We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the UK's must do's!!”

Settle Carlisle Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.21*
and up
The Yorkshire Dales Tour from Windermere
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Settle-Carlisle Railway is one of the world's great rail journeys. It carves its way through the magnificent landscape of the Yorkshire Dales and then descends to Cumbria's lush green Eden Valley with its views of the Pennines and Lakeland Fells. A seven day a week service of modern diesel sprinter units gives travellers plenty of choice of when to travel, and the opportunity to board and leave the train at many of the beautifully preserved stations along the route. Customers can also expect a refreshment trolley service on many of the trains.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of the UK's must do's!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You don't have to be a train buff to enjoy this iconic journey,but it surely must be the best way to see this stunning scenery.
We booked the statesman Settle-Carlisle train... And what a great trip it is... Our journey started at chesterfield.... On time may I add !!... And making its way thru the Yorkshire dales to settle,the start of the this great trip ... But for all the passengers the highlight has to be the ribblehead viaduct it truly is a wonder .. Then slowly climbing to the highest point past the small picture postcard stations... And stunning valleys.
At the end of our journey we had four hours to spend in carlise... Ok it's just like most towns ...
But it does have a cathedral and a castle .. But four hours is more than enough...before we made our journey back.
. A superperb day ,statesman rail do many rail trips throughout the year... But this must be the one to do... Thanks for a wonderful day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlust W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    130
    36
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enchanting railway ride”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We boarded the train at Ribblehead, just before the famous Ribblehead viaduct. Our journey took us from there to Appleby through beautifully preserved stations and stunning scenery. If you are a train buff you'll enjoy the attention to detail and the reminders of a by gone age. On our return journey we had the additional help of a volunteer guide who pointed out interesting landmarks and suggested places to take photos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank inishrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An absolute must do!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've ridden (and hiked from) this line over the last 20 years or so and a few things are apparent..............

1. The scenery, when the weather's fair to good, is simply stunning.

2. Sunny weekends generally equate to very busy trains.

3. The best way to enjoy the line is to get off at an intermediate station. There are some terrific walks available from all the intermediate stations and if you don't fancy striding out on your own the 'Friends of the Settle Carlisle' and 'Dales Rail' have free guided walks just about every weekend throughout the year, just type either into your search engine for details.

The famous 3 Peaks Challenge is very achievable using the Leeds-Settle-Carlisle line (see the forum in www.3Peaks.co.uk for a free text guide)

Additionally the Ride2Stride walking festival takes place every year in the late April/early May period and is a series of walks, talks and music at locations along the route.

4. If you live in the local area between Skipton and Carlisle you can buy a Dales Rail Card that will give you a third off all ticket prices along the Leeds/Bradford-Settle-Carlisle route throughout a twelve month period (often with further generous discounts in the winter months).

5. If you live outside the Carlisle to Skipton areas, join the 'Friends of the Settle-Carlisle Line' to be able to purchase a 'Dales Rail Card' and qualify for the same discounts along the line.

6. Some services have en-route (volunteer) guides and they are very knowledgeable and usually can answer any questions you may have.

7. Trolley service on some services.

8. Don't forget to 'woof' (a doggy 'Hello') as you pass the statue of Ruswarp at Garsdale on the downline side of the station (i.e the Carlisle to Leeds side), I'll let you find out why for yourselves.

9. Visit the church of St Lawrence in Appleby where the monument to Lady Ann Clifford (and her mother Margaret) is. One of the most remarkable ladies Westmorland (and indeed English) in history.

10. Dump the car and just ENJOY!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank MacHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Train enthusiast delight !”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

As a new lover of train journeys , this was on my list. I didn't travel on the expensive and busy steam special just the standard train from Keighley. I decided to get off at Appleby , great little town .
All in all: a pleasant day out. I would recommend but having read some of the negative reviews I can understand how the experience would be spoilt by packed trains. Mine was just busy enough and the trolley service was lovely.

Pick your day carefully and plan ahead that seems the thing to do .

Helpful?
5 Thank millcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent scenery”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Fares are a little pricey but the trip is not to be missed, refreshments served from a trolley were very good and all the Staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Berrie7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Settle Carlisle Railway also viewed

Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Malham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Settle Carlisle Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing