We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon with a vulture?!”

Yorkshire Dales Falconry and Conservation Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Afternoon with a vulture?!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

So, there are reviews about this and that...
What you're here for is to see some great birds on display and that's what you get.
We only managed to catch the last show but felt that our entrance fee was worth that show alone.
This is about experience. When do you get the chance to rub shoulders with birds of prey.. Particularly a vulture!!
We'll go back at some point.
There's a good opportunity here to catch 3 sessions with the birds in an afternoon.
It's good to support a small attraction like this and the folks that work there.
A zoo or a safari park it ain't.
An good afternoon out, especially with the kids, it is!
Especially if you're from the towns...

Helpful?
1 Thank JockinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    9
    3
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yorkshire Dales falconry centre.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I took a friend there today for a birthday treat, & booked a half hour session with an Owl for her as she loves all Owls. It was a fantastic experience for both of us, my friend was delighted to have the bird - Ollie - on her gloved hand, & watch her fly, then we had a close encounter with a Buzzard which was great, & we took many photos. The 2 guys from the centre were great, they told us all about the birds, & answered all the questions we had. After our session ended we went for a cup of tea in the lovely cafe, decided to stay for the 12-00 display, & after that we had a nice lunch back in the cafe, & back out again for the 2-30 display. Unfortunately after that it was time for us to leave. We had the most wonderful day& I recommend the centre without any hesitation. All the people we met there were helpful, polite, friendly, & knowledgeable. The birds are amazing, & it's worth every penny of the entrance fee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disgusting service”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a copy of my email to the centre after our visit. They did not have the decency to reply. I'm not saying don't visit, visit by all means....but be warned !!

Dear Sir/Madam,

After checking your website for times etc, we decided to visit on Sunday the 9th of this month to see the display.

On arrival we checked the times of the shows on your car park sign (photo attached). This confirmed the info previously gained from the web site. (I now see this has been updated).

Because we thought we were early for the 14:00 show, we had a cup of coffee, then asked to pay for entry at 13:50.
The spectacled lady, was quite abrupt and told us we had better hurry to see the last 10 minutes. We queried the times, her reply was," The longer we stand here asking questions the less we will see”. We told her the times quoted on the web site. Again she was very abrupt in her manner telling us that we were wrong and that we had looked at the wrong website. We asked for our money back as we wanted to see the whole display, not just 10 minutes. She did offer us the chance to re-visit at no extra cost if we went in now, again telling us we were wasting time. Not a simple thing for us to re-visit as I live near Scarborough, nor were we going to be badgered into going through the door. She reluctantly gave us our money back.

On producing a picture of the sign on my phone, she still insisted that we were wrong, and that March didn’t mean March, it Meant April !! and that in the past 10 years only one other person hadn’t understood the sign. It was quite clear we were wasting our time trying to reason with her. The point of showing her a picture of the sign was to make her aware of the discrepancy in the display times, not to cause animosity. To be told we don’t know how to understand a sign……. hmmm, she hasn’t a clew who she is talking to, whoever walks through the door.

I run 2 businesses, as well as being chief pilot for a parachute company. I also hold patents for aerial camera equipment. I can guarantee she would not last one day under my employment with the attitude she displayed, totally obnoxious.

I have to point out that we were courteous at all times, and for me to complain it has to be bad.




<IMG_0941.jpeg>

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank bill_C9166HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went to the Yorkshire Dales falconry centre near Settle at the weekend for the half day falconry experience. What a great day out that was. Managed to fly Batty the eagle, Charger the harris hawk, Barney the barn owl but best of all, Gonzo the vulture...Wow!! An amazing experience. The 2 bird handlers were so friendly, knowledgable and helpful and made a good day out even better. Thanks guys.
Have you ever heard of a bird that suffers from vertigo? Well, they have an eagle owl called Eddie that does. It refuses to fly and just follows people around the centre by walking. Its hilarious. And if you're lucky Batty the eagle will cuddle up to you under your chin or rest his head on your shoulder... I was. Got some great pictures and a couple of videos but they were not as good, the birds flew too fast for me to keep up with them!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing day out”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wild Birds of Prey, whats not to like.... They have an amazing collection and you can handle some of the birds. They free fly some in a display.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di_Traveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yorkshire Dales Falconry and Conservation Centre also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing