We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a restaurant, a real find!”

Brasserie at the Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Settle
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A real gem of a restaurant, a real find!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Whilst out on one of our many adventures, we regularly take "pot luck" when looking for somewhere to eat and the Brasserie at the Courtyard was a real gem of a find. It was quite busy when we arrived and we were apologetically asked if we minded sitting in the gallery area, just off the main restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was delicious and we can definitely recommend the duo of scones which were amazing and perfectly presented with jam and clotted cream!

Helpful?
Thank newlife7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of the Brasserie - and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    32
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vale do Lobo, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This restaurant compliments a great new small retail outlet on the edge of Settle on the main A65.
We first popped in for a coffee whilst browsing the fantastic wine shop there. One of the best coffees I have had this side of Spain!
However, I was most impressed with the menu served from a busy but well executed open kitchen.
At first I thought it was an up market cafe etc.We returned to do it justice.
Warm welcome from the most experienced Manager Chris Monkman.
Scollps & Fish soup were are choice of starters. We were not disapointed.cooked to perfection.
The mains: rack of lamb; belly pork & fish platter were all tempting. But we went for the fish special: whole Turbot cooked on the bone & served on a wodden platter. Fantastic. Cooked just right too! Great chioce of veggies cooked to order right in front of you.Superb.
Great selection of wines from next door.
Obvious talent in this restaurant; it deserves to do well.
Well done boys & girls. We will be back.
Paul Kelly

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cobwebs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of the Brasserie and we are thrilled you both had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“disappointing - no future visits planned”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The restaurant ambiance was relaxed and friendly and the service professional and mostly efficient. A longish wait bewteen starters and main courses, however.
Starters especially the home made soup and the pork terrine were excellent and very large portions.
We have had better rib-eye steak elsewhere and the chicken 'fricasse' was overcooked and lacking suffcient sauce to make it a really good dish.
It seems that we have to suffer, at this restaurant, the practice of charging £2.50 extra for each vegetable, potato dish or salad - yes, a practice seen elsewhere and one which should be outlawed in my opinion. However if restaurants do it they should make sure the dishes are of excellent quality and good value for money - a few wilted spinach leaves, pasty pommes
pont-neuf and a very weird version of 'french style peas' did not in any way meet our expectations.
The wine list provides an excellent choice for all occasions and all palates.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOGtravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and feedback after your visit to The Brasserie.

It seems that your main issue was concerning our decision to separate out side orders from the main courses on offer. This was borne out of a desire to give all our customers more choice rather than dictate to them which vegetables they should be eating with their choice of meal. We have marked our main dishes lower in price than other comparable eateries to take account of the additional charge for vegetables - some people choose not to have any other vegetables! We want people to be free to choose what side orders they would like and feel that it is a positive addition to our menu.

The Brassiere prides itself on exceptional quality food and service and would be very pleased to see you return - when booking please make yourself known to the Manager, Chris Monkman, who will ensure you receive a very warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Had lunch today here and was most impressed. Very interesting and imaginative menu with beautifully presented food. Would particularly mention the Provencal Fish Soup - it rivals that at The Angel in Hetton. Cheerful, efficient service and a very nice ambiance. They do brunch until 2 on a Saturday and Sunday. The Gallery here is also well worth a visit. Will return again very shortly. A lovely place for a jaunt - would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience at The Brasserie - wonderful feedback about our Provencal Fish Soup - we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing