We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,welcoming for all.”
Review of The Lion

The Lion
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We love our food here at The Lion and we hope that you will too. You can choose from menus which have been created to showcase the best local in season produce, sourced from trusted suppliers throughout Settle and the surrounding area.
Crawley
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food,welcoming for all.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Welcoming pub for all including soggy dogs(for whom they supply towels!). Superb food sourced locally

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope you will be back to the Lion. Hayley Mace and all the team from the Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    144
    53
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good value, easy to deal with.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had supper here a couple of nights during a recent visit to Settle. It's better than cheap and cheerful but along the same lines; menu is perhaps a little limited but there'll be something for you.

Service was prompt and friendly, food was perfectly reasonable- had a steak pudding on both nights which consisted of good quality meat and the portion wasn't sparse.

Not where I'd go for anything special but for a bite out at a reasonable price it fits the bill well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I am pleased to read your lovely comments on your recent visit to The Lion. Thank you for taking the time to review your meals you had and we hope to see you again soon. Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average pub food with fussy presentation.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a couple of times and whilst we have not had a bad experience we haven't especially enjoyed it either. The presentation of the food is rather fussy and the taste doesn't quite live up to the presentation. Probably fairly reliable pub food but we won't rush back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to The Lion. I am saddened that you 'won't rush back' to The Lion. I do hope you will give us another chance in the near future! Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Upmarket”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Good food, served by an Italian happy waiter it appeared - he made the place! It was a little 'stiff' sitting there surrounded by locals.. expensive meals but worth the price. It was quiet compared to the Talbot that was too busy to go in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lion, I shall pass your comments onto the staff member mentioned, he will be very pleased! We hope you will be back again. Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I decided as the weather was nice we go out for the day. We planned to go to Settle for lunch, so after checking the Tripadvisor reviews we went to The Lion for our lunch. We ate in the Lion' s Den area of the pub which is cosy and inviting. I had the steak and ale pudding that is their speciality, whilst my husband had the lamb's liver. The pudding was fabulous. Proper chunks of beef which just melted in your mouth, no fat or gristle. My husband loved the liver which was cooked perfectly so that it wasn't chewy at all.
This was a great lunch and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lancslass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lion_at_Settle, Duty Manager at The Lion, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lion. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and your time here. We hope you will be back in the near future. Thanks again, Hayley Mace and all the team at The Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing