We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find pull in now!”

Brasserie at the Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brasserie is within a superb complex of new rennovated barns adjacent to the A65 near Settle.Open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, brunch, lunch and afternoon tea. Mixing contemporary interiors, an open plan kitchen and traditional barns we serve modern English and European cuisine. Seasonal events run throughout the year. Disabled access and ample free parking.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a find pull in now!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

As we were planning a day out in the area we thought we would give the courtyard a try ! What a find lovely atmosphere and a delightful young lady at the helm! We lunched on a fresh seafood platter to share! Gorgeous half dressed lobster scallops delicious fresh dressed crab couple of big prawns the biggest portion of warm potted shrimps! Smoked salmon and breads all for under £23 it's a bargain a delicious one at that ! This is definitely on our list of returns keep it up CY

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nitramYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for your super review - much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your visit to The Brasserie and The Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    29
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Huge restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We enjoyed tea and scones here after shopping in the Courtyard. The Brasserie is beautifully decorated with artworks and the furniture is very comfortable.
The scones were largeand memorable and served with cream and jam or butter.
Excellent waiting service. Will definitely be back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craventourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Your review is much appreciated and thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at The Brasserie again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Brasserie at the Courtyard has only been open a few months and it has already established itself as one of the best eateries in the area. The Courtyard is aconverted Barn and crew yard a lovely stone barn that would look at home in Tuscany. But I digress it is my third visit to this fine establishment and it has been lovely each time. The decor is lovely with beautiful upholstered furniture made by Dalesbred who have a shop in the complex. I like the window seat as you enter the restaurant there are two high back sofas facing each other which makes a lovely cosy table for four. The menu is not exhaustive but everything on it excellent, beautifully cooked and presented, with good portions and they will do smaller portions if you ask. All of the food is locally sourced, there is also a great wine selection provided by the inhouse wineshop. It is difficult to recommend anything in particular as each choice is excellent in its own right. The seafood platter looks amaizing but being a confirmed steak lover so is the Sirloin or Ribeye. For the Sweet well the Brioche Bread and Butter Pudding with homemade vanilla custard is definately a must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you are a regular visitor to The Courtyard and The Brasserie. We hope that you can recommend us to all your guests at the beautiful Hellifield Peel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Having recently opened on the A65 near Settle, decided to try the Brasserie at the Courtyard on a Sunday lunchtime and was not disappointed.
The decor and ambiance of the restaurant gave a very relaxing feel, notwithstanding that the kitchen staff are on view while preparing the various dishes. The chairs are a strange shape but very comfortable.
The staff were very polite and attentive. First class.
There was a varied selection from menu from starters to desserts. A good selection of wines.
I opted for the seafood platter and my wife the vegetarian dish of the day. Both were very well presented and value for money. A very enjoyable bottle of red to complement the meal. While waiting for our meal we noticed the varied dishes with reasonable portions being served around us.
However, a bit pricy and not a place for a cheap and cheerful pub meal en route to or from the Lakes, as the Courtyard restaurant is a step or two above homemade wholesome food and represents a fine dining experience.
Only downside noticed on our visit was the cost of a Sunday roast lunch - £17.50. Looking at the portion served to the lady on the table next to us - this was definitely not worth the money.
This little gem is set to challenge the competitors offering a similar fine dining experience in and around the area.
Living in the area, the Courtyard will definitely become a regular treat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thorngarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Brasserie and we are so pleased you enjoyed the experience, the service and the food. We haven't been open 6 months yet so are still learning and developing The Brasserie and all feedback received is acted upon. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a great setting.”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stopped here by chance to get lunch. What a brilliant find. The restaurant is superbly run with great staff and a very varied menu. The portion sizes were too generous for a lunchtime bite. The atmosphere, the furnishings and the service were all without fault. If you are in this area, make a point of visiting this treasure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Darbyshire, PR & Marketing at Brasserie at the Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stop-off at The Courtyard and The Brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie at the Courtyard also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Brasserie at the Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing