We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in a great setting.”

Brasserie at the Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Settle
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a great setting.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stopped here by chance to get lunch. What a brilliant find. The restaurant is superbly run with great staff and a very varied menu. The portion sizes were too generous for a lunchtime bite. The atmosphere, the furnishings and the service were all without fault. If you are in this area, make a point of visiting this treasure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stop-off at The Courtyard and The Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    67
    32
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We went to have a look after receiving a flyer in the post. We only wanted a cup of coffee and we were made to feel uneasy. The floor was wet an I nearly went flying, We had cappuccinos which consisted of cold coffee and hot milk which amounted to half a cup in all.There was no sugar on the table and by this time no-one to ask for it so we went to pay and waited and waited for someone to take payment. I was charged £5.50 for the coffees even after complaining, needless to say we won't be back

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR and Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We are very sorry about your experience at The Brasserie, which were already aware of after your complaint had been passed on by the staff on duty. They did not handle the situation correctly and you should not have had to pay for your coffees if you were not happy with them. If you are ever passing The Brasserie again and would like to make the Manager aware of who you are we would be happy to offer you complimentary coffee and cake to make recompense for your previous visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“morning coffee”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

only had morning coffee and a bun but pleasant and efficient.
Lovely design and comfortable chairs. (Always a plus when you want to sit and chat!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fionahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Brasserie and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A real gem of a restaurant, a real find!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Whilst out on one of our many adventures, we regularly take "pot luck" when looking for somewhere to eat and the Brasserie at the Courtyard was a real gem of a find. It was quite busy when we arrived and we were apologetically asked if we minded sitting in the gallery area, just off the main restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was delicious and we can definitely recommend the duo of scones which were amazing and perfectly presented with jam and clotted cream!

Helpful?
Thank newlife7262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of the Brasserie - and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale do Lobo, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This restaurant compliments a great new small retail outlet on the edge of Settle on the main A65.
We first popped in for a coffee whilst browsing the fantastic wine shop there. One of the best coffees I have had this side of Spain!
However, I was most impressed with the menu served from a busy but well executed open kitchen.
At first I thought it was an up market cafe etc.We returned to do it justice.
Warm welcome from the most experienced Manager Chris Monkman.
Scollps & Fish soup were are choice of starters. We were not disapointed.cooked to perfection.
The mains: rack of lamb; belly pork & fish platter were all tempting. But we went for the fish special: whole Turbot cooked on the bone & served on a wodden platter. Fantastic. Cooked just right too! Great chioce of veggies cooked to order right in front of you.Superb.
Great selection of wines from next door.
Obvious talent in this restaurant; it deserves to do well.
Well done boys & girls. We will be back.
Paul Kelly

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cobwebs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of the Brasserie and we are thrilled you both had such an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing