's particularly good if you don't want to travel by car. We hope to be back there 'ere long.

Room Tip: I think they only have one room with a bath, which we specially requested.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Valleymead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed here when cycling the Way of The Roses (alone)....
Very warm welcome with coffee and cake and nice room.
Very relaxed setting and a 5 minute walk into Settle with places to eat and drink.
Unlike some hotels good internet connection which was nice.
Garage to lock bike in
Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOHBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What a wonderful B&B.
I knew it would be from the reviews but it definitely lived up to it!
As soon as we arrived Shirley was a friendly host offering us Tea and Scones and Rocky Road cake!
The house is just beautiful and our room was gorgeous. Very big even with a camp bed for our little one and very tastefully decorated. It is in such a quiet area too. Even though there is a road out to the right we could have heard a pin drop at night time. The view from the winder was of the surrounding countryside and we could watch steam trains running along the Settle to Carlisle railway.
Breakfast was lovely and again we were made to feel very welcomed. Filtered coffee and water plus juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh toast and a full cooked English with eggs from the garden, what more could you want!!
The garden is lovely with an abundance of fruit trees and chickens.
I can honestly say it's probably the best B&B we have stayed in and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkshirecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The people are welcoming and very hospitable, and IT IS WELL ORGANISED. There are thoughtful touches like a small fridge upstairs by the bedrooms, with filtered water, fresh milk for teas, and a plate of homemade flapjack on top. The full English breakfast is excellent, and the eggs are from the chickens at the bottom of the garden. The location is pleasant and quiet, about 10 minutes' walk from the middle of Settle, and there is a good pub for evening meals in Giggleswick, a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Would agree with the positive comments made before.
A warm welcome, Shirley and Robert friendly and knowledgeable yet not intrusive.
Leasurely breakfast around large table a friendly touch.
Quiet location yet easily located for Settle & Giggleswick, railway and 'The Three Peaks' walking and riding area.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubsandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Myself and a group of three friends stayed here during our Way of the Roses coast-to-coast cycle ride. We received a very warm welcome, brews and home-made chocolate cake upon arrival - much appreciated by all! The rooms and facilities were first class and a real home from home - a truly memorable experience for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanLeFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Shirley & Rob have a wonderful B&B. They are welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The B&B is in a beautiful setting that is convenient to get to from the train station with plenty of lovely pubs and eating options nearby. Our room was lovely - spotless and comfortable and so peaceful, there was even a bath! A great place and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elorena_Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
1.2 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
604 reviews
5.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
King William the Fourth Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valleymead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valleymead

Address: Valley Mead Stackhouse Lane | Giggleswick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 0DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Settle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Valleymead Settle, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing